Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more

2021 Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award celebrating & honoring fiction written by women. This year’s longlist honors both new and well-established writers and a range of genres and themes—family (twins and siblings, mother-daughter relationships); motherhood; rural poverty and isolation; addiction; identity and belonging; race and class; grief and happiness; coming-of-age and later life.

Playlist Tags: awards: womens prize for fiction

View all playlists

Burnt Sugar

By Avni Doshi
Narrated by: Sneha Mathan
Length: 8 hours 35 minutes

Shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, a searing literary debut novel set in India about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal “I would be lying if I said my mother’s misery has never given me pleasure,” says Antara, Tara’s now-adult daughter. This is a love story and a story about betrayal—not between lovers but between a mother and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Consent

A novel

By Annabel Lyon
Narrated by: Alison Matthews
Length: 6 hours 6 minutes

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE
LONGLISTED FOR THE GILLER PRIZE

From "this generation's answer to Alice Munro" (Vancouver Sun) comes a sly, sensual, haunting novel about two women whose lives collide when tragedy changes them forever.


Saskia and Jenny are twins alike in appearance only: Saskia is a grad student with a single-minded focus on her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Detransition, Baby

A Novel

By Torrey Peters
Narrated by: Renata Friedman
Length: 12 hours 31 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE • “An unforgettable portrait of three women, trans and cis, who wrestle with questions of motherhood and family making . . . Detransition, Baby might destroy your book club, but in a good way.”—Andrea Lawlor, author of Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl
 
“A tale of love, loss, and self-discovery as singular as it... Read more »

Audiobook details

Exciting Times

A Novel

By Naoise Dolan
Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 6 hours 55 minutes

“This debut novel about an Irish expat millennial teaching English and finding romance in Hong Kong is half Sally Rooney love triangle, half glitzy Crazy Rich Asians high living—and guaranteed to please.” —Vogue 

AN ANTICIPATED BOOK FROM:
Vogue * Elle * O, the Oprah Magazine * Esquire * Harper's Bazaar * PopSugar * LitHub

An intimate, bracingly... Read more »

Audiobook details

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

A Novel

By Cherie Jones
Narrated by: Danielle Vitalis
Length: 8 hours 41 minutes

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a debut novel, set in Barbados, about four people confronting violence and love in a beachfront “paradise”

In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister, a cautionary tale about what happens to girls who disobey their mothers and go into the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Luster

A Novel

By Raven Leilani
Narrated by: Ariel Blake
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

Luster

“Twenty-something Edie is struggling to find her place in the world. She's flailing, moving between jobs and out of her apartment, into her lover's home. But, she is the mistress, faced with the reality that the open relationship she entered isn't everything she thought - but it's the best she can find. As Edie's loyalties to her lover subside she really begins to find a home with his wife and daughter. Leilani examines intricate relationships, identity as an artist, and coming into your own in the complex, thrilling web that is Luster.”

Avid Bookshop image Christy, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

No One Is Talking About This

A Novel

By Patricia Lockwood
Narrated by: Kristen Sieh
Length: 4 hours 43 minutes

No One Is Talking About This

“Patricia Lackwood's Priestdaddy is one of my favorite memoirs of all time, so I knew I just HAD to get my hands on her debut novel. As expected it's weird and quirky as hell, a tad inappropriate but makes you literally LOL. She creates a plot through a constellation of nebulous observations and witticisms that, as I said, is expected from her. And the narrator's voice drips with that certain sarcasm that is perfectly in line with Lockwood's. What I did NOT expect, however, is for these drifting sentiments and sediments to suddenly unify as one sharp needle point at the book's climax and rip out my still-beating heart. The audacity of Patricia Lockwood! After I was done ugly crying, I was able to take a step back and truly appreciate how marvelous this book really is. Do yourself a favor and just read it.”

BookBar image Conner, BookBar
Audiobook details

Summer

Seasonal Quartet: Book #4

By Ali Smith
Narrated by: Juliette Burton
Length: 9 hours 26 minutes

In the present, Sacha knows the worlds in trouble. Her brother Robert just is trouble. Their mother and father are having trouble. Meanwhile, the worlds in meltdownand the real meltdown hasnt even started yet. In the past, a lovely summer. A different brother and sister know theyre living on borrowed time. This is a story about people on the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

The Vanishing Half

A Novel

By Brit Bennett
Narrated by: Shayna Small
Length: 11 hours 33 minutes

The Vanishing Half

“The Vanishing Half may go down as one of my favorite books of all time. Brit Bennett's narrative style is engrossing, the constant shift in timeline beyond compelling. But more than that, this is a book that deals with so much - racism, colorism & passing, sexism & domestic abuse, trans rights, family dynamics... the list goes on - with unbelievable nuance and empathy. A timely, complex, mysterious (and romantic) epic, The Vanishing Half is a force to be reckoned with. A must read for all - but especially worth consideration for book clubs and classroom reading lists.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

Transcendent Kingdom

A novel

By Yaa Gyasi
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 8 hours 40 minutes

Transcendent Kingdom

“This is a flippin’ gorgeous book. The writing is exquisite, the story is moving, and the characters are rendered with the skill of a true artist. Can you tell that I enjoyed this? Transcendent Kingdom is about Gifty, a young neuroscientist studying addiction. We come into her story just as she has taken her depressed mother into her care and is wrapping up an experiment. We see how her relationships with her mother, faith, and science have brought her to this point. If you need a book that is heartfelt and honest, read this one.”

Off the Beaten Path image Izzy, Off the Beaten Path
Audiobook details

Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more