Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop small. Gift big. Support local bookstores by giving audiobook gifts. Start shopping
Bookseller Pick
Strange the Dreamer
Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Strange the Dreamer

Strange the Dreamer: Book #1

From National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor comes an epic fantasy about a mythic lost city and its dark past.


Bookseller Recommendation

Strange the Dreamer

“Get ready to be swept up in this hauntingly beautiful story of an orphan boy who dreams of places no on remembers and a powerful girl fighting to do what is right. Laini Taylor creates a fantasy world that is sure to stay in your dreams. Great for readers who enjoyed Six of Crows, An Ember in the Ashes, or Taylor's other books.”

Once Upon A Time image Jessica, Once Upon A Time

Description

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old, he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the form of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? And who is the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo's dreams?

In this sweeping and breathtaking novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

The answers await in Weep.

Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start shopping
Libro.fm App

Testimonials


“Laini Taylor is so damn good and like no other.”

Leigh Bardugo , #1 New York Times bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom

“Laini Taylor set my imagination on fire so hard that it spontaneously combusted...This is the kind of story that paves dreams.”

Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star Touched Queen

Videos


Quotes


It was impossible, of course. But when did that ever stop any dreamer from dreaming.
Like nightmares, dreams were insidious things, and didn't like being locked away.
Good people do all the things bad people do, Lazlo. It's just that when they do them, they call it justice.
The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around.

About the author


Laini Taylor is the New York Times bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy: Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Days of Blood & Starlight, and Dreams of Gods & Monsters, and the companion novella A Night of Cake & Puppets. She is also the author of the Dreamdark books Blackbringer and Silksinger; the National Book Award finalist Lips Touch: Three Times; and Strange the Dreamer. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband, illustrator Jim Di Bartolo, and their daughter Clementine.


Reviews

“An epic world of gods, moths and nightmares; a world where the dream chooses the dreamer.”

Justine Magazine

“Part adventure novel, part romance and part exercise in epic myth-building, it's gorgeously written and full of surprises.”

NPR

“[A] must-read YA!”

USA Today


Strange the Dreamer series


Bookseller Pick
Strange the Dreamer
Strange the Dreamer
Laini Taylor
Muse of Nightmares
Muse of Nightmares
Laini Taylor

Audiobook details


Shop small. Gift big. Support local bookstores by giving audiobook gifts. Start shopping