Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
A Song for Issy Bradley
Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for $14.99 with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Song for Issy Bradley

A Novel

Description

A mesmerizing literary debut novel of doubt, faith, and perseverance in the aftermath of a family tragedy-for fans of Me Before You, Little Bee, and Tell the Wolves I'm Home. The Bradleys see the world as a place where miracles are possible, and where nothing is more important than family. This is their story. It is the story of Ian Bradley-husband, father, math teacher, and Mormon bishop-and his unshakeable belief that everything will turn out all right if he can only endure to the end, like the pioneers did. It is the story of his wife, Claire, her lonely wait for a sign from God, and her desperate need for life to pause while she comes to terms with tragedy. And it is the story of their children: sixteen-year-old Zippy, experiencing the throes of first love; cynical fourteen-year-old Al, who would rather play soccer than read the Book of Mormon; and seven-year-old Jacob, whose faith is bigger than a mustard seed-probably bigger than a toffee candy, he thinks-and which he's planning to use to mend his broken family with a miracle. Intensely moving, unexpectedly funny, and deeply observed, A Song for Issy Bradley explores the outer reaches of doubt and faith, and of a family trying to figure out how to carry on when the innermost workings of their world have broken apart. Praise for A Song for Issy Bradley "I loved A Song for Issy Bradley. It's wry, smart . . . moving and comforting. . . . A terrific book [about] faith, and what happens to that faith when the unimaginable happens."-Nick Hornby "In this wry, original, generous-spirited debut novel, members of a family come to terms with grief, each in his or her own way. They wrestle with belief and disillusionment, desire and hopelessness, pervasive sorrow and moments of transcendent joy. The result is riveting, powerful, and quietly devastating. Quite simply, A Song for Issy Bradley took my breath away."-Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train "A Song for Issy Bradley is that rarest of things-a book that is beautiful, tender, and a page-turner. Carys Bray made me fall hopelessly in love with each and every one of the Bradleys."-Carol Rifka Brunt, New York Times bestselling author of Tell the Wolves I'm Home "I cannot remember the last time I have felt so emotionally invested in a novel. It is brilliant and profoundly moving, utterly compelling and almost unbearably real."-Nathan Filer, author of The Shock of the Fall "Carys Bray is a strikingly original new voice in fiction. I loved this tender, moving, funny, and deeply truthful story about a family and a faith tested to the breaking point."-Helen Dunmore, author of The Lie and The Siege "I loved A Song for Issy Bradley. With courage, warmth, and intelligence, Carys Bray sweetly and subtly breaks your heart. It's an incredible debut."-Charlotte Mendelson, author of Almost English and When We Were Bad From the Hardcover edition.


Audiobook gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world (including yourself!) from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting
Libro.fm App with bow

Audiobook details