Skip navigation
Skip content
The Assignment by Liza Wiemer
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

The Assignment

$35.00 USD

Get for $14.99 with membership
Length 8 hours 56 minutes
Language English
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A SYDNEY TAYLOR NOTABLE BOOK
 
Inspired by a real-life incident, this riveting novel explores discrimination and antisemitism and reveals their dangerous impact.


Would you defend the indefensible?

That's what seniors Logan March and Cade Crawford are asked to do when a favorite teacher instructs a group of students to argue for the Final Solution--the Nazi plan for the genocide of the Jewish people.

Logan and Cade decide they must take a stand, and soon their actions draw the attention of the student body, the administration, and the community at large. But not everyone feels as Logan and Cade do--after all, isn't a school debate just a school debate? It's not long before the situation explodes, and acrimony and anger result.

Based on true events, The Assignment asks: What does it take for tolerance, justice, and love to prevail?

"An important look at a critical moment in history through a modern lens showcasing the power of student activism." -SLJ

Liza Wiemer is an award-winning educator with over twenty years of experience. She is the author of two adult nonfiction books, as well as a young adult novel. She lives in Milwaukee with her family. Visit her at LizaWiemer.com and follow @lizawiemer on Twitter and @lizamwiemer on Instagram.

Liza Wiemer is an award-winning educator with over twenty years of experience. She is the author of two adult nonfiction books, as well as a young adult novel. She lives in Milwaukee with her family. Visit her at LizaWiemer.com and follow @lizawiemer on Twitter and @lizamwiemer on Instagram.

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

Reviews

I recommend this book . . . as a model of being an ally and what it takes to speak up for what’s right when confronted with something truly wrong. Excellent for reading in a classroom or as part of a book club.” —Evonne Marzouck-The Jewish Press 


“A good choice for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and Nic Stone’s Dear Martin.
School Library Journal

“This wise and nuanced novel has loving arms that, while hugging two teens who must confront a popular teacher, also can reach all those who are belittled and unheard.” —Thanhhà Lại, New York Times bestselling author of Inside Out & Back Again and Butterfly Yellow

“A riveting, important, and thought-provoking read. Unputdownable and unforgettable.” —Leah Cypess, author of The Death Sworn series 
 
“This fast-paced, compelling story will inspire readers to stick to their principles and fight for what’s right. A timely and necessary read.” —Kip Wilson, author of White Rose

Brave, breath-stealing and bold. A compelling and necessary read.” —Gae Polisner, author of The Memory of Things and Jack Kerouac Is Dead to Me

“Readers won’t be able to resist putting themselves in the students’ shoes and thinking about when and where they themselves would draw the line, or if they would dare confront power at all.” —Nancy Werlin, author of The Rules of Survival

“This fast-paced novel will keep readers thoroughly engaged. An important plot-driven story about two teens who stand up for what’s right in the face of adversity.” —Kirkus Reviews




Expand reviews