Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Audiobooks for Kids 9 to 12

Older grade schoolers are ready for adventure. They want to explore new worlds, new ideas, new emotions, and are ready for narratives that can take them there. Introduce them to classics from your own childhood, like the heart-warming dog story Where the Red Fern Grows or the epic journey of The Hobbit. Or visit the mythical worlds of Percy Jackson and Magnus Chase. It’s all here!

Shouting at the Rain

By Lynda Mullaly Hunt
Narrated by Lisa Cordileone /  5 hours 57 minutes

Shouting at the Rain

“A well-spun tale of a middle-grade girl whose life swells its own storms one summer at the Cape. The barefoot local finds herself suddenly adrift as friends' lives shift away from her and she's forced to deal with her motherless past. Amid all this turmoil, she finds hope in new and familiar faces. Another poignant life journey centered on a strong, young heroine from the author who did it so well in "Fish in a Tree" and "One for the Murphys." A great summer read for young and old stormchasers.”

River Bend Bookshop image Ernio, River Bend Bookshop
Price:

$25.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Planet Earth Is Blue

By Nicole Panteleakos
Narrated by Dylan Moore /  5 hours 36 minutes

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.


Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of... Read More »

Price:

$25.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Odd Gods

By David Slavin & Daniel Weitzman
Narrated by Ramon de Ocampo /  2 hours 36 minutes

Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets Percy Jackson in Odd Gods, the first book in a hilarious series about the most unlikely, unusual Gods ever to grace the halls of Mount Olympus Middle School.

A Summer 2019 Kids' Indie Next Pick!

Oddonis may be the son of Zeus, but he’s a little bit…odd for a God. He’s so odd, in fact, he’s not sure if he has any powers... Read More »

Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Maximillian Fly

By Angie Sage
Narrated by Sean Welsh Brown, Jennifer Nittoso, Fred Berman, Josh Hurley & Tavia Gilbert /  9 hours 36 minutes

The bestselling author of the Septimus Heap series, Angie Sage, delivers a gripping and darkly humorous tale of Maximillian Fly—a human with cockroach features—whose quiet life is upended when he aids two human children in their escape from an oppressive governing power.

Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Adam Gidwitz.

Maximillian Fly wants... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Just Jaime

Emmie & Friends
By Terri Libenson
Narrated by Imani Parks & Cassandra Morris /  2 hours 4 minutes

Another spot-on story of middle school drama and friendship from Terri Libenson, national bestselling author of Invisible Emmie and Positively Izzy.

Friends. Frenemies. Middle school...

The last day of seventh grade has Jaime and Maya wondering who their real friends are.

Jaime knows something is off with her friend group. They’ve started to... Read More »

Price:

$16.09 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Finding Orion

By John David Anderson
Narrated by Graham Halstead /  9 hours 38 minutes

The acclaimed author of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day and Posted returns with an unforgettable tale of love and laughter, of fathers and sons, of what family truly means, and of the ways in which we sometimes need to lose something in order to find ourselves.

Rion Kwirk comes from a rather odd family. His mother named him and his sisters after her... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

All the Greys on Greene Street

By Laura Tucker
Narrated by Taylor Meskimen & Allyson Ryan /  8 hours 27 minutes

"A dazzling debut novel about resilience, courage, home and family."--Rebecca Stead, Newbery Award-winning author of When You Reach Me

SoHo, 1981. Twelve-year-old Olympia is an artist--and in her neighborhood, that's normal. Her dad and his business partner Apollo bring antique paintings back to life, while her mother makes intricate sculptures... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

We're Not from Here

By Geoff Rodkey
Narrated by Dani Martineck /  6 hours 55 minutes

Imagine being forced to move to a new planet where YOU are the alien! From the creator of the Tapper Twins, New York Times bestselling author Geoff Rodkey delivers a topical, sci-fi middle-grade novel that proves friendship and laughter can transcend even a galaxy of differences.

The first time I heard about Planet Choom, we'd been on Mars for... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Sweeping Up the Heart

By Kevin Henkes
Narrated by Lisa Flanagan /  2 hours 52 minutes

From two-time Newbery Honor and New York Times–bestselling author Kevin Henkes, this timeless novel about loss, loneliness, and friendship tells the story of the spring break that changes seventh-grader Amelia Albright’s life forever.

Amelia Albright dreams about going to Florida for spring break like everyone else in her class, but her father—a... Read More »

Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Size of the Truth

Sam Abernathy Books
By Andrew Smith
Narrated by Ramón de Ocampo /  5 hours 31 minutes

A boy who spent three days trapped in a well tries to overcome his PTSD and claustrophobia so he can fulfill his dream of becoming a famous chef in Andrew Smith’s first middle grade novel.

