Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Share a video about what your bookstore means to you and receive a FREE audiobook.

Learn more
Bookseller Pick
Suggested Reading
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Suggested Reading

By Dave Connis
Narrated by Kyla Garcia / 7 hours 57 minutes

In this hilarious and thought-provoking contemporary teen standalone that’s perfect for fans of Moxie, a bookworm finds a way to fight back when her school bans dozens of classic and meaningful books.

Bookseller recommendation

Suggested Reading

“Suggested Reading by Dave Connis is a quick teen read that surprisingly tackles more serious questions that expected. While the crux of the book centers around censorship, the author digs more deeply into how books affect us, who is responsible for deciding what can shape us, and how to grapple with less-than-altruistic motivations for worthy causes.”

Leaves Book and Tea Shop image Tina, Leaves Book and Tea Shop

Clara Evans is horrified when she discovers her principal’s “prohibited media” hit list. The iconic books on the list have been pulled from the library and aren’t allowed anywhere on the school’s premises. Students caught with the contraband will be sternly punished.

Many of these stories have changed Clara’s life, so she’s not going to sit back and watch while her draconian principal abuses his power. She’s going to strike back.

So Clara starts an underground library in her locker, doing a shady trade in titles like Speak and The Chocolate War. But when one of the books she loves most is connected to a tragedy she never saw coming, Clara’s forced to face her role in it.

Will she be able to make peace with her conflicting feelings, or is fighting for this noble cause too tough for her to bear?

Suggested Reading is a beautiful reminder that there is nothing simple about loving a book.” —David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitoland

Gift

Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Start gifting
 

Suggested Reading is a beautiful reminder that there is nothing simple about loving a book. I suggest you read it.”

David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitoland

“Audiences will fall in love with this genuine and funny exploration of reading as an act of resistance.”

Randy Ribay, author of After the Shot Drops and Patron Saints of Nothing

“Thought-provoking and impossible to put down.”

C. J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author

About the Author

Dave Connis writes words you can sing and words you can read. He lives in Chattanooga, TN, with his wife, three kids (two sons & daughter), and a dog that barks at non-existent threats.When he’s not writing YA, MG, or children’s books, he interprets software-developer-speak as a Technical Writer at Skuid, a startup based out of Chattanooga. He is a member of the Jedi Council, facilities manager at the Sanctum Sanctorum, and a guy with a propensity to daydream whenever he attempts to be an adult.


Reviews

“A timely read that will ultimately prove timeless.”

Kirkus, starred review
Author
Narrator Kyla Garcia
ISBN 9780062987532
Length 7 hours 57 minutes
Language English
Publisher Katherine Tegen Books
Publication date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm rank #3,898 Overall
Genre rank #416 in Young Adult

Share a video about what your bookstore means to you and receive a FREE audiobook.

Learn more