Skip content
New release
New Nigeria County by Clare Brown
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

New Nigeria County

$20.99

Get for $14.99 with membership
Length 3 hours 33 minutes
Language English
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Written and performed by TikTok star Clare Brown, New Nigeria County is a whip-smart, full-cast satire tackling race, gender, and nationalism in today’s world. When a white family moves into an affluent Black community, a “misunderstanding” between neighbors escalates until the entire town is swept up in the drama.

New Nigeria is a good, clean, all-American town. The husbands are smiling and handsome, the wives are strong, rich, and powerful, and Nat Turner High is the best public school in the state. Yet, the citizens of this idyllic community find themselves in a rapidly changing country and, to be perfectly honest, some of them are a teeny bit uncomfortable with it all.

When a New Nigeria community leader Carèn makes a frantic phone call to the local police about a “potential gang member” roaming her cushy Malcolm X Estates neighborhood, it turns out the boy is her new European American neighbor, Jake Smith, and the misunderstanding quickly becomes the talk of the town. While Jake’s mom, Meghan, is hurt by her new neighbor’s behavior, Carèn works tirelessly to preserve the safety (and the property values) of her beloved community. As the two women work toward their own version of equity, their conflict continues to escalate, setting off a chain of cringe-worthy confrontations that send the good citizens of New Nigeria into a tailspin.

New Nigeria County is a hilarious, razor-sharp debut, flipping the script to expose uncomfortable truths through wildly entertaining comedy. This dynamic audiobook, created for the listening experience, is perfect for fans of Abbott Elementary, Dear White People, and Such a Fun Age.

Clare Brown has been perpetually online since 2009 when she had one of the first viral fashion blogs called Clarabelle. She pivoted to short form videos in 2020, and her work has been featured in The New York TimesVICEPeople, and numerous local news stations across the country. She has amassed over 600,000 followers across Instagram and TikTok with her satirical takes on the not-so-micro impact of microaggressions. Clare recently started a popular book review podcast called One More Chapter with a fellow TikToker and narrated the premiere episode of the Honest History podcast.

Clare Brown has been perpetually online since 2009 when she had one of the first viral fashion blogs called Clarabelle. She pivoted to short form videos in 2020, and her work has been featured in The New York TimesVICEPeople, and numerous local news stations across the country. She has amassed over 600,000 followers across Instagram and TikTok with her satirical takes on the not-so-micro impact of microaggressions. Clare recently started a popular book review podcast called One More Chapter with a fellow TikToker and narrated the premiere episode of the Honest History podcast.

Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Reviews

New Nigeria County is a masterclass on unvarnished truths delivered hilariously. Anything Clare Brown writes has my undivided attention.”  "Clare Brown's razor-sharp satire shines in this stunning debut -- Brown wields her wit and social commentary like surgeon's scalpels, every word a precise flip of the script, each more cutting and revealing than the last." "New Nigeria Country is a sharp satire--chock full of jokes but with something important to say. It escalates with the satisfying zip of a nighttime cable soap. I've been a fan of Clare Brown's videos for years and this gorgeously produced audiobook is a perfect platform for her voice." Expand reviews