Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Join the #SummerListeningChallenge and play Libro.fm Audiobook Bingo!

Learn more
Bookseller Pick
The Fountains of Silence
Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

The Fountains of Silence

By Ruta Sepetys
Narrated by Ruta Sepetys, Richard Ferrone, Maite Jáuregui, Neil Hellegers, Joshua Kane, Liza Kaplan & Oliver Wyman / 12 hours 22 minutes
Bookseller Recommendation

If you enjoyed The Book Thief, then you’ll love The Fountains of Silence.

“A touching historical novel that brings the truth of Franco's Spain, as well as the complicated involvement of US oil companies, to a YA audience. The blossoming romance throughout is perfectly sweet and drives the development of the main character, Daniel Matheson. Librarians and teachers will want this on their virtual shelves for fans of THE BOOK THIEF, A NORTHERN LIGHT, or CODE NAME VERITY. The audiobook is a must, as it incorporates many different narrators to bring the complicated world of fascist Madrid to life.”

Lark & Owl image Kim, Lark & Owl

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray comes a gripping, extraordinary portrait of love, silence, and secrets under a Spanish dictatorship.

Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco Franco, Spain is hiding a dark secret. Meanwhile, tourists and foreign businessmen flood into Spain under the welcoming promise of sunshine and wine. Among them is eighteen-year-old Daniel Matheson, the son of an oil tycoon, who arrives in Madrid with his parents hoping to connect with the country of his mother's birth through the lens of his camera. Photography--and fate--introduce him to Ana, whose family's interweaving obstacles reveal the lingering grasp of the Spanish Civil War--as well as chilling definitions of fortune and fear. Daniel's photographs leave him with uncomfortable questions amidst shadows of danger. He is backed into a corner of difficult decisions to protect those he loves. Lives and hearts collide, revealing an incredibly dark side to the sunny Spanish city.

Master storyteller Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history's darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love, repercussions of war, and the hidden violence of silence--inspired by the true postwar struggles of Spain.

Includes vintage media reports, oral history commentary, photos, and more.

Praise for The Fountains of Silence:

* "[Sepetys] tells a moving story made even more powerful by its placement in a lesser-known historical moment. Captivating, deft, and illuminating historical fiction." --Booklist, *STARRED REVIEW*

* "A stunning novel that exposes modern fascism and elevates human resilience." --Kirkus, *STARRED REVIEW*


Read by Maite Jáuregui, with Richard Ferrone, Neil Hellegers, Joshua Kane, Liza Kaplan, and Oliver Wyman, and with an Author’s Note read by the author

Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Start Gifting
 

Join the #SummerListeningChallenge and play Libro.fm Audiobook Bingo!

Learn more