Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Man of the Year

By Caroline Louise Walker
Narrated by Cassandra Campbell, Michael Crouch, George Newbern & Gabra Zackman / 10 hours 8 minutes
Bookseller Recommendation

Man of the Year

“Man Of The Year begins slowly, but you need to fasten your seatbelt because you are in for a wild ride. Dr. Robert Hart, the subject of the title, is a narcissistic, ego-driven, insecure, prominent doctor. He looks like he has everything - gorgeous second wife, a somewhat respectful son, a magazine-worthy home, and a boat which is the envy of all his country club friends. Prepare to watch Dr. Hart's ideal life come to a screeching halt when his son's best friend arrives to live with the Hart's for the Summer. Dr. Hart narrates most of the book. His take on the world and his family formulated by his deep insecurities are spoken with biting humor. I found myself chuckling as I listened to his diatribes. The actual narrator of the book gave the perfect delivery of the funniest lines. I truly enjoyed this dark novel which is chock full of narcissistic rants and hairpin turns.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Melinda, Buttonwood Books and Toys

Beware the Man of the Year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings that define him, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut novel, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the increasingly paranoid mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a relentlessly dark heart.

Dr. Robert Hart, Sag Harbor’s just-named Man of the Year, is the envy of his friends and neighbors. His medical practice is thriving. He has a beautiful old house and a beautiful new wife and a beautiful boat docked in the village marina. Even his wayward son, Jonah, is back on track, doing well at school, finally worthy of his father’s attentions. So when Jonah’s troubled college roommate, Nick, needs a place to stay for the summer, Hart and his wife generously offer him their guest house. A win-win: Jonah will have someone to hang with, and his father can bask in the warm glow of his own generosity.

But when he begins to notice his new houseguest getting a little too close to his wife, the good doctor’s veneer begins to crack. All the little lies Robert tells—harmless falsehoods meant to protect everything he holds dear—begin to mount. Before long, he’s embroiled in a desperate downward spiral, destroying the lives that stand in his way. It’s only the women in his life—his devoted office manager, his friends, his wife—who can clearly see the truth.

Biting and timely, Man of the Year races along at an electric pace, with a wicked twist that you won’t see coming.

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Gift Now
 

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener