Skip content
Celebrate our 10th Anniversary with giveaways, merch, and more! Learn more
Bookseller pick
Book of Night by Holly Black
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Buy one get one free

This month only!

Become a member and shop our members-only, 10th anniversary buy-one-get-one sale in support of local bookstores.

Get started

Book of Night

$28.34

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator Sara Amini

This audiobook uses AI narration.

We’re taking steps to make sure AI narration is transparent.

Learn more
Length 12 hours 32 minutes
Language English
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

"Award-winning YA author Holly Black has created an imaginary masterpiece yet again with her first foray into adult fantasy, narrated with perfection by Sara Amini." -AudioFile (Earphones Award Winner)

In the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern, #1 NYT bestselling author Holly Black’s stunning new audiobook is a dark fantasy of betrayals and cabals with a dissolute thief of shadows at the center of it all.

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make.

She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie Hall.

Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but getting out isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that Charlie's shadowless, and possibly soulless, boyfriend has been hiding things from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends into a maelstrom of murder and lies.

Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world—all trying to steal a secret that will give them vast and terrible power

"Dark, strange, thick with mystery and twists—a story so believable in its magic, you'll be keeping one eye on your shadow as you turn the pages." —Leigh Bardugo, New York Times bestselling author of Ninth House

"If Neil Gaiman channeled Stephen King, the result might be this book...scintillating prose, whiplash twists, and a voice of character that demands to be heard from again.”— ames Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of The Starless Crown

“Heart, soul, and a bit of kink—The Book of Night is smart, decadent fun.”—Kelly Link, Pulitzer Prize Finalist


A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books.

Holly Black is the #1 New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of speculative and fantasy novels, short stories, and comics. She has sold over 26 million books worldwide, and her work has been translated into over 30 languages and adapted for film. She currently lives in New England with her husband and son in a house with a secret library. Book of Night is her adult fiction debut.

Buy one get one free

This month only!

Become a member and shop our members-only, 10th anniversary buy-one-get-one sale in support of local bookstores.

Get started

Reviews

Praise for Holly Black:

“No one writes like Holly Black—eerie and vivid.” —John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“I will never forget my first time reading Holly Black…Such a beautiful writer.” —Daisy Johnson, Man Booker Prize finalist and author of Sisters

“Black is a master at world-building” —The New York Times Book Review


Praise for The Cruel Prince:

“Lush, dangerous, a dark jewel of a book…. This delicious story will seduce you and leave you desperate for just one more page.” —Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Six of Crows and the Shadow and Bone trilogy

“I require book two immediately. Holly is the Faerie Queen.” —Victoria Aveyard, #1 bestselling author of the Red Queen series

Expand reviews
Celebrate our 10th Anniversary with giveaways, merch, and more! Learn more