Get Your First Month for $0.99 Get Started
Refer your friends, get free audiobooks, support local bookstores. Learn More
Price:

$16.09

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

By Rita Williams-Garcia
Narrated by Adam Lazarre-White / 3 hours 44 minutes

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Nominee * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he’s with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can’t wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton’s mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that’s no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather’s brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

"This slim novel strikes a strong chord."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart.” School Library Journal (starred review)

"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." —The Horn Book (starred review)

"Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words.” —Booklist (starred review)

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift this Audiobook

Simply email this audiobook to a friend or print a certificate for later. Either way, your gift supports local bookstores and lets you share a story with the touch of a button.

 

Author
Narrator Adam Lazarre-White
ISBN 9780062682581
Length 3 hours 44 minutes
Language English
Publisher HarperCollins
Publication Date
Abridged No
 

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener