Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Bookseller Pick
Rules for Being a Girl
Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Rules for Being a Girl

By Candace Bushnell & Katie Cotugno
Narrated by Julia Whelan / 6 hours 3 minutes
Bookseller recommendation

If you enjoyed Speak, then you’ll love Rules for Being a Girl.

“Books like this also make me angry. Not because they aren't needed; because they are. Because these things happen every day. But Rules for Being a Girl has me, hook line and sinker. Burn all the rules and smash the patriarchy. This was a fantastic read. Powerful and necessary. A 'Speak' for the modern era, one that addresses the ever more complicated aspect of what it means to report someone in a position of authority without 'evidence' and what it means to decide the rules aren't working anymore. Give me more. Let's keep fighting for those who go unheard.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right

Candace Bushnell, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Sex and the City, and Katie Cotugno, New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days, team up to write a fierce, propulsive novel about a girl who is preyed upon by a manipulative teacher and finds the power to fight back. Perfect for fans of My Dark Vanessa

It starts before you can even remember: You learn the rules for being a girl. . . .

Marin has always been good at navigating these unspoken guidelines. A star student and editor of the school paper, she dreams of getting into Brown University. Marin’s future seems bright—and her young, charismatic English teacher, Mr. Beckett, is always quick to admire her writing and talk books with her.

But when “Bex” takes things too far and comes on to Marin, she’s shocked and horrified. Had she somehow led him on? Was it her fault?

When Marin works up the courage to tell the administration what happened, no one believes her. She’s forced to face Bex in class every day. Except now, he has an ax to grind.

But Marin isn’t about to back down. She uses the school newspaper to fight back and she starts a feminist book club at school. She finds allies—and even romance—in the most unexpected people, like Gray Kendall, who she’d always dismissed as just another lacrosse bro.

As things heat up at school and in her personal life, Marin must figure out how to take back the power and write her own rules.

Gift

Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Start gifting
 
Author &
Narrator Julia Whelan
ISBN 9780062977731
Length 6 hours 3 minutes
Language English
Publisher Balzer + Bray
Publication date
Edition Unabridged
Genres Romance
Libro.fm rank #12,118 Overall
Genre rank #714 in Romance