Skip content
Celebrate our 10th Anniversary with giveaways, merch, and more! Learn more
The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Buy one get one free

This month only!

Become a member and shop our members-only, 10th anniversary buy-one-get-one sale in support of local bookstores.

Get started

The Mysterious Benedict Society

$33.59

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator Del Roy

This audiobook uses AI narration.

Weโ€™re taking steps to make sure AI narration is transparent.

Learn more
Length 13 hours 17 minutes
Language English
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

For fans of Lemony Snicket and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, this first book in the bestselling, award-winning Mysterious Benedict Society Series is not to be missed!

"Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?" Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children--two boys and two girls--succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Trenton Lee Stewart is the author of the award-winning and New York Times bestselling Mysterious Benedict Society series. He lives in Arkansas with his wife and two sons.

Carson Ellis received her BFA from the University of Montana and has established a loyal following for her artistic collaborations with the band the Decemberists. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

Buy one get one free

This month only!

Become a member and shop our members-only, 10th anniversary buy-one-get-one sale in support of local bookstores.

Get started

Reviews

"Great cast of characters, lots of cool puzzles and mysteries. This book reminded me of some of the better children's books I grew up with, like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and The Phantom Tollbooth."โ€”Rick Riordan "Begins with a bang... resembles the otherwordly experience of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory."โ€”Publishers Weekly, starred review "Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure."โ€”School Library Journal, starred review "Tackles personal concerns: abandonment, family, loyalty, and facing one's fears."โ€”Booklist, starred review "Dashes of mild humor and introspection rest on a solid base of suspense, mystery, and well-rounded characters, making this a satisfying dish for readers of varying tastes."โ€”The Bulletin, starred review "Do not miss this one. Buy two copies because they will be needed."โ€”VOYA "Real flashlight under the bedclothes material... this story flies past, thrilling us as it goes."โ€”Horn Book Expand reviews
Celebrate our 10th Anniversary with giveaways, merch, and more! Learn more