Skip navigation
Skip content
You appear to be accessing the site from a country where this title has restricted rights.
You can purchase this title if you use a credit card issued in a country where the publisher has licensed the content.
The Fabled Stables: Willa the Wisp by Jonathan Auxier
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Credit bundles

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the credit bundle (3, 6, or 12), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

The Fabled Stables: Willa the Wisp

$11.87 USD

Length 33 minutes
Language English
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The first book in a magical chapter-book adventure series by the Governor General Award-winning author of Sweep.

Auggie Pound is eight years old and has the greatest job of all time: he cares for all the animals in the Fabled Stables. The Fabled Stables house the rarest creatures in existence -- all of them one-of-a-kind. Auggie's job is to care for these creatures, as well as track down and safely capture endangered magical beasts in the wild. Some mornings, he arrives to find an empty stall with the name of a new creature to rescue. One day, the Stables rearrange themselves out of the blue, creating a new stall. The sign over the gate says, "Wisp." But what is a wisp and where is it? All Auggie can see is a moonlit swamp stretching out before him. Then a hungry HOWLLLLLLL rings out in the darkness. It's up to Auggie to go into the swamp to find the wisp before it's too late.

JONATHAN AUXIER teaches creative writing and children's literature. He is the author of Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, which was a Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award Honour Book and was also shortlisted for the Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy and the Diamond Willow Award. His second book, The Night Gardener, was shortlisted for the Governor General's Award, the Silver Birch Award and the CLA Book of the Year for Children Award. His third book, Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard, received four starred reviews and was shortlisted for the Sunburst Fantasy Award in Canada. His most recent novel, Sweep, was similarly critically acclaimed and is the winner of several awards, including the 2018 Governor General's Award. Auxier grew up near Vancouver and now lives in Pittsburgh with his family.
www.thescop.com Social: @jonathanauxier

OLGA DEMIDOVA was born and raised in Russia. She studied at the Moscow Art Institute of Applied Arts. Olga started work as an animator, but her tremendous passion for illustration changed the direction she works in. Now she works with publishers from all over the world and has published books and apps in Russia, Belarus and the USA, mostly for children.

Credit bundles

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the credit bundle (3, 6, or 12), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

Reviews

One of the Ontario Library Association's 2020 Best Bets selection, Junior Fiction category

“Whimsical fantasy with the right amount of speed and cleverness for the audience.” ―STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews

"Words and pictures partner to create a captivating, promising series starter that boasts quirky secondary characters and a sympathetic hero." ―STARRED REVIEW, Publishers Weekly

"Readers will root for Auggie and Willa the Wisp." ―School Library Journal

"Demidova’s chapter illustrations sparkle with whimsy and color and appear on almost every page, pulling double duty by enhancing the story and supporting children ready to step beyond leveled readers. . . Auxier’s gleeful and imaginative writing will charm." ―Booklist

"Great for reading aloud, this lively first entry in a projected series offers a curious setting and an imaginative cast of characters."―Horn Book Magazine


“Fans of The Princess in Black and Mercy Watson will be won over by this magical new series.” ―100 Scope Notes
Expand reviews