Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Pick
Love in Lowercase by Francesc Miralles
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Credit bundles

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the credit bundle (3, 6, or 12), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

Love in Lowercase

A Novel

$21.00 USD

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator Scott Aiello
Translator Julie Wark
Length 5 hours 14 minutes
Language English
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A feel-good novel for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Rosie Project, about an eccentric, language-loving bachelor and the cat that opens his eyes to life’s little pleasures

The Silver Linings Playbook author Matthew Quick:
“A delightfully absurd, life-affirming celebration. I literally stood up and cheered as I read the last page.”


When Samuel, a lonely linguistics lecturer, wakes up on New Year’s Day, he is convinced that the year ahead will bring nothing more than passive verbs and un-italicized moments—until an unexpected visitor slips into his Barcelona apartment and refuses to leave. The appearance of Mishima, a stray, brindle-furred cat, becomes the catalyst that leads Samuel from the comforts of his favorite books, foreign films, and classical music to places he’s never been (next door) and to people he might never have met (a neighbor with whom he’s never exchanged a word). Even better, the Catalan cat leads him back to the mysterious Gabriela, whom he thought he’d lost long before, and shows him, in this international bestseller for fans of The Rosie Project, The Solitude of Prime Numbers, and A Man Called Ove, that sometimes love is hiding in the smallest characters.

Francesc Miralles is an award-winning author who has written a number of books, including, with Héctor García, the international bestseller Ikigai: The Japanese Secret to a Long and Happy Life. Born in Barcelona, he studied journalism, English literature, and German, and has worked as an editor, a translator, a ghost-writer, and a musician. Love in Lowercase has been translated into twenty languages.

Credit bundles

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the credit bundle (3, 6, or 12), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

Reviews

One of BuzzFeed’s “10 Books That Will Get You in the Mood on Valentine’s Day”

“A delightfully absurd, life-affirming celebration. I literally stood up and cheered as I read the last page.” —Matthew Quick, New York Times bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook and Love May Fail

“A charming and linguistically witty story about love, language, Barcelona, and cats (!) that will resonate for all of us who agree that life’s journey is one that we must never take alone. Funny and touching, Love in Lowercase is proof that the Butterfly Effect can work on a decidedly human scale. I’ve been asked to blurb a lot of books over the last dozen years or so, and few have I enjoyed as much as this one.” —Mark Dunn, bestselling author of Ella Minnow Pea: A Novel in Letters

“If you don’t like cats, Mishima will change your worldview. If you do like cats, this book is a gift. Read it and fall in love!” —Gwen Cooper, New York Times bestselling author of Homer’s Odyssey

“A lovely little book with nods to literature, philosophy and music that encourages us to wake up to our lives and to the people in them, and to let small coincidences lead us to love.” —BookPage

“Genuinely charming . . . A romance that involves meddlesome cats, fate, and lots of musings on Goethe, Kafka, and Rilke . . . [It] highlight[s] the magic in the ordinary. . . . Samuel, full of awkwardness and good intentions, is an easy protagonist to root for.” —Kirkus Reviews

“[This] endearing romantic comedy should become as big a hit Stateside as it has been elsewhere in the world.” —Publishers Weekly Expand reviews