Skip content
Bookseller pick
The Memory of Lavender and Sage by Aimie K. Runyan
  Pre-order as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

The Memory of Lavender and Sage

$29.39

Available for pre-order
Publication date: March 05, 2024

Narrator Caroline Hewitt
Length 10 hours 27 minutes
Language English
  Pre-order as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

“A standout voice in women’s fiction. I was captivated from the very first line.” — Kristy Woodson Harvey, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Summer of Songbirds

Perhaps the secrets of her mother’s past in this tiny French town hold the key to her own future. . .

Food critic Tempèsta Luddington has always felt like the odd person out in her family, ever since she lost her beloved mother at the tender age of thirteen. When her workaholic father passes fifteen years later, Tempèsta is not surprised that the majority of the considerable family money will pass to her dutiful younger brother, Wal. Still, she is left a modest remembrance from her mother, and for the first time Tempèsta has a world of choices before her.

Lost in grief and hoping to reconnect with her memories and her mother’s past, she uses the money to buy a ramshackle manor house in Sainte-Colombe, a small village in Provence, where her mother had grown up. But she is greeted with more questions than answers. Her welcome, especially by the town’s stodgy mayor, is cold at best, and she finds herself wondering if the entire experiment was a mistake.

Yet she stays, stubbornly sticking it out, slowly learning that her mother’s legacy was more than just a nest egg. Through her mother and the village, Tempèsta learns the value of community and friendship, the importance of self-confidence, and the power of love and trust. What’s more, she sees for herself that there is magic and beauty in the everyday—even something as simple as a sprig of lavender and sage.

“For readers who love Under the Tuscan Sun and Chocolat, this is your next heartfelt, delightful read.” —Jennifer Moorman, bestselling author of The Baker's Man


  • A dreamy escape into Southern France from bestselling author Aimie K. Runyan.

  • Perfect for fans of Katherine Center, Rebecca Serle, and Sarah Jio

  • Kate Quinn described Runyan’s previous work as “a moving tale of female solidarity and courage.”

  • Stand-alone novel of approximately 100,000 words

  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs

Internationally bestselling author Aimie K. Runyan writes to celebrate unsung heroines. She has written six historical novels (and counting!) and is delving into the exciting world of contemporary women's fiction. She has been a finalist for the Colorado Book Award three times, a nominee for the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers' 'Writer of the Year,' and a Historical Novel Society's Editors' Choice selection. Aimie is active as a speaker and educator in the writing community in Colorado and beyond. She lives in the beautiful Rocky Mountains with her wonderful husband, two adorable (usually) children, two very sweet cats, and a pet dragon. Visit her online at aimiekrunyan.com; Instagram: @bookishaimie; Facebook: @aimiekrunyan; Twitter: @aimiekrunyan.

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Reviews

'The Memory of Lavender and Sage is an enchanting novel that sweeps you away to France on a journey of self-discovery, uncovering family secrets, and learning how love lives on. With a home renovation and a charmed greenhouse filled with herbs and plants that lovingly grow for their keeper, this family saga bridges the generations together with understanding, compassion, and forgiveness but not without a lot of misunderstandings in the middle! Friendships are forged, romance is cultivated, and magical moments abound in the captivating small French town. For readers who love Under the Tuscan Sun and Chocolat, this is your next heartfelt, delightful read.' 'Some books are simply a joy to read. Aimie K. Runyan's The Memory of Lavender and Sage, is one of them. Sensuous...dreamy...romantic...The Memory of Lavender and Sage is a mand eacute;lange of tastes and smells, magic and romance. Aimie K. Runyan weaves a sumptuous tale of mystery and magic, family and friendships, reminding us that it's never too late to find the home of our heart. If you long to be transported to a charming village in Provence, surrounded by loveable characters and secret spells, grab a cup of tea and immerse yourself in this magical novel!' Aimie K. Runyan wows in her latest atmospheric novel about the power of family, the beauty of change, and the transportive magic of finding where you truly belong. Set against the backdrop of an idyllic village in Provence, THE MEMORY OF LAVENDER AND SAGE reminds readers that every moment should be savored and that, sometimes, the simplest pleasures are the greatest gifts. Runyan has proven herself as a standout voice in women's fiction. I was captivated from the very first line. In Aimie K. Runyan's signature heartfelt voice, The Memory of Lavender and Sage is a warm, generous, and utterly satisfying novel about the power of kindness, character and finding purpose and love where you least expect it. Expand reviews