Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Price:

$22.94

Get for Free with Membership

The Woman at the Light

A Novel

By Joanna Brady
Narrated by Hillary Huber / 10 hours 43 minutes

In the tradition of Leila Meacham and Dorothea Benton Frank comes a stunning debut novel about a well-born Southern woman who finds courage and strength to overcome tragedy with an unexpected new love. One afternoon in 1839, Emily Lowry's husband vanishes from Wreckers' Cay, an isolated island off the coast of Key West where he tends the lighthouse. As days stretch into months, Emily has no choice but to take charge of Wreckers' Cay and her husband's duties tending the light to support her three children-and a fourth on the way. Unexpected help arrives when a runaway slave named Andrew washes up on their beach. At first, Emily is intensely wary of this strange, charming man, whose very presence there is highly illegal. But Andrew proves himself an enormous help and soon wins the hearts of the Lowry family. Far from the outside world and society's rules, his place in Emily's life, as steadfast now as the light, will forever change their futures. When Emily's family is ripped apart once again, she faces untold hardships that test her love and determination and show how the passionate love of a defiant, determined woman can overcome any obstacle.

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Gift Now
 

Author
Narrator Hillary Huber
ISBN 9781481589802
Length 10 hours 43 minutes
Language English
Publisher Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Publication Date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm Rank #110,366 Overall
Genre Rank #3,573 in Historical Fiction
 

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener