Skip navigation
Skip content
Give credit bundles this holiday season and get a free audiobook! Shop now
The Devil You Know by Elisabeth de Mariaffi
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The perfect gift:
Audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase. Plus, you’ll get a FREE seasonal audiobook with your credit bundle purchase!

Start gifting

The Devil You Know

A Novel

$17.96 USD

Retail price (USD): $19.95

Discount: 10%

This title is not eligible for purchase with membership credits. Why?

Narrator Andi Arndt
Length 10 hours 17 minutes
Language English
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and A. S. A. Harrison's The Silent Wife, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger—and a stalker—right to her doorstep.

The year is 1993. Rookie crime-beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon, who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne's case cold.

Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help—but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large—and that he's coming back for her.

From critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes a spine-tingling debut about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled.

Elisabeth de Mariaffi is the author of a book of short stories, How to Get Along with Women, which was longlisted for the 2013 Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her first novel, The Devil You Know, was named one of the Best Books of 2015 by The Globe and Mail and the National Post. Hysteria, was named one of the Best Books of 2018 by the Globe and Mail. Both her novels were shortlisted for the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award.

Andi Arndt is a professional voice actor, the winner of a 2017 Audie Award for Best Romance, and winner of two Earphones Awards.

The perfect gift:
Audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase. Plus, you’ll get a FREE seasonal audiobook with your credit bundle purchase!

Start gifting

Reviews

The Devil You Know manages simultaneously to be funny, sweet, hip, and utterly terrifying. Elisabeth de Mariaffi has written a smart, unique thriller.”

“In Canadian writer de Mariaffi’s debut mystery, a 1982 abduction and murder teaches girls growing up in Toronto how to be afraid…With so many thrillers cheaply exploiting violence against girls and women, de Mariaffi’s  treatment of the topic, through Evie’s vulnerable yet empowered voice, is refreshingly reverent.”

“Set in and around Toronto in 1993, Canadian author de Mariaffi’s artful first novel chronicles the efforts of journalist Evie Jones to track down the man who murdered a friend of hers…Hooked readers will silently implore Evie to refrain from entering a basement or a cabin in the woods in pursuit of a story—and a killer.”

“The author (whose short story collection How to Get Along with Women was longlisted for the Giller Prize) expertly builds suspense throughout this character-driven debut novel. As it nears its climax, readers will dread turning the pages for fear of what comes next.”

“A gripping literary thriller that will get under your skin and burrow into your every waking thought. You’ll see a little bit of yourself in Evie Jones, and you’ll find yourself looking over your shoulder even more after reading this creepy, chilling, and hauntingly beautiful book.”

“A first novel rich with menace and psychological depth, The Devil You Know transports in the dangerous way of a nightmare but remains grounded—even more dangerously—in the way of a documentary. Elisabeth de Mariaffi delivers a thriller that thrills in so many ways.”

“Take the wit of Gone Girl, the horror of Helter Skelter, the twists of In Cold Blood, and the wisdom of Joan Didion’s The White Album and you feel the thrill of reading The Devil You Know. Elisabeth de Mariaffi has written a brilliant and thoughtful thriller that is tense, funny, scary, smart, and true. Her clear-eyed insight into the kind of fear that women carry through life resonated deeply with me.”

Expand reviews
Give credit bundles this holiday season and get a free audiobook! Shop now