Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Gift any 3, 6, or 12 month audiobook membership and get Circe for Free! Learn More

The Vancouver Writers Fest

Included in this playlist are titles from authors, poets, and thinkers from across the globe who are appearing at this year’s Vancouver Writers Fest.

Greenwood

A Novel
By Michael Christie

A magnificent generational saga that charts a family’s rise and fall, its secrets and inherited crimes, and the conflicted relationship with the source of its fortune—trees—from one of Canada’s most acclaimed novelists

It’s 2038 and Jacinda (Jake) Greenwood is a storyteller and a liar, an overqualified tour guide babysitting ultra-rich... Read More »

Price:

$35.00 USD

Available for Pre-Order

Publication Date: February 25, 2020

The Innocents

By Michael Crummey
Narrated by Mary Lewis /  9 hours 2 minutes

**FINALIST FOR THE 2019 SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE**
**FINALIST FOR THE 2019 GOVERNOR GENERAL'S LITERARY AWARD**
**FINALIST FOR THE 2019 ROGERS WRITERS' TRUST FICTION PRIZE**
**NATIONAL BESTSELLER**

Crummey's novel has the capacity to change the way the reader sees the world
—Scotiabank Giller Prize Jury Citation 

From bestselling, award-winning author... Read More »

Price:

$34.93 USD

Get for Free with Membership

A Mind Spread Out on the Ground

By Alicia Elliott
Narrated by Alicia Elliott /  6 hours 36 minutes

A bold and profound meditation on trauma, legacy, oppression and racism in North America from award-winning Haudenosaunee writer Alicia Elliott.

In an urgent and visceral work that asks essential questions about the treatment of Native people in North America while drawing on intimate details of her own life and experience with intergenerational... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

My Parents / This Does Not Belong to You

By Aleksandar Hemon
Narrated by Jeremy Arthur /  8 hours 43 minutes

An intimate portrait of immigration, family, and the heartbreaking (and sometimes hilarious) things that happen along the way from the author Colum McCann calls "the greatest writer of our generation."

In My Parents, Aleksandar Hemon tells the story of his parents' immigration from Bosnia to Canada--of the lives that were upended in the Siege of... Read More »

Price:

$41.22 USD

Get for Free with Membership

We Contain Multitudes

By Sarah Henstra
Narrated by Matthew Gouveia & Tony Kim /  9 hours 15 minutes

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe meets I'll Give You the Sun in an exhilarating and emotional novel about the growing relationship between two teens boys, told through the letters they write to one another.
Jonathan Hopkirk and Adam "Kurl" Kurlansky are partnered in English class, writing letters to one another in a... Read More »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Aria

By Nazanine Hozar
Narrated by Neeky Dalir /  13 hours 26 minutes

National Bestseller

This extraordinary, gripping debut is a rags-to-riches-to-revolution tale about an orphan girl's coming of age in Iran.

"Aria is a feminist odyssey, about a girl in a time of intolerance as the revolution in Iran is breaking out . . . a poised and dramatic historical novel with contemporary relevance." --John Irving

"Here comes...
Read More »

Price:

$32.13 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Peace and Good Order

The Case for Indigenous Justice in Canada
By Harold R. Johnson
Narrated by Craig Lauzon /  3 hours 11 minutes

An urgent, informed, intimate condemnation of the Canadian state and its failure to deliver justice to Indigenous people by national bestselling author and former Crown prosecutor Harold R. Johnson.

"The night of the decision in the Gerald Stanley trial for the murder of Colten Boushie, I received a text message from a retired provincial court... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali

By Sabina Khan
Narrated by Richa Shukla /  8 hours 31 minutes

With a welcome mix of humor, heart, and high-stakes drama, Sabina Khan provides a timely and honest portrait of what it's like to grow up feeling unwelcome in your own culture.

Seventeen-year-old Rukhsana Ali tries her hardest to live up to her conservative Muslim parents' expectations, but lately she's finding that impossible to do. She rolls... Read More »

Price:

$27.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Dual Citizens

A novel
By Alix Ohlin
Narrated by Thérèse Plummer /  9 hours 43 minutes

Shortlisted for the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize

"Evocative . . . traces [its] characters over long arcs of time and place with equal amounts grace and wit. Most revelatory is the way that each [sister] fights to find her own life as an artist outside the expectations of others and the demands of a male-dominated world." --Vogue

A masterful...
Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Hello I Want to Die Please Fix Me

Depression in the First Person
By Anna Mehler Paperny
Narrated by Tess Degenstein /  11 hours 33 minutes

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Award-winning journalist Anna Mehler Paperny's stunning memoir chronicles with courageous honesty and uncommon eloquence her experience of depression and her quest to explore what we know and don't know about this disease that afflicts almost a fifth of the population--providing an invaluable guide to a system struggling to...
Read More »

Price:

$36.40 USD

Get for Free with Membership

I Become a Delight to My Enemies

By Sara Peters
Narrated by Angela Asher, Amanda Cordner, Tess Degenstein & Various /  2 hours 42 minutes

Dark, cutting, and coursed through with bright flashes of humour, crystalline imagery, and razor-sharp detail, I Become a Delight to My Enemies is a gut-wrenchingly powerful, breathtakingly beautiful meditation on the violence and shame inflicted on the female body and psyche.

An experimental fiction, I Become a Delight to My Enemies uses many... Read More »

Price:

$25.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Farm

A Novel
By Joanne Ramos
Narrated by Fran de Leon /  13 hours 53 minutes

The Farm

“The Farm was eerily haunting and a bit too real at times while being a captivating page turner. Ramos describes women from different backgrounds all with the the need or desire for a better life, all subjecting themselves to be "Hosts" for mysterious clients who would rather pay top dollar than go through with pregnancy themselves. Providing a chilling view into the possibilities of farming humans, Ramos explores the commodification of women's wombs... is this luxury resort and large paycheck worth the costs of maintaining the facade. If you liked The Handmaid's Tale, you will like this book.”

Content image Emma, Content
Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Your Life is Mine

A Novel
By Nathan Ripley
Narrated by Candace Thaxton & Corey Brill /  7 hours 37 minutes

Instant national bestseller Nathan Ripley follows up the success of Find You in the Dark with another suspenseful page-turnerthis time about a woman whose notorious father died when she was a child, but whose legacy comes back to haunt her.

Blanche Potter never expected to face her past again—but she can’t escape it.

Blanche, an up-and-coming... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Bina

A Novel in Warnings
By Anakana Schofield
Narrated by Anakana Schofield /  5 hours 28 minutes

The extraordinary bestselling novel from the acclaimed writer whose previous book, Martin John, was shortlisted for the Giller Prize, and whose debut, Malarky, won the Amazon First Novel Award.

"My name is Bina and I'm a very busy woman. That's Bye-na, not Beena. I don't know who Beena is but I expect she's having a happy life. I don't know who... Read More »

Price:

$38.57 USD

Get for Free with Membership

This One Looks Like a Boy

My Gender Journey to Life as a Man
By Lorimer Shenher
Narrated by Lorimer Shenher /  7 hours 39 minutes

Inspiring and honest, this unique memoir of gender transition and coming-of-age proves it’s never too late to find your true identity.


Since he was a small child, Lorimer Shenher knew something for certain: he was a boy. The problem was, he was growing up in a girl’s body.


In this candid and thoughtful memoir, Shenher shares the story of his... Read More »

Price:

$26.95 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Bird King

By G. Willow Wilson
Narrated by Elmira Rahim /  14 hours 8 minutes

The Bird King

“Fatima is a concubine of the sultan of the last emirate in the Iberian Peninsula to submit to the Spanish Inquisition. When her dearest friend, Hassan, a mapmaker who can map places he has never seen (and that do not always exist), is singled out by the Inquisition, she flees with him and a jinn, following the trail of the elusive and mythical Bird King, who may or may not be able to grant them sanctuary. Wilson’s latest novel is rich with the historical detail, lush description, and fantastical elements that we have come to know and love from her. A story of resistance, freedom, seeking, and strength, and a true fable for our times.”

University Book Store image Anna Eklund, University Book Store
Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

A Thousand Small Sanities

The Moral Adventure of Liberalism
By Adam Gopnik
Narrated by Adam Gopnik /  7 hours 27 minutes

The New York Times-bestselling author offers a stirring defense of liberalism against the dogmatisms of our time

Not since the early twentieth century has liberalism, and liberals, been under such relentless attack, from both right and left. The crisis of democracy in our era has produced a crisis of faith in liberal institutions and, even... Read More »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Idiot

By Elif Batuman
Narrated by Elif Batuman /  13 hours 39 minutes

The Idiot

“Batuman's voice is bitingly original and her protagonist, Selin, brings vitality to the pages through her odd, serious, and slightly sardonic naivete. The honesty of Selin's self-exploration during her first year at Harvard struck a chord with me. Her frank sense of observation as she navigates first love, friendship, and freshman year are a breath of fresh air. I have not read anything quite like The Idiot and I doubt I will again. I loved it.”

Astoria Bookshop image Kisky Holwerda, Astoria Bookshop
Price:

$35.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Daughter's Tale

A Novel
By Armando Lucas Correa
Narrated by Cassandra Campbell /  9 hours 8 minutes

From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable, “searing” (People) saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.

Seven decades of secrets unravel with the arrival of a... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

An Orchestra of Minorities

By Chigozie Obioma
Narrated by Chukwudi Iwuji /  18 hours 8 minutes

The "superb and tragic" Booker Prize finalist about a Nigerian poultry farmer who sacrifices everything to win the woman he loves, by the author of The Fishermen (Boston Globe)
Set on the outskirts of Umuahia, Nigeria and narrated by a chi, or guardian spirit, AN ORCHESTRA OF MINORITIES tells the story of Chinonso, a young poultry farmer... Read More »

Price:

$29.88 USD

Get for Free with Membership
Get Circe Free with Gift Membership Purchase Learn More