Get Your First Month for Free Get Started
Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

The City Baker's Guide to Country Living

By Louise Miller
Narrated by Jorjeana Marie / 10 hours 9 minutes
Bookseller Recommendation

The City Baker's Guide to Country Living

“This charming debut follows big-city baker Olivia Rawlings as she flees her cushy Boston job for small-town New England after accidentally setting her dessert -- and the building -- on fire. Along the way, she finds new friends, family, and a sense of belonging. Perfect for fans of Kitchens of the Great Midwest and Sarah Addison Allen, this is a comforting, big-hearted book that will enchant readers with its delightfully quirky characters, beautiful setting, and mouthwatering descriptions of baked goods.”

One More Page image Rebecca Speas, One More Page

"Mix in one part Diane Mott ­Davidson’s delightful culinary adventures with several tablespoons of Jan Karon’s country living and quirky characters, bake at 350 degrees for one rich and warm romance." --Library Journal

A full-hearted novel about a big-city baker who discovers the true meaning of home—and that sometimes the best things are found when you didn’t even know you were looking


When Olivia Rawlings—pastry chef extraordinaire for an exclusive Boston dinner club—sets not just her flambéed dessert but the entire building alight, she escapes to the most comforting place she can think of—the idyllic town of Guthrie, Vermont, home of Bag Balm, the country’s longest-running contra dance, and her best friend Hannah. But the getaway turns into something more lasting when Margaret Hurley, the cantankerous, sweater-set-wearing owner of the Sugar Maple Inn, offers Livvy a job. Broke and knowing that her days at the club are numbered, Livvy accepts.

Livvy moves with her larger-than-life, uberenthusiastic dog, Salty, into a sugarhouse on the inn’s property and begins creating her mouthwatering desserts for the residents of Guthrie. She soon uncovers the real reason she has been hired—to help Margaret reclaim the inn’s blue ribbon status at the annual county fair apple pie contest.

With the joys of a fragrant kitchen, the sound of banjos and fiddles being tuned in a barn, and the crisp scent of the orchard just outside the front door, Livvy soon finds herself immersed in small town life. And when she meets Martin McCracken, the Guthrie native who has returned from Seattle to tend his ailing father, Livvy comes to understand that she may not be as alone in this world as she once thought.

But then another new arrival takes the community by surprise, and Livvy must decide whether to do what she does best and flee—or stay and finally discover what it means to belong. Olivia Rawlings may finally find out that the life you want may not be the one you expected—it could be even better.


From the Hardcover edition.

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift this Audiobook

Simply email this audiobook to a friend or print a certificate for later. Either way, your gift supports local bookstores and lets you share a story with the touch of a button.

 

Author
Narrator Jorjeana Marie
ISBN 9780735206151
Length 10 hours 9 minutes
Language English
Publisher Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Publication Date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm Rank #1,909 Overall
Genre Rank #62 in Romance
 

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener