Skip content
Celebrate our 10th Anniversary with giveaways, merch, and more! Learn more
When Elephants Fly by Nancy Richardson Fischer
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Buy one get one free

This month only!

Become a member and shop our members-only, 10th anniversary buy-one-get-one sale in support of Waucoma Bookstore.

Get started

When Elephants Fly

$29.39

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator Caitlin Davies

This audiobook uses AI narration.

We’re taking steps to make sure AI narration is transparent.

Learn more
Length 9 hours 43 minutes
Language English
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Don’t miss one of the most heartwarming young adult novels of the year. Perfect for fans of Water for Elephants, Wonder and All the Bright Places, When Elephants Fly shows that how we choose to live our lives matters, and that there are some battles worth fighting even if it means losing yourself.

T. Lily Decker is a high school senior with a twelve-year plan: avoid stress, drugs, alcohol and boyfriends, and take regular psych quizzes administered by her best friend, Sawyer, to make sure she’s not developing schizophrenia.

Genetics are not on Lily’s side. When she was seven, her mother, who had paranoid schizophrenia, tried to kill her. And a secret has revealed that Lily’s odds are even worse than she thought. Still, there’s a chance to avoid triggering the mental health condition, if Lily can live a careful life from ages eighteen to thirty, when schizophrenia most commonly manifests.

But when a newspaper internship results in Lily witnessing a mother elephant try to kill her three-week-old calf, Swifty, Lily can’t abandon the story or the calf. With Swifty in danger of dying from grief, Lily must choose whether to risk everything, including her sanity and a first love, on a desperate road trip to save the calf’s life, perhaps finding her own version of freedom along the way.

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Nancy Richardson Fischer is a graduate of Cornell University, with children’s, teen and adult titles to her credit, including Some Of It Was Real and The Book Of Silver Linings (PRH/Berkley) under the name Nan Fischer, When Elephants Fly and The Speed Of Falling Objects (HarperCollins/Inkyard Press), Star Wars titles for Lucas Film and numerous athlete autobiographies, such as Julie Krone, Bela Karolyi and Monica Seles. She lives in the Pacific Northwest.

Buy one get one free

This month only!

Become a member and shop our members-only, 10th anniversary buy-one-get-one sale in support of Waucoma Bookstore.

Get started
Celebrate our 10th Anniversary with giveaways, merch, and more! Learn more

Waucoma Bookstore is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.