When he was four years old, Sam Abernathy was trapped at the bottom of a well for three days, where he was teased by a smart-aleck armadillo named Bartleby.... Read More »

Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Nikki on the Line

By Barbara Carroll Roberts
Narrated by Christine Lakin /  7 hours 25 minutes

Nikki wants to be a basketball star... but between school stress, friend drama, and babysitting woes, will she be able to make it on her new team? Judy Blume meets Mike Lupica in this pitch-perfect, action-packed, and funny novel.

Thirteen-year-old Nikki Doyle's dreams of becoming a basketball great feel within reach when she's selected to... Read More »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Lost Girl

By Anne Ursu
Narrated by Kathleen McInerney /  8 hours 23 minutes

Anne Ursu, author of the National Book Award nominee The Real Boy, returns with a story of the power of fantasy, the limits of love, and the struggles inherent in growing up.

When you’re an identical twin, your story always starts with someone else. For Iris, that means her story starts with Lark.

Iris has always been the grounded, capable, and... Read More »

Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Line Tender

By Kate Allen
Narrated by Jenna Lamia /  7 hours 20 minutes

Funny, poignant, and deeply moving, The Line Tender is a story of nature's enduring mystery and a girl determined to find meaning and connection within it.

Wherever the sharks led, Lucy Everhart's marine-biologist mother was sure to follow. In fact, she was on a boat far off the coast of Massachusetts, collecting shark data when she died... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

Greystone Secrets: Book #1
By Margaret Peterson Haddix
Narrated by Jorjeana Marie /  7 hours 55 minutes

Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

“The endlessly inventive Margaret Peterson Haddix once again puts her finger on the current fears of world-aware children and, using believable perspectives of three siblings aged 8 to 12, prepares the reader to understand how totalitarianism affects people, between more familiar middle-grade scenes of quirky comedy, puzzle-solving, and learning to empathize with different children. In a lesser author's hands, this material could be too frightening or pedantic. Haddix, however, has a gift for creating imperfect characters with attainable strengths - love, hope, positivity, forgiveness - providing young readers with a comprehensible view of hard topics, real emotional tools to use in coping with their own and adults' fears, and the beginnings of some great character friendships. (I already like all the Greystone kids, but I'm most eager to read #2 in the series to get to know Emma better!)”

The Haunted Bookshop image Nialle, The Haunted Bookshop
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

A Good Kind of Trouble

By Lisa Moore Ramée
Narrated by Imani Parks /  6 hours 45 minutes

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules.... Read More »

Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Arlo Finch in the Lake of the Moon

The Arlo Finch Series: Book #2
By John August
Narrated by James Patrick Cronin /  8 hours 30 minutes

From acclaimed screenwriter John August, Arlo Finch in the Lake of the Moon continues the spellbinding fantasy adventure series about the magic that lies just beyond our world

Something was coming. Arlo felt certain about that.

For Arlo Finch and the Rangers of Pine Mountain Company, summer camp is more than canoeing and hiking. It's also a chance... Read More »

Price:

$22.94 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Hogwarts Library book: Book #1
By J.K. Rowling & Newt Scamander
Narrated by Eddie Redmayne /  1 hour 54 minutes

<p>A set textbook at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry since publication, Newt Scamander’s masterpiece has entertained wizarding families through the generations. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is an indispensable introduction to the magical beasts of the wizarding world. </p><br><br><p>Scamander’s... Read More »

Price:

$17.94 USD

This title is not eligible for purchase with Membership Credits. Why?

The Hobbit

By J.R.R. Tolkien
Narrated by Ensemble cast /  4 hours 13 minutes

The original American full dramatization as broadcast on National Public Radio.

Bilbo Baggins, a gentle hobbit who loves the comforts of home, reluctantly joins a company of dwarves on a journey to recover plundered gold from a fierce dragon. It's a tale of high adventure and astonishing courage—and a magical prelude to the Lord of the Rings... Read More »

Price:

$24.12 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: Book 1
Percy Jackson and the Olympians: Book #1
By Rick Riordan
Narrated by Jesse Bernstein /  10 hours 1 minute

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school . . . again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book One: The Sword of Summer

Rick Riordan's Norse Mythology: Book #1
By Rick Riordan
Narrated by Christopher Guetig /  15 hours 20 minutes

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother's mysterious death, he's lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible... Read More »

Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener