Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Audiobooks for Kids 9 to 12

Older grade schoolers are ready for adventure. They want to explore new worlds, new ideas, new emotions, and are ready for narratives that can take them there. Introduce them to classics from your own childhood, and new books about young people finding their place in the world. Or visit the mythical worlds of Percy Jackson and Magnus Chase. It’s all here!

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: tweens

View all playlists

Both Can Be True

By Jules Machias
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson & Kirby Heyborne
Length: TBA

Debut author Jules Machias explores identity, gender fluidity, and the power of friendship and acceptance in this dual-narrative Own Voices story about two kids who join forces to save a dog . . . but wind up saving each other.

Ash is no stranger to feeling like an outcast. For someone who cycles through genders, it’s a daily struggle to feel in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Da Vinci's Cat

By Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Narrated by: Sam Devereaux & Hope Newhouse
Length: 5 hours 56 minutes

Two unlikely friends—Federico, in sixteenth-century Rome, and Bee, in present-day New Jersey—are linked through an amiable cat, Leonardo Da Vinci’s mysterious wardrobe, and an eerily perfect sketch of Bee. Newbery Honor author Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s Da Vinci’s Cat is a thrilling, time-slip fantasy about rewriting history to save the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Healer of the Water Monster

By Brian Young
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

Brian Young’s powerful debut novel tells of a seemingly ordinary Navajo boy who must save the life of a Water Monster—and comes to realize he’s a hero at heart.

When Nathan goes to visit his grandma, Nali, at her mobile summer home on the Navajo reservation, he knows he’s in for a pretty uneventful summer, with no electricity or cell service.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Long Lost

By Jacqueline West
Narrated by: Jesse Vilinsky
Length: 6 hours 26 minutes

Once there were two sisters who did everything together. But only one of them disappeared.

New York Times–bestselling author Jacqueline West’s Long Lost is an atmospheric, eerie mystery brimming with suspense. Fans of Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces and Victoria Schwab’s City of Ghosts series will lose themselves in this mesmerizing and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Shape of Thunder

By Jasmine Warga
Narrated by: Reena Dutt & Jennifer Jill Araya
Length: 7 hours 9 minutes

An extraordinary new novel from Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor–winning author of Other Words for Home, about loss and healing—and how friendship can be magical.

Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a year.

Despite living next door to each other, they exist in separate worlds of grief. Cora is still grappling with the death of her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Unsettled

By Reem Faruqi
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari
Length: 2 hours 28 minutes

For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming own voices immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah's Lunchbox.

"A lyrical coming of age story exploring family,... Read more »

Audiobook details

How to Become a Planet

By Nicole Melleby
Narrated by: Rachel Jacobs
Length: 6 hours 52 minutes

For Pluto, summer has always started with a trip to the planetarium. It’s the launch to her favorite season, which also includes visits to the boardwalk arcade, working in her mom’s pizzeria, and her best friend Meredith’s birthday party. But this summer, none of that feels possible.
 
A month before the end of the school year, Pluto’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Boy

By Emmanuel Acho
Narrated by: Landon Woodson
Length: 4 hours 56 minutes

Adapted from Emmanuel Acho's New York Times bestseller Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man, comes an essential young listeners edition aimed at opening a dialogue about systemic racism with our youngest generation.

Young people have the power to affect sweeping change, and the key to mending the racial divide in America lies in giving... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ophie’s Ghosts

By Justina Ireland
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 7 hours 59 minutes

Ophie’s Ghosts

“YA powerhouse Justina Ireland (Dread Nation) gives voice to the voiceless dead in this middle grade novel. When a posse of white men come to set their house alight in the night, Ophie’s father tells her to take her mother and flee. The next morning brings impossible news: Ophie’s father had already been killed, and the warning came from her first ghost. When she and her mother move to Pittsburgh, theoretically more welcoming to Black people, they end up working in an old manor house full of restless dead. Can Ophie use her newfound gift to bring them justice? ”

Powell's Books image Madeline, Powell's Books
Audiobook details

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey

Maybe Marisol: Book #1

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Amielynn Abellera
Length: 1 hours 39 minutes

“Utterly endearing!” —Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books

"Hilarious and heart-melting.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax

Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly!

