Skip content
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more
History Smashers: Pearl Harbor by Kate Messner
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Gold medal with Libro.fm logo

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks!

Nowโ€™s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code PRIMETIME, weโ€™ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Sign up today
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

History Smashers: Pearl Harbor

$18.00

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator James Malloch

This audiobook uses AI narration.

Weโ€™re taking steps to make sure AI narration is transparent.

Learn more
Length 2 hours 28 minutes
Language English
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the infamous Pearl Harbor attack with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

On December 7, 1941, the Japanese launched a completely unpredictable attack on the U.S. Navy base at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii. Right? Well, that's not quite the real deal. Some military experts had suggested that Pearl Harbor was a likely target. There were other warning signs, too, but nobody paid much attention. From the first wave of the Japanese bombers to the United States' internment of thousands of Japanese Americans, acclaimed author Kate Messner smashes history by exploring the little-known truths behind the story of Pearl Harbor and its aftermath.

Don't miss History Smashers: The Mayflower and Women's Right to Vote

KATE MESSNER is passionately curious and writes books that encourage kids to wonder, too. Her titles include award-winning picture books, like Over and Under the Snow; novels, like Breakout and Chirp; the Fergus and Zeke easy reader series, and the popular Ranger in Time chapter books, and works of nonfiction with a focus on nature and history. Before becoming a full time writer, Kate was a TV journalist and National Board certified middle school English teacher. She lives on Lake Champlain with her family and is trying to summit all 46 Adirondack High Peaks in between book deadlines. Visit katemessner.com and Facebook: Kate Messner for more information and follow her on Twitter @katemessner.

Gold medal with Libro.fm logo

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks!

Nowโ€™s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code PRIMETIME, weโ€™ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Sign up today
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Reviews

Praise for the History Smashers series:

"Critical, respectful, engaging: exemplary history for children." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"The book’s format may be a good match for those with shorter attention spans, and permits it to be gratifyingly capacious in what it covers." —The New York Times Book Review 

"Well-researched, entertaining, and packed with facts." —Booklist

“Messner and Meconis provide a timely perspective on an important part of American history.” School Library Journal

"A history book for middle-graders that should be on everyone's (child and adult) to-read list." —Shelf Awareness

"Kate Messner serves up fun, fast history for kids who want the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. Absolutely smashing!" —Candace Fleming, award-wining author

"Informative and fun, eye-opening and entertaining. I wish I could have read History Smashers when I was in elementary school. I would have devoured them and developed a big appetite for even more of this sort of truth-telling." Chris Barton, award-winning author Expand reviews
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more