Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Pick
The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and We Are LIT is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

The Black Kids

$22.99 USD

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator Kiersey Clemons
Length 8 hours 55 minutes
Language English
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A New York Times bestseller
A William C. Morris Award Finalist

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
“A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion
“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming


Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Christina Hammonds Reed holds an MFA from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts. A native of the Los Angeles area, her work has previously appeared in the Santa Monica Review and One Teen Story. Her first novel, The Black Kids, was a New York Times bestseller and William C. Morris Award Finalist.

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and We Are LIT is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

Reviews

"Kiersey Clemons narrates this audiobook about a Black teen living in Los Angeles during the 1992 riots. Though there are a handful of other Black kids at her school, Ashley prefers the company of her rich white friends, in spite of their near-constant stream of racist microaggressions. Then, the police officers who beat Rodney King are acquitted, and Ashley's world—and viewpoints—are altered forever. Clemons employs a wry yet vulnerable tone that suggests a believable teenage identity crisis behind Ashley's unamused disposition. Though this audiobook takes place in 1992 and contains numerous historically accurate cultural references, it's highly relevant today, particularly considering the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement." Expand reviews
We Are LIT

We Are LIT is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.