Skip content
Throwback by Maurene Goo
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and Your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Throwback

$28.74

Get for $14.99 with membership
Length 11 hours 27 minutes
Language English
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Back to the Future meets Joy Luck Club in this fresh, funny novel about a Gen Z Korean American girl who gets stuck in the 90s with her teenaged mother, perfect for fans of Mary H.K. Choi, Morgan Matson, and Nicola Yoon.

“No one can blend family, humor, satire, and love into a single perfect story like Maurene Goo can.” —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Skyhunter

“Funny and big-hearted, romantic, and delightfully unexpected in the best way.”— Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Instructions for Dancing

Being a first-generation Asian American immigrant is hard. You know what’s harder? Being the daughter of one.
Priscilla is first-generation Korean American, a former high school cheerleader who expects Sam to want the same all-American nightmare. Meanwhile, Sam is a girl of the times who has no energy for clichéd high school aspirations. After a huge blowup, Sam is desperate to get away from Priscilla, but instead, finds herself thrown back. Way back.

To her shock, Sam lands in the ’90s . . . alongside a 17-year-old Priscilla.

Now, Sam has to deal with outdated tech, regressive ’90s attitudes, and her growing feelings for sweet, mysterious football player Jamie, who just might be the right guy in the wrong era.

With the clock ticking, Sam must figure out how to fix things with Priscilla or risk being trapped in an analog world forever. Sam’s blast to the past has her questioning everything she thought she knew about her mom . . . and herself. One thing’s for sure: Time is a mother.

Brimming with heart and humor, Maurene Goo’s Throwback asks big questions about what exactly one inherits and loses in the immigrant experience.

A Junior Library Guild Selection

Maurene Goo is the author of several acclaimed books for young adults, including I Believe in a Thing Called Love and Somewhere Only We Know. She’s also written for Marvel’s Silk series. She lives and writes in Los Angeles with her husband, son, and cats.

Jennifer Sun Bell is a professionally trained actor, singer, and voiceover artist who loves giving life to words on the page. She is based in Los Angeles.

Collage of audiobooks

Indie Bookshop Appreciation Sale

In celebration of independent bookshops, shop our sale Monday, October 2nd through Sunday, October 15th. Don’t miss out—purchases support your local bookshop!

Shop the sale

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and Your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting