Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more

Tear Jerkers for Kids

Sometimes you just need a good cry. These books will give you all the feels.

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's mood: sad audience: kids audience: middle grade mood: tear jerker audience: tweens

View all playlists

Bridge to Terabithia

By Katherine Paterson
Narrated by: Robert Sean Leonard
Length: 3 hours 30 minutes

This beloved Newbery Medal-winning novel by bestselling author Katherine Paterson is a modern classic of friendship and loss. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Jess Aarons has been... Read more »

Audiobook details

Old Yeller

By Fred Gipson
Narrated by: Peter Francis James
Length: 3 hours 30 minutes

Awarded the Newbery Honor

When a novel like Huckleberry Finn, or The Yearling, comes along it defies customary adjectives because of the intensity of the respouse it evokes in the reader. Such a book, we submit, is Old Yeller; to read this eloquently simple story of a boy and his dog in the Texas hill country is an unforgettable and deeply movin Read more »g...
Audiobook details

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

By Kate DiCamillo
Narrated by: Judith Ivey
Length: 1 hours 56 minutes

"Someone will come for you, but first you must open your heart. . . ."

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: he was owned by a girl named Abilene, who treated him with the utmost care and adored him completely.

And then, one day, he was lost.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Where the Red Fern Grows

By Wilson Rawls
Narrated by: Anthony Heald
Length: 6 hours 54 minutes

A beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man’s best friend.
 
Billy has long dreamt of owning not one, but two, dogs. So when he’s finally able to save up enough money for two pups to call his own—Old Dan and Little Ann—he’s ecstatic. It doesn’t matter that times are tough; together they’ll roam the hills of the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Number the Stars

By Lois Lowry
Narrated by: Blair Brown
Length: 2 hours 46 minutes

Ten-year-old Annemarie Johansen and her best friend Ellen Rosen often think of life before the war. It's now 1943 and their life in Copenhagen is filled with school, food shortages, and the Nazi soldiers marching through town. When the Jews of Denmark are "relocated," Ellen moves in with the Johansens and pretends to be one of the family. Soon... Read more »

Audiobook details

Counting by 7s

By Holly Goldberg Sloan
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 7 hours 14 minutes

A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to... Read more »

Audiobook details

One for the Murphys

By Lynda Mullaly Hunt
Narrated by: Nora Hunter
Length: 5 hours 29 minutes

A moving debut novel about a foster child learning to open her heart to a family's love

Carley uses humor and street smarts to keep her emotional walls high and thick. But the day she becomes a foster child, and moves in with the Murphys, she's blindsided. This loving, bustling family shows Carley the stable family life she never thought existed,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Tuck Everlasting

By Natalie Babbitt
Narrated by: Peter Thomas
Length: 3 hours 31 minutes

When ten-year-old Winnie Foster stumbles upon the Tuck family's disturbing secret, she is forced to come to terms with her conflicting emotions. She feels drawn to the loving, gentle and rather eccentric Tucks, but what they tell her is too incredible to be believed. Doomed to—or blessed with—eternal life after drinking from a magic spring,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

Wonder

By R. J. Palacio
Narrated by: Diana Steele, Nick Podehl & Kate Rudd
Length: 8 hours 6 minutes

Kindness brings us together no matter how far apart we are. Millions of people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement, a major motion picture, and the critically acclaimed graphic novel White Bird.

I won't... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Thing About Jellyfish

By Ali Benjamin
Narrated by: Sarah Franco
Length: 5 hours 20 minutes

This stunning debut novel about grief and wonder was an instant New York Times bestseller and captured widespread critical acclaim, including selection as a 2015 National Book Award finalist!

After her best friend dies in a drowning accident, Suzy is convinced that the true cause of the tragedy must have been a rare jellyfish sting--things... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Seventh Most Important Thing

By Shelley Pearsall
Narrated by: Nick Podehl
Length: 5 hours 37 minutes

This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.

Arthur T. Owens grabbed a brick and hurled it at the trash picker. Arthur had his reasons, and the brick hit the Junk Man in the arm, not the head. But none of that matters to the... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Velveteen Rabbit

Or How Toys Become Real

By Margery Williams
Narrated by: Donna Terrence
Length: 26 minutes

"What is real?" asked the Rabbit one day, when they were lying side by side in the nursery. "When a child loves you for a long, long time," replied the Skin Horse, "not just to play with, but really loves you, then you become real." The Rabbit sighed. He longed to become real.... After almost being forgotten on Christmas Day, the stuffed... Read more »

Audiobook details

Little Women

Little Women

By Louisa May Alcott
Narrated by: Susie Berneis
Length: 19 hours 9 minutes

Based loosely on Louisa May Alcott's own upbringing, Little Women follows the lives of four sisters - Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy March. Each girl has a vision of what their ideal future will bring, though ultimately experiencing, as most young do, something completely different. Little Women, originally written as two volumes, was a great commercial... Read more »

Audiobook details

Charlotte's Web

By E. B. White & Melissa Sweet
Narrated by: Meryl Streep, Full Cast, January LaVoy, Kirby Heyborne, MacLeod Andrews, Emily Rankin, Kimberly Farr, Mark Deakins, Lincoln Hoppe, Tavia Gilbert, Robin Miles, Cassandra Campbell & Danny Campbell
Length: 4 hours 2 minutes

Brought to life by Meryl Streep and a full cast, this beloved book by E. B. White, author of Stuart Little and The Trumpet of the Swan, is a classic of children's literature that is "just about perfect."*

Some Pig. Humble. Radiant. These are the words in Charlotte's Web, high up in Zuckerman's barn. Charlotte's spider web tells of her feelings... Read more »

Audiobook details

Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more