Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller Pick
Bear Necessity
Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Bear Necessity

A Novel

Bookseller Recommendation

Bear Necessity

“This is simply a delightful book that handles grief in a way we can all laugh at. Danny and his son, Will, are trying to deal with the death of Danny's wife, Will's mother. Except, Danny has lost his job, and Will has selective mutism and can't talk. Danny's landlord is threatening to break his legs if Danny can't pay his rent. And, there are no jobs to be had. Join Danny as he tries to make a quick pound as a dancing bear in the park. This book is filled with fun characters that will leave you cheering, including Christine, an outrageous pole dancer. Grief is horrible, and healing can be even more horrible. But James Gould-Bourn shows us how there are small moments of laughter that can help the heart feel a little better. Oh, how I loved this book. A wonderful listen!”

BookBar image Marilyn, BookBar

Description

A heartwarming, poignant, and charming debut novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Rosie Project, about a father and son overcoming their grief in surprisingly inventive ways.

Danny’s life is falling apart. He’s become a single father to eleven-year-old Will—who hasn’t spoken since the death of his mother in a car crash a year earlier—and Danny has just been fired from his construction job. To make matters worse, he’s behind on the rent and his nasty landlord is threatening to break his legs if he doesn’t pay soon. Danny needs money, and fast.

After observing local street performers in a nearby park, Danny spends his last few dollars on a tattered panda costume, impulsively deciding to become a dancing bear. While performing one day, Danny spots his son in the park, and chases off the older boys who are taunting him. Will opens up for the first time since his mother’s death, unaware that the man in the panda costume is his father. Afraid of disclosing his true identity, Danny comforts his son. But will Danny lose Will’s trust once he reveals who he is? And will he be able to dance his way out of debt, or be beaten up before he has a chance?

Filled with a colorful cast of characters, Bear Necessity is a refreshingly unpretentious and ultimately uplifting story of a father and son reconnecting in the most unlikely of circumstances.


Audiobook gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world (including yourself!) from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting
Libro.fm App with bow

Audiobook details