Maybe, Maybe... Read more »

Audiobook details

Best Nerds Forever

By James Patterson & Chris Grabenstein
Narrated by: Mark Sanderlin
Length: 4 hours 24 minutes

Best Nerds Forever

“"The best book I've read in my life."- Pippi, age 9. My 9 year old loves anything James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein do, from dressing as Max Einstein for Character Day at school to naming toy pets after Pasha and Poop from Scaredy Cat. Those we've listened to together on car trips but I recently set them up with a libro.fm account to see if they might choose to listen more on their own. Yesterday, on a car ride I went to put on an audio book and Pippi said "WAIT! I have to tell you about what I listened to yesterday- It's the best book I've ever read in my life." They proceeded to say," I don't want to spoil it for you but I don't want you to cry at the beginning" and then went into detail retelling me the story. Pippi told me all about the characters and plot development. Then they asked to see the cover and told me more about who was who and how the adventure unfolded as we meet the characters. There was questions about why characters might do something a certain way or what might be coming next. My child does not usually pick up books willingly but I'm realizing they enjoy audiobooks as much as I do. Knowing they are actively using Libro.fm to discover these books and getting excited to share books like these thrills me as a bookseller but of course, also as a parent. ”

Caprichos Books image Liz, Caprichos Books
Audiobook details

Fearless

Fearless

By Mandy Gonzalez
Narrated by: Mandy Gonzalez
Length: 5 hours 30 minutes

Fearless

Fearless is a super sweet juvenile novel narrated by the author, Broadway star Mandy Gonzalez. It's a Broadway debut meets ghost story as Monica Garcia travels cross-country with her abuela to begin rehearsals for her first Broadway show. It turns out that the historic theater they are in is cursed and Monica and the other child actors must team up to help dispel the curse and save the show. You get a behind-the-scenes look at how a Broadway show functions in rehearsal and backstage which is super fun. Gonzalez is also the perfect narrator, interspersing the text with snippets of lyrics from the imaginary show. This juvenile novel is great for an advance 8/9 years old to 12 year olds and would thoroughly engage fans of theater and underdog stories.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Houdini and Me

By Dan Gutman
Narrated by: Mark Sanderlin
Length: 3 hours 18 minutes

Eleven-year-old Harry Mancini is not Harry Houdini, the famous escape artist who died in 1926. But Harry does live in Houdini’s old New York City home, and he definitely knows everything there is to know about Houdini’s life. What is he supposed to do, then, when someone starts texting him claiming that they’re Houdini, communicating from beyond... Read more »

Audiobook details

Starfish

By Lisa Fipps
Narrated by: Jenna Lamia
Length: 3 hours 27 minutes

Ellie is tired of being fat-shamed and does something about it in this poignant debut novel-in-verse.

Ever since Ellie wore a whale swimsuit and made a big splash at her fifth birthday party, she's been bullied about her weight. To cope, she tries to live by the Fat Girl Rules--like "no making waves," "avoid eating in public," and "don't move so... Read more »

Audiobook details

Blackbird Fly

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Ferdelle Capistrano
Length: 5 hours 33 minutes

Future rock star or friendless misfit? That’s no choice at all. In this acclaimed novel by Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, twelve-year-old Apple grapples with being different; with friends and backstabbers; and with following her dreams.

Publishers Weekly called Blackbird Fly “a true triumph,” and the Los Angeles Times Book Review said,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Usual Suspects

By Maurice Broaddus
Narrated by: Michael Rishawn
Length: 4 hours 31 minutes

Fans of Jason Reynolds and Sharon M. Draper will love this oh-so-honest middle grade novel from writer and educator Maurice Broaddus.

Thelonius Mitchell is tired of being labeled. He’s in special ed, separated from the “normal” kids at school who don’t have any “issues.” That’s enough to make all the teachers and students look at him and his... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Mysterious Disappearance of Aidan S. (as told to his brother)

By David Levithan
Narrated by: Everette Plen
Length: 3 hours 54 minutes

New York Times bestselling author David Levithan takes young readers on twisting journey through truth, reality, and fantasy and belief.

Aidan disappeared for six days. Six agonizing days of searches and police and questions and constant vigils. Then, just as suddenly as he vanished, Aidan reappears. Where has he been? The story he tells is... Read more »

Audiobook details

Red, White, and Whole

By Rajani LaRocca
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar
Length: 2 hours 38 minutes

A heartbreakingly hopeful #ownvoices novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she’s the only Indian American student, and home, with her family’s traditions and holidays. But Reha’s parents don’t understand why she’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ikenga

By Nnedi Okorafor
Narrated by: Ben Onwukwe
Length: 6 hours 10 minutes

Nnedi Okorafor's acclaimed first novel for middle grade children introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga. Nnamdi's father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined to root out the criminals that had invaded the town. But then he was murdered, and most people... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ground Zero

By Alan Gratz
Narrated by: Bernardo de Paula;Ariana Delawari
Length: 7 hours 25 minutes

September 11, 2001, New York City: Brandon is visiting his dad at work, on the 107th floor of the World Trade Center. Out of
nowhere, an airplane slams into the tower, creating a fiery nightmare of terror and confusion. And Brandon is in the middle of it all.
Can he survive -- and escape?
September 11, 2020, Afghanistan: Reshmina has grown up in... Read more »

Audiobook details