Get Your First Month for Free Get Started

Sun Valley Writers' Conference

For four days, SVWC writers and readers laugh and learn, hike and talk, and stretch the limits of their imagination. The days are filled with books, ideas, stimulation and fun. Extraordinary writers and thinkers talk with an engaged audience about their work, the world, and discuss why literature matters.

The Perfectionists

How Precision Engineers Created the Modern World
By Simon Winchester
Narrated by Simon Winchester /  11 hours 45 minutes

The revered New York Times bestselling author traces the development of technology from the Industrial Age to the Digital Age to explore the single component crucial to advancement—precision—in a superb history that is both an homage and a warning for our future.

The rise of manufacturing could not have happened without an attention to precision.... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for Free with Membership

The Court and the World

American Law and the New Global Realities
By Stephen Breyer
Narrated by Stephen Breyer /  12 hours 36 minutes

In this original, far-reaching, and timely book, Justice Stephen Breyer examines the work of the Supreme Court of the United States in an increasingly interconnected world, a world in which all sorts of activity, both public and private—from the conduct of national security policy to the conduct of international trade—obliges the Court to... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Orphan Master's Son

A Novel
By Adam Johnson
Narrated by James Kyson Lee, Josiah D. Lee, Tim Kang & Adam Johnson /  19 hours 18 minutes

The Pulitzer Prize–winning, New York Times betselling novel of North Korea: an epic journey into the heart of the world’s most mysterious dictatorship.

“Imagine Charles Dickens paying a visit to Pyongyang, and you see the canvas on which [Adam] Johnson is painting here.”—The Washington Post

Pak Jun Do is the haunted son of a lost mother—a singer... Read More »

Price:

$30.00

Get for Free with Membership

Into the Silence

The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest
By Wade Davis
Narrated by Enn Reitel /  28 hours 52 minutes

On June 6, 1924, two men set out from a camp perched at 23,000 feet on an ice ledge just below the lip of Mount Everest’s North Col. George Mallory, thirty-seven, was Britain’s finest climber. Sandy Irvine was a young Oxford scholar of twenty-two with little previous mountaineering experience. Neither of them returned.

In this magisterial... Read More »

Price:

$39.00

Get for Free with Membership

Home Fire

A Novel
By Kamila Shamsie
Narrated by Tania Rodrigues /  7 hours 53 minutes

Home Fire

“One finishes reading Kamila Shamsie's extraordinary Home Fire completely stunned. She has written a brilliant story about two families who share geography and become linked by fate - one that has known exile, death, and family mystery, and another that has adapted to the so-called mainstream. Family, religion, the politics of media, various forms of seduction, and present-day devices all bring themselves to bear in utterly telling form. The U.S., London, Karachi, Syria, and Istanbul all figure into this book, which is of this time and age and beyond. One of the finest writers at work in English today, Kamila Shamsie has written her most heartbreaking, beautiful, necessary book yet.”

The Elliott Bay Book Company image Rick Simonson, The Elliott Bay Book Company
Price:

$21.00

Get for Free with Membership

Directorate S

The C.I.A. and America's Secret Wars in Afghanistan and Pakistan
By Steve Coll
Narrated by Malcolm Hillgartner /  28 hours 28 minutes

Longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award for Nonfiction

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Ghost Wars, the epic and enthralling story of America's intelligence, military, and diplomatic efforts to defeat Al Qaeda and the Taliban in Afghanistan and Pakistan since 9/11


Prior to 9/11, the United States had been carrying out small-scale... Read More »

Price:

$39.00

Get for Free with Membership

A Reckoning

A Novel
By Linda Spalding
Narrated by MacLeod Andrews /  10 hours 4 minutes

It’s 1855, and the Dickinson farm, in the bottom corner of Virginia, is already in debt when a Northern abolitionist arrives and creates havoc among the slaves. Determined to find his mother and daughter, who are already free in Canada, Bry is the first slave to flee, and his escape inspires a dozen others. Soon, the farm, owned by one brother... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

When Your Child Is Sick

A Guide to Navigating the Practical and Emotional Challenges of Caring for a Child Who Is Very Ill
By Joanna Breyer
Narrated by Olivia J. Fox /  12 hours 26 minutes

An invaluable reference for parents of sick or hospitalized children by an experienced psychosocial counselor.

To many parents, it is hard to imagine a more upsetting reality than one where their child is hospitalized, severely sick, or terminally ill. In When Your Child is Sick, psychosocial counselor Joanna Breyer distills decades of experience... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

Warlight

A novel
By Michael Ondaatje
Narrated by Steve West /  8 hours 36 minutes

Warlight

“With his usual virtuosity, master storyteller Michael Ondaatje delivers a mysterious, shimmering new coming-of-age novel. Warlight is the unexpected story of two teenagers abandoned by their enigmatic parents in post-war London. Casually watched over by a dodgy cast of characters - petty criminals, opera singers, and panting greyhounds - Nathaniel and Rachel try to make sense of their new world while struggling to define their parents' shadowy wartime pasts. Years later, Nathaniel embarks on a quest to discover the disturbing truth, and his own unwitting part in it. Balancing poignance with surprising comic touches, Warlight is a stellar addition to the Ondaatje canon.”

Odyssey Bookshop image Chrysler Szarlan, Odyssey Bookshop
Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Frenemies

The Epic Disruption of the Ad Business (and Everything Else)
By Ken Auletta
Narrated by Jonathan Todd Ross /  12 hours 3 minutes

An intimate and profound reckoning with the changes buffeting the $2 trillion global advertising and marketing business from the perspective of its most powerful players, by the bestselling author of Googled

Advertising and marketing touches on every corner of our lives, and is the invisible fuel powering almost all media. Complain about it... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

Our Towns

A 100,000-Mile Journey into the Heart of America
By James Fallows & Deborah Fallows
Narrated by James Fallows & Deborah Fallows /  15 hours 42 minutes

***NATIONAL BEST SELLER***

A vivid, surprising portrait of the civic and economic reinvention taking place in America, town by town and generally out of view of the national media. A realistically positive and provocative view of the country between its coasts.

For the last five years, James and Deborah Fallows have been traveling across America... Read More »

Price:

$30.00

Get for Free with Membership

True Notebooks

A Writer's Year at Juvenile Hall
By Mark Salzman
Narrated by Paul Boehmer /  9 hours 15 minutes

When Mark Salzman is invited to visit a writing class at Central Juvenile Hall, a lockup for Los Angeles’s most violent teenage offenders, he scrambles for a polite reason to decline. He goes—expecting the worst—and is so astonished by what he finds that he becomes a teacher there himself. True Notebooks is an account of Salzman’s first years... Read More »

Price:

$21.54

Get for Free with Membership

Interventions

A Life in War and Peace
By Kofi Annan & Nader Mousavizadeh
Narrated by Dominic Hoffman /  14 hours 26 minutes

A candid memoir of global statecraft during one of the most consequential eras of recent history


INTERVENTIONS
is the inside story of a world at the brink. After forty years of service in the United Nations, former Secretary-General Kofi Annan shares his unique perspective of the terrorist attacks of September 11; the American invasions of Iraq... Read More »

Price:

$21.00

Get for Free with Membership

Thank You for Being Late

An Optimist's Guide to Thriving in the Age of Accelerations
By Thomas L. Friedman
Narrated by Oliver Wyman /  19 hours 47 minutes

A field guide to the twenty-first century, written by one of its most celebrated observers

We all sense it—something big is going on. You feel it in your workplace. You feel it when you talk to your kids. You can’t miss it when you read the newspapers or watch the news. Our lives are being transformed in so many realms all at once—and it is... Read More »

Price:

$37.94

Get for Free with Membership

Amity and Prosperity

One Family and the Fracturing of America
By Eliza Griswold
Narrated by Tavia Gilbert /  10 hours 35 minutes

Prize-winning poet and journalist Eliza Griswold’s Amity and Prosperity is an expose on how fracking shattered a rural Pennsylvania town, and how one lifelong resident brought the story into the national spotlight. This is an incredible true account of investigative journalism and a devastating indictment of energy politics in America.

Stacey... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for Free with Membership

Brother I'm Dying

By Edwidge Danticat
Narrated by Robin Miles /  7 hours 51 minutes

From the age of four, award-winning writer Edwidge Danticat came to think of her uncle Joseph as her "second father," when she was placed in his care after her parents left Haiti for America. And so she was both elated and saddened when, at twelve, she joined her parents and youngest brothers in New York City. As Edwidge made a life in a new... Read More »

Price:

$28.74

Get for Free with Membership

Wilson

By A. Scott Berg
Narrated by Jeremy Bobb /  32 hours 29 minutes

In the tradition of Truman, John Adams, and Team of Rivals, the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning biographer of Charles Lindbergh, Maxwell Perkins, and Samuel Goldwyn sheds new light on a president and his presidency in a way that redefines our understanding of a tide-turning historical moment.

One hundred years after his... Read More »

Price:

$45.94

Get for Free with Membership

In Defense of a Liberal Education

By Fareed Zakaria
Narrated by Fareed Zakaria /  3 hours 45 minutes

New York Times bestselling author of The Post-American World and host of CNN’s Fareed Zakaria GPS argues for a renewed commitment to the world’s most valuable educational traditions in this fascinating audiobook.

The liberal arts educational system is under attack. Governors in Texas, Florida, and North Carolina have announced that they will not... Read More »

Price:

$17.24

Get for Free with Membership

I Know a Secret

Rizzoli & Isles: Book #12
By Tess Gerritsen
Narrated by Tanya Eby /  9 hours 9 minutes

Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles—the inspiration for the smash hit TNT series—continue their bestselling crime-solving streak, as they pursue a shadowy psychopath keeping secrets and taking lives.

Two separate homicides, at different locations, with unrelated victims, have more in common than just being investigated by Boston PD detective Jane... Read More »

Price:

$17.24

Get for Free with Membership

The Association of Small Bombs

By Karan Mahajan
Narrated by Neil Shah /  9 hours 12 minutes

The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in empathy, dazzling in acuity, and ambitious in scope.When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without... Read More »

Price:

$22.94

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener