Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more
The Taste of Metal

$1.79 USD

Retail price (USD): $1.99

Discount: 10%

This title is not eligible for purchase with membership credits. Why?

  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Taste of Metal


The Maples Stories consists of eighteen classicstories from across John Updike’s career, forming a luminous chronicle of thelife and times of one marriage in all its rich emotional complexity. In 1956,Updike published the story “Snowing in Greenwich Village,” about a youngcouple, Joan and Richard Maple, at the beginning of their marriage. Over thenext two decades, he returned to these characters again and again, tracingtheir years together raising children, finding moments of intermittenthappiness, and facing the heartbreak of infidelity and estrangement.

In this sixth story from The Maples Stories, Richard and Joan attend a party, after which anintoxicated Richard gets behind the wheel. With his wife in the backseat andEleanor, a woman to whom Richard is undeniably attracted, in the passengerseat, he sets off into the snowy night.

Audiobook gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world (including yourself!) from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting App with bow

Notice to our customers about The Taste of Metal

Due to publisher restrictions we are unable to offer this audiobook via membership credits. To help combat restrictive licensing for our customers, we've lowered the price of this audiobook as much as we can.

Audiobook details

Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more