Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Celebrate Audiobook Month! It’s the perfect time to listen while enjoying summer activities. Learn More
Price:

$6.99 USD

Retail Price (USD): $8.04

Discount: 13%

Get for Free with Membership

We Set the Dark on Fire

By Tehlor Kay Mejia
Narrated by Kyla Garcia / 9 hours 53 minutes
Bookseller Recommendation

We Set the Dark on Fire

“Tehlor Kay Mejia's imaginative LGBTQ YA debut fantasy starts in mythology and ends in open rebellion. In between she builds a culture we know deeply without knowing at all, and characters trapped in consequences of old choices and trying to invent new ones. While the latter speaks to the novel's appeal to YA readers, the former also pulls in adult fantasy fans. That the story's fantasy world is Latinx adds to its complexity - for some readers this will make the world more haunting in its strangeness while for others it will be more haunting in its familiarity. Kyle Garcia's narration is exactly right. A great summer road trip listen!”

Big Blue Marble Bookstore image Elliott, Big Blue Marble Bookstore

We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers.” —NPR.org

“Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality.” —Buzzfeed

Five starred reviews!!

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
YA Club Logo

Current YA Club Audiobook!

Young Adult audiobooks are favorites for both the young and old. The YA Club features the hottest YA audiobooks each month all priced at $10 or less! Plus, it’s free to join and there is no monthly commitment.

Learn More
Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Gift Now
 

Author
Narrator Kyla Garcia
ISBN 9780062907943
Length 9 hours 53 minutes
Language English
Publisher Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm Rank #33 Overall
Genre Rank #2 in Young Adult
 
Celebrate Audiobook Month! It’s the perfect time to listen while enjoying summer activities. Learn More

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener