Skip content
Get two free audiobooks AND support local bookstores Make the switch
Bookseller Created
The Vancouver Writers Fest
All playlists

The Vancouver Writers Fest

Included in this playlist are titles from authors, poets, and thinkers from across the globe who are appearing at this year’s Vancouver Writers Fest.

Greenwood

A Novel

By: Michael Christie
Narrated by: Kimberly Farr
Length: 18 hours 47 minutes

“Family bonds can be tenuous and mysterious. Greenwood by Michael Christie explores those bonds through four generations spanning the century from 1934 to 2034. Christie paints characters troubled by the world around them and by demons within themselves. But almost every one of these characters also lives with deep hope and convictions.... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

We Contain Multitudes

By: Sarah Henstra
Narrated by: Matthew Gouveia & Tony Kim
Length: 9 hours 15 minutes

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe meets I'll Give You the Sun in an exhilarating and emotional novel about the growing relationship between two teens boys, told through the letters they write to one another.
Jonathan Hopkirk and Adam "Kurl" Kurlansky are partnered in English class, writing letters to one another in a weekly... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali

By: Sabina Khan
Length: 8 hours 31 minutes

With a welcome mix of humor, heart, and high-stakes drama, Sabina Khan provides a timely and honest portrait of what it's like to grow up feeling unwelcome in your own culture.Praise for The Love and Lies of Rukhsana AliFeatured on NBC News and the BBCA Junior Library Guild SelectionA Teen Indie Next List Pick (IndieBound)An Amazon Best... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch

Dual Citizens

A novel

By: Alix Ohlin
Narrated by: Thérèse Plummer
Length: 9 hours 43 minutes

A Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalist

Raised in Montreal by their disinterested single mother, half-sisters Lark and Robin form a fierce team in spite of their differences. When Lark flees to America to attend college, her sister soon joins her.But even as Lark discovers a calling working in documentary film, she struggles with self-doubt, and Robin... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

I Become a Delight to My Enemies

By: Sara Peters
Narrated by: Angela Asher, Amanda Cordner, Tess Degenstein, Pearl Harbour, Maggie Huculak, Pam Hyatt, Jani Lauzon, Justin Miller, Amy Nostbakken, Paloma Nuñez, Norah Sadava, Amelia Sargisson, Nicole Stamp & Michaela Washburn
Length: 2 hours 42 minutes

Dark, cutting, and coursed through with bright flashes of humour, crystalline imagery, and razor-sharp detail, I Become a Delight to My Enemies is a gut-wrenchingly powerful, breathtakingly beautiful meditation on the violence and shame inflicted on the female body and psyche.

An experimental fiction, I Become a Delight to My Enemies uses many... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Farm

A Novel

By: Joanne Ramos
Narrated by: Fran de Leon
Length: 13 hours 53 minutes

“The Farm was eerily haunting and a bit too real at times while being a captivating page turner. Ramos describes women from different backgrounds all with the the need or desire for a better life, all subjecting themselves to be "Hosts" for mysterious clients who would rather pay top dollar than go through with pregnancy themselves. Providing a... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Your Life is Mine

A Novel

By: Nathan Ripley
Narrated by: Candace Thaxton & Corey Brill
Length: 7 hours 37 minutes

Instant national bestseller Nathan Ripley follows up the success of Find You in the Dark with another suspenseful page-turnerthis time about a woman whose notorious father died when she was a child, but whose legacy comes back to haunt her.

Blanche Potter never expected to face her past again—but she can’t escape it.

Blanche, an up-and-coming... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Bina

A Novel in Warnings

By: Anakana Schofield
Narrated by: Anakana Schofield
Length: 5 hours 28 minutes

The extraordinary bestselling novel from the acclaimed writer whose previous book, Martin John, was shortlisted for the Giller Prize, and whose debut, Malarky, won the Amazon First Novel Award.

"My name is Bina and I'm a very busy woman. That's Bye-na, not Beena. I don't know who Beena is, but I expect she's having a happy life. I don't know who... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

This One Looks Like a Boy

My Gender Journey to Life as a Man

By: Lorimer Shenher
Narrated by: Lorimer Shenher
Length: 7 hours 39 minutes

Inspiring and honest, this unique memoir of gender transition and coming-of-age proves it’s never too late to find your true identity.Since he was a small child, Lorimer Shenher knew something for certain: he was a boy. The problem was, he was growing up in a girl’s body.In this candid and thoughtful memoir, Shenher shares the story of his... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Bird King

By: G. Willow Wilson
Narrated by: Elmira Rahim
Length: 14 hours 8 minutes

“Fatima is a concubine of the sultan of the last emirate in the Iberian Peninsula to submit to the Spanish Inquisition. When her dearest friend, Hassan, a mapmaker who can map places he has never seen (and that do not always exist), is singled out by the Inquisition, she flees with him and a jinn, following the trail of the elusive and mythical... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Thousand Small Sanities

The Moral Adventure of Liberalism

By: Adam Gopnik
Narrated by: Adam Gopnik
Length: 7 hours 27 minutes

A stirring defense of liberalism against the dogmatisms of our time from an award-winning and New York Times bestselling author.
Not since the early twentieth century has liberalism, and liberals, been under such relentless attack, from both right and left. The crisis of democracy in our era has produced a crisis of faith in liberal institutions... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Idiot

By: Elif Batuman
Narrated by: Elif Batuman
Length: 13 hours 39 minutes

“Batuman's voice is bitingly original and her protagonist, Selin, brings vitality to the pages through her odd, serious, and slightly sardonic naivete. The honesty of Selin's self-exploration during her first year at Harvard struck a chord with me. Her frank sense of observation as she navigates first love, friendship, and freshman year are a... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Daughter's Tale

A Novel

By: Armando Lucas Correa
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 9 hours 8 minutes

From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable, “searing” (People) saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.

Seven decades of secrets unravel with the arrival of a... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

An Orchestra of Minorities

By: Chigozie Obioma
Narrated by: Chukwudi Iwuji
Length: 18 hours 8 minutes

A heartbreaking story about a Nigerian poultry farmer who sacrifices everything to win the woman he loves, by Man Booker Finalist and author of The Fishermen, Chigozie Obioma.

"It is more than a superb and tragic novel; it's a historical treasure."-Boston Globe

Set on the outskirts of Umuahia, Nigeria and narrated by a chi, or guardian spirit,... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Arrangement

By: Robyn Harding
Narrated by: Amanda Dolan
Length: 9 hours 15 minutes

A Pretty Woman tale turns toxic and deadly in this provocative thriller of sex, obsession, and murder from Robyn Harding, the “master of domestic suspense” (Kathleen Barber) and the USA TODAY bestselling author of The Swap and Her Pretty Face.

Natalie, a young art student in New York City, is struggling to pay her bills when a friend makes a... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Get two free audiobooks AND support local bookstores Make the switch