Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Share a video about what your bookstore means to you and receive a FREE audiobook.

Learn more
New Release
The Only Good Indians
Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Only Good Indians

By Stephen Graham Jones
Narrated by Shaun Taylor-Corbett / 8 hours 37 minutes

A tale of revenge, cultural identity, and the cost of breaking from tradition in this latest novel from the Jordan Peele of horror literature, Stephen Graham Jones.

Bookseller recommendation

The Only Good Indians

“I loved this book. Jones has a unique narrative voice, allowing ‘the entity’ to step in and take over unexpectedly, amping up the horror. Also, each character has a distinct voice that brings them to life. Jones combines the culture and traditions of the Blackfeet and Crow people with the social truths of their contemporary life. It is refreshingly different from any other horror novel I’ve read. This book is gruesome and honestly scary. I couldn’t put it down.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kristine Jelstrom-Hamill, Buttonwood Books and Toys

“One of 2020’s buzziest horror novels.” —Entertainment Weekly

“More than I could have asked for in a novel.”—Tommy Orange, Pulitzer Prize finalist author of There There

“What Stephen Graham Jones does for me, is create new possibilities for Indigenous storymakers.” —Terese Marie Mailhot, New York Times bestselling author

A masterpiece. ” —Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Cabin at the End of the World

Seamlessly blending classic horror and a dramatic narrative with sharp social commentary, The Only Good Indians follows four American Indian men after a disturbing event from their youth puts them in a desperate struggle for their lives. Tracked by an entity bent on revenge, these childhood friends are helpless as the culture and traditions they left behind catch up to them in a violent, vengeful way.

Gift

Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Start gifting
 

“Jones boldly and bravely incorporates both the difficult and the beautiful parts of contemporary Indian life into his story, never once falling into stereotypes or easy answers but also not shying away from the horrors caused by cycles of violence.”

Rebecca Roanhorse, bestselling author of Trail of Lightning and Black Sun

“Stephen Graham Jones is a literary master who happens to write horror, and you've never read a book quite like The Only Good Indians.”

Tananarive Due, National Book Award winner, author of The Good House

“Fans of Stephen King's It and Peter Straub's Ghost Story should find plenty to love in this tale of friends who are haunted by a supernatural entity they first encountered in their youth.”

Silvia Moreno-Garcia, bestselling author of Mexican Gothic

About the Author

Stephen Graham Jones has been an NEA fellowship recipient, has won the Jesse Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction from the Texas Institute of Letters, the Independent Publishers Award for Multicultural Fiction, a Bram Stoker Award, four This is Horror Awards; and has been a finalist for the Shirley Jackson Award and the World Fantasy Award. He is the Ivena Baldwin Professor of English at the University of Colorado Boulder.


Reviews

“Stephen Graham Jones is one of our greatest treasures. His prose here pops and sings, hard-boiled poetry conspiring with heartbreakingly-alive characters.”

Sam J. Miller, Nebula-Award-Winning author of Blackfish City

“A heartbreakingly beautiful story about hope and survival, grappling with themes of cultural identity, family, and traditions.”

Library Journal, starred review

“This novel works both as a terrifying chiller and as biting commentary on the existential crisis of indigenous peoples adapting to a culture that is bent on eradicating theirs.”

Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Subtly funny and wry at turns, this novel will give you nightmares. The good kind, of course.”

Buzzfeed

Author
Narrator Shaun Taylor-Corbett
ISBN 9781797105550
Length 8 hours 37 minutes
Language English
Publisher Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm rank #21 Overall
Genre rank #1 in Horror

Share a video about what your bookstore means to you and receive a FREE audiobook.

Learn more