Skip content
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more
Bookseller pick
The Clementine Complex by Bob Mortimer
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Gold medal with Libro.fm logo

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code PRIMETIME, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Sign up today
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

The Clementine Complex

$20.99

Get for $14.99 with membership
Length 6 hours 54 minutes
Language English
Narrators Bob Mortimer & Sally Phillips

This audiobook uses AI narration.

We’re taking steps to make sure AI narration is transparent.

Learn more
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Bob Mortimer, beloved comedian and #1 Sunday Times (London) bestselling author of the memoir And Away…, returns with a delightfully quirky mystery in the vein of Richard Osman and Nita Prose.

Unremarkable legal assistant Gary Thorn goes for a pint with his coworker Brendan, unaware his life is about to change. There, Gary meets a beautiful woman, but she leaves before he catches her name. All he has to remember her by is the title of the book she was reading: The Clementine Complex. And when Brendan goes missing, too, Gary needs to track down the girl he now calls Clementine to get some answers.

And so begins Gary’s quest, through the estates and pie shops of South London, to find some answers and hopefully, some love and excitement in this page-turning, witty, and oddly sweet story with a cast of unforgettable characters.

Bob Mortimer trained as solicitor before a chance encounter with Vic Reeves in the 1980s led to a successful career in comedy as half of the duo Reeves and Mortimer. His screen credits include Shooting Stars, Big Night Out, Catterick, and most recently, Gone Fishing. He is the author of the acclaimed, bestselling memoir, And Away…, and his first novel, The Clementine Complex. He’s on Twitter and Instagram as @RealBobMortimer.

Bob Mortimer was born in Middlesbrough in 1959, the youngest of four sons. He trained as a solicitor before a chance encounter with Vic Reeves in the 1980s led to a successful career in comedy as half of duo Reeves and Mortimer. His screen credits include Shooting Stars, Big Night Out, Catterick and most recently BBC2's Gone Fishing. His memoir, And Away…, published in 2021. It became the bestselling memoir of the year, was named Times and Sunday Times Humour Book of the Year, and was shortlisted for Non-fiction Book of the Year at the National Book Awards. The Satsuma Complex is his first novel.
He's on Twitter and Instagram as @RealBobMortimer.

Gold medal with Libro.fm logo

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code PRIMETIME, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Sign up today
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Reviews

"Both narrators are spot-on delivering this lighthearted mystery. Thirty-something Gary Thorn reluctantly meets his colleague, Brandon, for a drink. When Brandon leaves suddenly, Gary starts chatting up a beautiful woman who is carrying a popular book titled THE CLEMENTINE COMPLEX. When Gary goes for more drinks, the woman disappears—leaving the book behind. The next day, Gary learns that Brandon has been murdered. Or has he? Narrator Bob Mortimer gives Gary just the right flippancy. He is terrific as Gary’s eccentric neighbor, Grace, making her slightly loopy but undoubtedly in charge. Sally Phillips as the elusive woman sounds as beautiful as Gary describes her. Her attitude is snarky and seductive, while her backstory is performed with just the right tongue-in-cheek tone for this entertaining comic mystery." Expand reviews
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more