Skip navigation
Skip content
North Facing by Tony Peake
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

North Facing

$17.19 USD

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator Jon Cartwright
Length 5 hours 14 minutes
Language English
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

  • Novel of great literary merit for fans of Edmund White, Alan Hollinghurst, Christopher Hope and Michael Frayn's Spies, where the older narrator reflects on a seminal moment against the backdrop of large-scale political events.
  • Moving juxtaposition of protagonist's innocence with the magnitude of South Africa’s social turmoil.
  • Themes of atonement, surveillance,homosexuality, repressive politics, South Africa, racism, secrets, cultural dislocation.

Tony Peake was born in South Africa but has lived most of his life in London. He is an acclaimed short story writer with work in many anthologies including The Penguin Book of Contemporary South African Short Stories, The Mammoth Book of Gay Short Stories, and Best British Short Stories 2016. He is the author of two novels, A Summer Tide (1993) and Son to the Father (1995), both published by Abacus, and a biography of Derek Jarman(Little, Brown,1999).

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

Reviews

"This beautiful, moving novel is vast in how much it recounts and how deeply it makes us feel." —Edmund White Expand reviews