Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Mother-in-Law

A Novel

By Sally Hepworth
Narrated by Barrie Kreinik / 9 hours 11 minutes
Bookseller Recommendation

The Mother-in-Law

“Family relationships are often complicated and misunderstood especially between mother and daughter in laws, but do they usually end in murder? This is the question to be answered in Hepworth’s masterfully plotted novel of families and expectations each has of the other. Lucy is yearning for a mother figure since her mother died when she was young. Diana seems to be the total opposite of what Lucy was hoping for in a MIL. Lucy begins to believe that Diana doesn’t even like her at all. When Diana, a prominent and very wealthy member of the community is found dead of an apparent suicide and the police begin to believe foul play we finally see the characters as they really are. Did Diana finally push Lucy too far? Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty.”

Fiction Addiction image Nancy, Fiction Addiction

“Deliciously entertaining, this Australian novel is packed with wit and suspense, and it also delivers sharp insights about family dynamics and love.” — People Magazine

A twisty, compelling new audiobook about one woman's complicated relationship with her mother-in-law that ends in death...

From the moment Lucy met her husband’s mother, she knew she wasn’t the wife Diana had envisioned for her perfect son. Exquisitely polite, friendly, and always generous, Diana nonetheless kept Lucy at arm’s length despite her desperate attempts to win her over. And as a pillar in the community, an advocate for female refugees, and a woman happily married for decades, no one had a bad word to say about Diana…except Lucy.

That was five years ago.

Now, Diana is dead, a suicide note found near her body claiming that she longer wanted to live because of the cancer wreaking havoc inside her body.

But the autopsy finds no cancer.

It does find traces of poison, and evidence of suffocation.

Who could possibly want Diana dead? Why was her will changed at the eleventh hour to disinherit both of her children, and their spouses? And what does it mean that Lucy isn’t exactly sad she’s gone?

Fractured relationships and deep family secrets grow more compelling with every chapter in this twisty, captivating new audiobook from Sally Hepworth.

Praise for Sally Hepworth:

“With jaw-dropping discoveries, and realistic consequences, this novel is not to be missed. Perfect for lovers of Big Little Lies.” —Library Journal, starred review

"Hepworth deftly keeps the reader turning pages and looking for clues, all the while building multilayered characters and carefully doling out bits of their motivations." —Booklist

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Gift Now
 

Author
Narrator Barrie Kreinik
ISBN 9781250314437
Length 9 hours 11 minutes
Language English
Publisher Macmillan Audio
Publication Date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm Rank #164 Overall
Genre Rank #109 in Fiction & Literature
 

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener