Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more

Audiobooks by Trans Authors

Happy Trans Day of Visibility! International Transgender Day of Visibility is an annual event occurring on March 31 dedicated to celebrating transgender people and raising awareness of discrimination faced by transgender people worldwide, as well as a celebration of their contributions to society.

Playlist Tags: topic: lgbtqa topic: transgender

View all playlists

Sasha Masha

By Agnes Borinsky
Narrated by: Agnes Borinsky
Length: 3 hours 30 minutes

Sasha Masha

Sasha Masha is an #OwnVoices queer coming-of-age story featuring Alex, who might be trans. By the end of the story, he’s not sure of his pronouns, but he knows his name—it’s Sasha Masha. Sasha Masha, who wears dresses and lipstick and dances and feels beautiful. This book—warm and sweet, with a few cringe-worthy high school stumbles that turn out okay—is a glimpse into how Alex lets Sasha Masha come through. It illustrates especially how unconditionally loving and accepting queer people can be of each other. I loved Agnes Borinsky’s natural writing style, which was made even better when read in her voice.”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

Pet

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by: Christopher Myers
Length: 5 hours 32 minutes

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST
STONEWALL BOOK AWARD WINNER

"[A] beautiful, genre-expanding debut. . . . Pet is a nesting doll of creative possibilities." -The New York Times

The award-winning, genre-defying novel by the New York Times bestselling author of THE DEATH OF VIVEK OJI that explores themes of identity and justice and asks: How do you share...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Victories Greater Than Death

Unstoppable: Book #1

By Charlie Jane Anders
Narrated by: Hynden Walch
Length: 12 hours 45 minutes

Buckle up your seatbelt for Victories Greater Than Death, a thrilling YA sci-fi adventure set against an intergalactic war from internationally bestselling author Charlie Jane Anders.

This program includes a bonus interview with the author.

Outsmart Your Enemies. Outrun the Galaxy.

“Just please, remember what I told you. Run. Don’t stop running...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Detransition, Baby

A Novel

By Torrey Peters
Narrated by: Renata Friedman
Length: 12 hours 31 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE • “An unforgettable portrait of three women, trans and cis, who wrestle with questions of motherhood and family making . . . Detransition, Baby might destroy your book club, but in a good way.”—Andrea Lawlor, author of Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl
 
“A tale of love, loss, and self-discovery as singular as it... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Thirty Names of Night

A Novel

By Zeyn Joukhadar
Narrated by: Samy Figaredo & Lameece Issaq
Length: 9 hours 29 minutes

The Thirty Names of Night

“Since the death of his ornithologist mother in a fire five years ago, Nadir, a young, closeted trans man, has lived with and cared for his grandmother. Struggling with his mother’s death and his identity, he begins a quest to validate her sighting of a rare bird, so rare that only two others have claimed to have seen it and most ornithologists deny its existence. One of the people known to have documented the bird and allegedly painted it, is a mysterious artist who disappeared many years ago, Laila Z. In his quest to find the painting, Nadir discovers a notebook kept by Laila Z, and within that notebook, he learns secrets linking her with his family before both his grandparents and Laila Z immigrated to the United States from Syria. His quest to vindicate his mother parallels his journey to better know himself and to begin to live freely and openly. In this captivating story of three generations, told by Nadir and Laila Z, Joukhadar explores the need to know oneself, to belong, to be seen and accepted and loved. ”

Raven Book Store image Nancy, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

Cemetery Boys

By Aiden Thomas
Narrated by: Avi Roque
Length: 13 hours 47 minutes

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author.

A trans boy determined to prove his gender to his traditional Latinx family summons a ghost who refuses to leave in Aiden Thomas's paranormal YA debut Cemetery Boys, described by Entertainment Weekly as "groundbreaking
."

Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can't get rid of him.

When... Read more »

Audiobook details

Stay Gold

By Tobly McSmith
Narrated by: Theo Germaine & Phoebe Strole
Length: 9 hours 19 minutes

Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

Pony just wants to fly under the radar... Read more »

Audiobook details

Between Perfect and Real

By Ray Stoeve
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson
Length: 7 hours 24 minutes

A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding his voice—and himself. Dean Foster knows he’s a trans guy. He’s watched enough YouTube videos and done enough questioning to be sure. But everyone at his high school thinks he’s a lesbian—including his girlfriend Zoe, and his theater director, who just cast him as a “nontraditional” Romeo. He wonders... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

Transgender History, second edition

The Roots of Today's Revolution
Seal Studies

By Susan Stryker
Narrated by: Emily Cauldwell
Length: 7 hours 49 minutes

Covering American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, Transgender History takes a chronological approach to the subject of transgender history, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events. Chapters cover the transsexual and transvestite communities in the years following World War II; trans... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ana on the Edge

By A. J. Sass
Narrated by: Diane Chen
Length: 7 hours 6 minutes

For fans of George and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, a heartfelt coming of age story about a nonbinary character navigating a binary world.

Twelve-year-old Ana-Marie Jin, the reigning US Juvenile figure skating champion, is not a frilly dress kind of kid. So, when Ana learns that next season's program will be princess themed, doubt forms... Read more »

Audiobook details

I'm Afraid of Men

By Vivek Shraya
Narrated by: Vivek Shraya
Length: 1 hours 26 minutes

Named a Best Book by: The Globe and Mail, Indigo, Out Magazine, Audible, CBC, Apple, Quill & Quire, Kirkus Reviews, Brooklyn Public Library, Writers’ Trust of Canada, Autostraddle, Bitch, and BookRiot.

Finalist for the 2019 Lambda Literary Award, Transgender Nonfiction
Nominated for the 2019 Forest of Reading Evergreen Award
Winner of the...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Felix Ever After

By Kacen Callender
Narrated by: Logan Rozos
Length: 8 hours 23 minutes

From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.

Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and why it seems so easy... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Elusive Bride

Black Cobra Quartet: Book #2

By Stephanie Laurens
Narrated by: Simon Prebble
Length: 14 hours 16 minutes

Stephanie Laurens, the phenomenal New York Times bestselling superstar is back with The Elusive Bride—the second book in her magnificent Black Cobra Quartet. Never before in print, this masterful blend of passion and intrigue follows The Untamed Bride, the first in the four-part historical romance series that Booklist calls, “fabulously... Read more »

Audiobook details

Any Man of Mine

Chinooks Hockey Team: Book #6

By Rachel Gibson
Narrated by: Kathe Mazur
Length: 7 hours 24 minutes

“Rachel does it again! A fun, steamy story.”
—Carly Phillips, New York Times bestselling author

What happens in Vegas doesn’t always stay there, as New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Rachel Gibson delightfully demonstrates in her smart and sexy romance, Any Man of Mine. The story of a successful wedding planner whose world is turned... Read more »

Audiobook details

Summer Is for Lovers

Second Sons: Book #2

By Jennifer McQuiston
Narrated by: Lana J. Weston
Length: 12 hours 58 minutes

His heart is unavailable. Luckily, her interest lies in the rest of him . . .

Though she was just a girl when they first met, Caroline Tolbertson's infatuation with David Cameron remains undimmed. Now fate has brought the handsome Scotsman back to Brighton for what promises to be an unforgettable summer. Soon, Caroline will have to choose a... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Scandal in Kissing an Heir

At the Kingsborough Ball
At the Kingsborough Ball: Book #2

By Sophie Barnes
Narrated by: Susan Duerden
Length: 10 hours 22 minutes

He is the next Marquess of  Wolvington . . .

She is a lady with nothing but beauty and wits . . .

Together they share a forbidden kiss .

Lady Rebecca is determined to find a husband on her own terms, rather than marry any of the aging suitors her greedy aunt and uncle foist upon her. Her chance comes at the Kingsborough Ball, where she meets... Read more »

Audiobook details

Half Moon Hill

A Destiny Novel
Destiny series: Book #6

By Toni Blake
Narrated by: Jennifer Bradshaw
Length: 13 hours 28 minutes

You never know what destiny has in store . . .

A rugged loner and ex-biker-gang member, Duke Dawson is looking for some peace and quiet while recovering from an accident. But when Anna Romo comes wandering through his woods and into his cabin, she completely rocks his world. The last thing he expected or wanted was to find himself hungering after... Read more »

Audiobook details

Be With Me

A Novel
Wait for You Saga: Book #2

By J. Lynn
Narrated by: Sophie Eastlake
Length: 12 hours 1 minutes

New York Times Bestseller

From the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Wait for You

Do Teresa and Jase have a real shot at getting together or will life get in the way?

Teresa Hamilton is having a rough year—she's in love with her big brother's best friend, but he hasn't spoken to her since they shared a truly amazing, mind-blowing,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Rebound

A Boomerang Novel
A Boomerang Novel: Book #2

By Noelle August
Narrated by: Dahlia Salem & Vikas Adam
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

Hooking up is only the beginning of the fun in this sexy and irresistible second installment of the thrilling New Adult series, Boomerang.

At Boomerang, one night can change everything…

Adam Blackwood has it all. At twenty-two, he’s fabulously wealthy, Ryan Gosling-hot and at the top of his game in the business world. His life is perfect, until a... Read more »

Audiobook details

All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue

The Debutante Files
The Debutante Files

By Sophie Jordan
Narrated by: Carmen Rose
Length: 7 hours 59 minutes

USA Today Bestseller

First friends, then enemies . . .

Lady Aurelia hasn't always hated Max, Viscount Camden, her brother's best friend. In fact, as a besotted girl, she thrived under his kind attention— sure that he was the most noble and handsome man in the land. Until her young heart discovered what manner of rogue he really was. Now, though... Read more »

Audiobook details

Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more