Skip content
Get two free audiobooks AND support The Starless Bookstore Make the switch
Starlings by Amanda Linsmeier
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting The Starless Bookstore with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and The Starless Bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Starlings

$25.00

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator Phoebe Strole

This audiobook uses AI narration.

We’re taking steps to make sure AI narration is transparent.

Learn more
Length 10 hours 5 minutes
Language English
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A dark YA fantasy debut perfect for fans of House of Hollow and Small Favors. In the wake of her father's death, a teen girl discovers a side of her family she didn't know existed, and is pulled into a dark—and ancient—bargain she is next in line to fulfill.

Kit’s father always told her he had no family, but his sudden death revealed the truth. Now Kit has a grandmother she never knew she had—Agatha Starling—and an invitation to visit her father’s hometown, Rosemont. 

And Rosemont is picture perfect: the famed eternal roses bloom all year, downtown is straight out of the 1950s . . . there’s even a cute guy to show Kit around.

The longer Kit’s there, though, the stranger it all feels. The Starling family is revered, but there’s something off about how the Starling women seem to be at the center of the all the town’s important history. And as welcoming as the locals are, Kit can’t shake the feeling that they're hiding something from her.

Agatha is so happy to finally meet her only granddaughter, and the town is truly charming, but Kit can’t help wondering, if everything is so great in Rosemont, why did her father leave? And why does it seem like he never wanted her to find it?

Amanda Linsmeier has been a book nerd for as long as she can remember, and it was that great love of reading that led her to write her own stories. She lives in a small blue house surrounded by trees and cornfields, with her husband, their three wonderfully wild children, and, somehow, five pets.

Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting The Starless Bookstore with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and The Starless Bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Reviews

“Like the town of Rosemont itself, outwardly lush and beautiful but steeped in sinister secrets, Linsmeier’s Starlings is a deliciously dark fantasy that I devoured in a single day.” —Amy Goldsmith, author of Those We Drown

If you ever wished Stars Hollow had more things that went bump in the night, Starlings is for you! Linsmeier’s haunting mystery held me captive, eager to learn all of Rosemont’s dark secrets.” —Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows

"Linsmeier uses a delicate emotional palette to depict her plot, beginning with the subdued gloom and grief surrounding Kit and her mother. The suspense gradually grows to the nail-biting climax, and character development is so nuanced that the reader, like Kit, can't trust anyone. Fans of folk horror will be entranced by this suspenseful novel." —Booklist

"A foreboding, flower-filled, feminist horror story." —Kirkus Reviews
Expand reviews
book-open-1

Want the printed book?

Get the print edition from The Starless Bookstore.

Get the print edition

Powered by Bookstore Link

Get two free audiobooks AND support The Starless Bookstore Make the switch

The Starless Bookstore is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.