Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Price:

$26.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Scholar

The Cormac Reilly Series: Book #2
By Dervla McTiernan
Narrated by Aoife McMahon / 10 hours 19 minutes
Bookseller Recommendation

The Scholar

“The Scholar is even better than the first Cormac Reilly book and I really loved it. The Scholar is the way a police procedural should be written. It is an intriguing look at how cases are handled or mishandled, how they are assigned, the politics of those in charge, the interactions of colleagues, and how slowly but surely instinct and hard work brings results. I loved learning more about who Cormac was as a person, and as a police officer, and I loved every minute of listening to those lovely accents, I can’t wait for #3.”

Fiction Addiction image Nancy, Fiction Addiction

A compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed.

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal-her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy-it has even funded Emma's own groundbreaking research.

As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy?

A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Gift Now
 

The Cormac Reilly Series Series

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener