Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
These Audiobooks Give 100% of Proceeds to Local Bookstores Browse Now
Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

In Five Years

A Novel

By Rebecca Serle
Narrated by Megan Hilty / 6 hours 44 minutes

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Bookseller Recommendation

In Five Years

“Rebecca Serle’s In Five Years has so many of the things I want in a terrific novel: a twisty plot that leaves me guessing; radically unexpected developments; settings that I can see, smell, and taste; and probably the thing that Serle does best — an introduction to characters I’ll grow to care about and shed tears with. That last one? The tear thing? In Five Years had me weeping for the last part of a coast-to-coast flight, prompting the flight attendant to hand me a drink because, she said, it looked like I needed one. I loved this book and can’t wait to offer it to readers.”

Brookline Booksmith image Nick Petrulakis, Brookline Booksmith

A New York Times bestseller
A Good Morning America, FabFitFun, and Marie Claire Book Club Pick

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Dannie Kohan lives her life by the numbers.

She is nothing like her lifelong best friend—the wild, whimsical, believes-in-fate Bella. Her meticulous planning seems to have paid off after she nails the most important job interview of her career and accepts her boyfriend’s marriage proposal in one fell swoop, falling asleep completely content.

But when she awakens, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. Dannie spends one hour exactly five years in the future before she wakes again in her own home on the brink of midnight—but it is one hour she cannot shake. In Five Years is an unforgettable love story, but it is not the one you’re expecting.


  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Gift Now
 

In Five Years is more than just a love story; it’s a half dozen of them, none quite what you expect. Heartwarming, heartbreaking, and hard to put down, it’s a novel about romance, friendship, the magic of good bagels, and what happens after you get everything you always wanted.”

Laurie Frankel, author of New York Times bestseller This Is How It Always Is

“Heartbreaking, redemptive, and authentic in all the ways that make a book impossible to put down, I fell in love with this story. In five years, I will still be thinking about this beautiful novel.”

Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

“What would you do if you glimpsed your life five years from now—and found that it was different, in every way, from what you hoped for and expected? Rebecca Serle pairs this inspired premise with deft, propulsive prose and characters who feel as real as friends. In Five Years is as clever as it is moving, the rare read-in-one-sitting novel you won’t forget.”

Chloe Benjamin , New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

About the Author

Rebecca Serle is an author and television writer who lives in New York and Los Angeles. Serle codeveloped the hit TV adaptation of her YA series Famous in Love, and is also the author of The Dinner List, and YA novels The Edge of Falling and When You Were Mine. She received her MFA from the New School in NYC. Find out more at RebeccaSerle.com.


Reviews

“Serle takes a fairly generic rom-com setup and turns it into something much deeper in this captivating exploration of friendship, loss, and love.”

Booklist

“A heartwarming portrait of a broken heart finding a little healing magic.”

Kirkus Reviews

“Serle’s whimsical tale is book club catnip.”

Publishers Weekly

“I adored In Five Years, it’s so poignant and tender. It broke my heart, such an unusual idea executed brilliantly, I didn’t see that twist coming! I’m a sucker for great love stories, and this one is just lovely. A keeper on my shelf!”

Josie Silver, author of #1 New York Times bestseller One Day in December

Related Reading

<em>In Five Years</em> on the author's website

Book Club Guide

Follow Rebecca Serle on Twitter

Follow Rebecca Serle on Instagram


These Audiobooks Give 100% of Proceeds to Local Bookstores Browse Now