Skip content
Coming soon
The Hitchcock Hotel by Stephanie Wrobel
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

The Hitchcock Hotel

Due to publisher restrictions, this audiobook is unavailable for purchase in your selected country.
Length TBA
Language English
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Brought to you by Penguin.

Lilith Thorne, forty, rarely sees the light of day. She has spent the past three years in total isolation at Guthrie Hall. She doesn't see anyone, her groceries are delivered to the front gate.

She adores her house and takes comfort in her routine, eating the same carefully prepared meals day after day. And yet, she is lonely, and posts an ad on Craigslist for a companion.

Eighty-year-old Beverly Smith answers the ad. Fiercer than her age will allow people to believe, the two women couldn't be more different.

Where will this extraordinary friendship lead the two women? What happens to a person when she has withdrawn from society, and how does she learn to trust again? And what happens when that trust then turns into something darker?

PRAISE FOR STEPHANIE WROBEL:

'Sensationally good - Wrobel is one to watch' LEE CHILD

'Worthy of Patricia Highsmith at her finest: quite superb' Daily Mail

'A riveting psychological duel' Sunday Times

©2023 Stephanie Wrobel (P)2023 Penguin Audio

Stephanie Wrobel is the author of This Might Hurt and The Recovery of Rose Gold, a Sunday Times and international bestseller that sold in twenty-one countries. Her third book, The Hitchcock Hotel, pays tribute to legendary film director Alfred Hitchcock, whose work Wrobel first encountered during a film studies class at university. She's been a devotee ever since. This new novel examines many of the themes that obsessed the Master of Suspense: voyeurism, vengeance, paranoia, and guilt.
Wrobel lives in New York City.

Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Reviews

A slow burn of suspense, secrets, and lies that - in true Hitchcockian fashion - explodes into a series of twists, each more jaw-dropping than the last USA TODAY bestselling author, Stephanie Wrobel, is back with another brilliantly unsettling, chilling thriller. Utterly gripping and Hitchcockian in the most literal sense, this staggering novel unravels the decades-old mystery surrounding six former college friends. Sinister, scintillating, and compulsively creepy, The Hitchcock Hotel is an irresistible, genius read that will astound you THE HITCHCOCK HOTEL is an atmospheric, stunningly crafted, wholly satisfying mystery that seamlessly combines plot twists and emotional heft. Highly original and brilliantly executed, this book is almost unbearably suspenseful—and so. much. fun. Stephanie Wrobel is a go-to author for stories full of suspense and social commentary. The Hitchcock Hotel is equal parts fresh and chilling. Filled with humor, tension, and intrigue, this twisty read will grip readers from start to finish! A spine-chilling thriller...Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train It's rare for something genuinely fresh to come along in this genre, but this book has it all - a killer premise, twisty plotting, crisp writing and compelling characters. Dazzling, dark and utterly delicious Expertly paced, hugely unsettling, and perfectly dark Sensationally good - Wrobel is one to watch A riveting psychological duel Absolutely brilliant...funny, dark, authentic and a total page-turner. I loved it With genuine menace seeping from every twist and turn, and a denouement worthy of Patricia Highsmith at her finest: quite superb Wrobel masterfully weaves together multiple POVs to spin a near-suffocating web of suspense. The tension—and thrills—intensify as each sordid secret, bitter grudge, and simmering resentment surfaces, culminating in the reveal of one shocking hidden agenda. With themes of loyalty, obsession, guilt, and voyeurism, The Hitchcock Hotel kept me locked in from the first page to the last. A master stylist, Stephanie Wrobel strikes again with well-drawn characters, intricate plotting, satisfying surprises, and first-class entertainment. I don't want to visit The Hitchcock Hotel, but its story had me from the moment the guests arrived. Endlessly clever, ridiculously entertaining, and so damn FUN. Artful construction, shudder-inducing suspense, and cinematic sparkle make The Hitchcock Hotel the perfect weekend escape—eerie movie-themed inn not required. Wrobel’s inspired treatment of the Hitchcockian motifs we know so well further secures her place as a master of premium high-concept psychological fiction. Hitch would be proud The Hitchcock Hotel is not only enthralling and suspenseful, but author Stephanie Wrobel has managed to craft a wholly original thriller filled with the pleasures of homage and a tribute to one of the great suspense storytellers. Like any Hitchcock film, prepare for fantastic twists, complex characters, and an ending you'll think about long after THE END. 'Hitchcock would be pleased with the masterful twists and turns in Stephanie Wrobel's latest novel. Both a tribute to the iconic director's work without papering over his flaws, The Hitchcock Hotel is an addictive page-turner sure to win applause from movie buffs and book lovers alike' Masterful in its layering of secrets and suspense, THE HITCHCOCK HOTEL is not only a clever tribute to the acclaimed movie maestro, but also a locked room nail biter in itself. I loved it! Fans of Knives Out, Agatha Christie, and (of course) Alfred Hitchcock, rejoice! The Hitchcock Hotel is cool, classy – but such fun; reverent – yet so original. And – above all – almost biologically impossible to put down once picked up. Hitchcock would’ve loved it. I sure as hell did PRAISE FOR STEPHANIE WROBEL Expand reviews