Skip navigation
Skip content
Coming Soon
Imagine a City by Mark Vanhoenacker

$28.00 USD

Available for pre-order

Publication date: July 05, 2022

  Add to wish list

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your wish list you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Imagine a City

A Pilot's Journey Across the Urban World


A love letter to the cities of the world, from the airline pilot–author of Skyfaring.

Ever since he was a boy growing up in Pittsfield, in western Massachusetts, Mark Vanhoenacker has been fascinated by cities: their bright lights, hustle and bustle, and dazzling skylines, and the endless opportunities they offer for personal discovery and reinvention. Now, as an adult, he travels the world as a commercial airline pilot, visiting every city he dreamed about as a child and many, many more. The way he experiences these metropolises—in 24- to 72-hour layovers, sometimes twice in one week and then not at all for months or even years—is unlike that of any ordinary traveler, and gives him an utterly unique perspective on what makes a city a city. In this hybrid work of travelogue and memoir, Vanhoenacker celebrates the cities he has come to know over the years, from Pittsburgh to Cape Town, and from Tokyo to Jeddah—through the lens of his small hometown. In chapters that explore individual facets of city identity—their geography, their poems, their weather—he shows us with fresh eyes the man-made wonders that billions of us call home.

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting app with a bow
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Audiobook details