Skip content
Meredith, Alone by Claire Alexander
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Meredith, Alone

The hopeful and uplifting debut you’ll never forget
Due to publisher restrictions, this audiobook is unavailable for purchase in your selected country.
Narrator Freya Mavor

This audiobook uses AI narration.

We’re taking steps to make sure AI narration is transparent.

Learn more
Length 10 hours 14 minutes
Language English
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Brought to you by Penguin.

Meredith Maggs hasn't left her house in 1,214 days. But she insists she isn't alone . . .

She has her cat Fred. Her friend Sadie visits when she can. There's her online support group, StrengthInNumbers. She has her jigsaws, favourite recipes, her beloved Emily Dickinson, the internet, the Tesco delivery man and her treacherous memories for company.

But something's about to change. Whether Meredith likes it or not, the world is coming to her door . . . Does she have the courage to overcome what's been keeping her inside all this time?

© Claire Alexander 2022 (P) Penguin Audio 2022

Claire Alexander lives with her young family on the west coast of Scotland. A freelance journalist, she has written about parenting, sobriety, mental health and wellbeing for publications including The Washington Post, The Independent, The Huffington Post and Glamour. When she's not writing or parenting, she's on her paddle board, thinking about her next book.

Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Reviews

A beautiful unfolding of a character I was not ready to let go of at the end of this book. Meredith's story is a raw and poignant reflection of what it means to rebuild a life after trauma This affecting, absorbing debut about an agoraphobic sociophobe reminded me of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine A touching novel about family, friendship and being in the world, full of warmth You'll root for Meredith all the way This story tackles difficult subjects, but unfolds beautifully and sensitively. Fans of Gail Honeyman's bestseller Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine will devour it Ultimately a book about hope and the power of friendship. A moving read which will leave you thinking about Meredith - even after you've turned the last page This has real resonance Fans of Eleanor Oliphant will love this big-hearted book [...] Meredith is a wonderful character With a gorgeous cast of characters, this story tackles difficult subjects, and unfolds sensitively. Fans of Eleanor Oliphant [...] will devour it Fans of Eleanor Oliphant will love this big-hearted book . . . Meredith is a wonderful character Spirited, lovely, and full of hope Hugely recommended It's not sugar coated but it's not depressing either, with Alexander finding just the right balance to make this a thought provoking, relatable and uplifting book. With a wonderfully ordinary cast of characters, all of them just trying to do the best they can with the hands they've been dealt, Meredith, Alone celebrates friendship, connection, forgiveness and the healing power of love. Ultimately this is a very human novel with a huge amount of heart Absolute page-turner . . . I loved being in the company of Meredith Utterly joyful I love this book for so many reasons, but mostly for Meredith herself who is both flawed and loveable. Although Meredith Alone is totally unique, it also reminded me of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine in all the best ways Heartbreaking but heart-warming This moving story tackles difficult subjects, but unfolds beautifully and sensitively Heartbreaking and glorious . . . [An] absolute joy of a novel Beautiful . . . A story filled with love and hope, and well-crafted characters Meredith, Alone is beautiful, moving and unexpectedly timely and this time next summer everyone is going to know Claire Alexander's name. It's such a pleasure to spend time in Meredith's world I laughed, I cried, and I bowed down to the brilliant author of this brilliant book A gorgeous, charming novel . . . Sweet, moving, funny and hopeful, with a courageous heroine who sweeps you up in her story I loved Meredith, Alone so much! Touching and funny and sad and hopeful. I have a Meredith shaped hole in my life now I've finished it Thought provoking, relatable and hopeful. Ultimately this is a very human novel with a huge amount of heart Meredith is such a lovely character and will break your heart Absolutely gorgeous. If you like a book that makes you feel all the feels, this is the one to go for Gorgeous. I shed tears. Very, very touching, sweet and hopeful Set to be one of the biggest debuts of the summer . . . Fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine should be prepared to fall in love with Meredith, Alone Meredith is a likeable heroine who you can't help but root for . . . This is a book about hope and the power of friendship Alexander's touching debut is beautifully written and . . . brims with hope and the possibility of happiness. Sensitive, relatable Uplifting . . . there's a balance between darker themes and inspiring, uplifting ones: finding hope when (or where) you least expect it and learning to love yourself For fans of Gail Honeywell's Eleanor Oliphant, Claire Alexander's debut novel is a moving story of finding inner strength and courage to overcome our deepest fears . . . Both heartwarming and heartbreaking, Alexander pulls at the heartstrings as we root for Meredith from the very beginning A novel that examines our most private spaces and what it means to be alone versus lonely, this charming, thought-provoking debut novel will be a big hit A touching contemporary fiction following one woman's journey back into the world A timely and poignant book about trauma, loneliness, and stepping outside of our comfort zones - literally An optimistic, feel-good novel [A] satisfying debut. The endearing characters offer a sensitive portrayal of what it means to live with mental health issues... with heart to spare Expand reviews