Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Celebrate Audiobook Month! It’s the perfect time to listen while enjoying summer activities. Learn More
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

Greystone Secrets: Book #1
By Margaret Peterson Haddix
Narrated by Jorjeana Marie / 7 hours 55 minutes
Bookseller Recommendation

Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

“The endlessly inventive Margaret Peterson Haddix once again puts her finger on the current fears of world-aware children and, using believable perspectives of three siblings aged 8 to 12, prepares the reader to understand how totalitarianism affects people, between more familiar middle-grade scenes of quirky comedy, puzzle-solving, and learning to empathize with different children. In a lesser author's hands, this material could be too frightening or pedantic. Haddix, however, has a gift for creating imperfect characters with attainable strengths - love, hope, positivity, forgiveness - providing young readers with a comprehensible view of hard topics, real emotional tools to use in coping with their own and adults' fears, and the beginnings of some great character friendships. (I already like all the Greystone kids, but I'm most eager to read #2 in the series to get to know Emma better!)”

The Haunted Bookshop image Nialle, The Haunted Bookshop

* Winter 2018-2019 Kids' Indie Next List Pick * Indie Bestseller * Time for Kids Book Club: Top 10 Summer Reads *

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember!

What makes you you?

The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best—acting silly and being adored. They’ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom.

But everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they’re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They’re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers?

Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down.

Praise for The Strangers:

"A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Gift Now
 

Author
Narrator Jorjeana Marie
ISBN 9780062885722
Length 7 hours 55 minutes
Language English
Publisher Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm Rank #481 Overall
Genre Rank #24 in Children's
 
Celebrate Audiobook Month! It’s the perfect time to listen while enjoying summer activities. Learn More

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener