Skip navigation
Skip content
What to Read After Stranger Things

What to Read After Stranger Things

Feeling a bit bereft now that the 4th season is over? We've compiled a list of books to hold you over until the 5th season!

Playlist Tags: topic: tv mood: spooky

View all playlists

Ring Shout

By P. Djeli Clark
Narrated by: Channie Waites
Length: 5 hours 36 minutes

Ring Shout

“The emotionally charged, wild ride of Ring Shout by P. Djèlí Clark was one I did not want to end. Clark pulled me into the life of Maryse and her band of monster hunters and held me hostage. With beautiful language, deep characters, and a fully immersive world, this story of vengeance and self-forgiveness unfolds. By the end, I was in tears. Ring Shout perfectly takes on a dark, violent history, but also an uncertain, terrifying future. Everyone needs to read Ring Shout.”

Cavalier House Books image Sophie Giroir, Cavalier House Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Winter Tide

The Innsmouth Legacy: Book #1

By Ruthanna Emrys
Narrated by: Gabra Zackman
Length: 12 hours 28 minutes

"Narrator Gabra Zackman engages with this weird, grim novel, a combination of fantasy and mystery...her superb pacing and intense emotions add to the story's strange and intriguing atmosphere." — AudioFile Magazine

"Winter Tide is a weird, lyrical mystery — truly strange and compellingly grim. It's an innovative gem that turns Lovecraft on his...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Certain Dark Things

A Novel

By Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Narrated by: Aida Reluzco
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

Certain Dark Things

“What an engrossing, vibrant, new take on vampires. Part forbidden love story, part revenge caper, part bloodbath, this is easily one of my favorite vampire stories now. I love how Moreno-Garcia creates complex social structures and vampire-specific physical attributes to heighten tensions. This divide between vampires, as well as the human-vampire rift, shines a stark light on the haves & have-nots. Moreno-Garcia is so deft at telling whirlwind stories while also presenting important social commentary. Aida Reluzco is an excellent narrator as well! Loved her narration style and tonal intonations.”

Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West image Riona, Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

What Moves the Dead

By T. Kingfisher
Narrated by: Avi Roque
Length: 5 hours 11 minutes

"Narrator Avi Roque delivers a perfectly paced performance in this concise audiobook...holding listeners hostage until the house reveals its terrifying secrets." -AudioFile on What Moves The Dead

From T. Kingfisher, the award-winning author of The Twisted Ones, comes What Moves the Dead, a gripping and atmospheric retelling of Edgar Allan Poe's...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Legendborn

The Legendborn Cycle

By Tracy Deonn
Narrated by: Joniece Abbott-Pratt
Length: 18 hours 54 minutes

Legendborn

“I am blown away, out of the water, and through the roof. If this book doesn't make ALL the best of 2020 lists, I will burn them to the ground. Legendborn had me hook, line, and sinker from the start, and it just kept getting better. Bree is a force to be reckoned with and I loved her wholeheartedly. Deonn never reduces her or holds back the anger that is rightfully hers, nor does she reduce Bree to that anger. This is a story of overcoming grief and turning it into something hopeful. This is an ode to family (both found & born), to Black Girl Magic, to overthrowing that which only serves a privileged few. And that Twilight reference? Slayed me! A blazing beauty of a book. My only complaint is that now I have to wait for the next one.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Thrill Club

Fear Street: Book #24

By R.L. Stine
Narrated by: C.J. Critt
Length: 3 hours 40 minutes

When it comes to writing nerve-jangling thrillers, R.L. Stine is the master. His wildly popular books have attracted thousands of young people. The Thrill Club is his hair-raising tale of a teenager who writes horror stories everyone loves-until the stories start coming true. Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Witch King

The Witch King Duology: Book #1

By H.E. Edgmon
Narrated by: Dani Martineck
Length: 12 hours 1 minutes

The Witch King

“Where has this feral, hurt, angry, loving disaster of a gay trans witch been my whole life? I felt so at home within the pages of this book, and I know other queer & trans readers will feel the same way—this is the fantasy I wish I had in high school and my current favorite book to handsell.”

Phoenix Books image Miriasha, Phoenix Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

So This Is Ever After

By F.T. Lukens
Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
Length: 9 hours 33 minutes

So This Is Ever After

“This book is chaotic in the best possible way, mixing together fantasy romance with the Arthurian/Chosen One trope and the chaos, humor, and characters of Dungeons and Dragons. What happens after the world is saved? Uh... No one really knows, but now the kingdom is in the hands of the rag-tag adventuring crew who saved it, crowning their wonderful, bumbling leader king. This book is a hilarious and entertaining romp guaranteed to make you smile as Arek fumbles around, hitting on his friends, trying to find true love and secure his crown. This is a wonderfully queer fantasy!”

The Well-Read Moose image Anna, The Well-Read Moose
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Lakelore

By Anna-Marie McLemore
Narrated by: Vico Ortiz & Avi Roque
Length: 6 hours 28 minutes

Lakelore

“Written in the exquisite lyrical manner that Anna-Marie McLemore does better than anyone, Lakelore is a vibrant and sensitive exploration of gender identity and neurodivergence. Their writing is always luminous and honest; their use of magical realism is powerful; and their deftness and care in writing about ADHD, Dyslexia, bullying, trans, and non-binary lives is excellent. I listened on Libro.fm and it was a delightfully multi-sensory experience between the illustrative writing and talented voice actors.”

Wellesley Books image Ashleigh, Wellesley Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Institute

A Novel

By Stephen King
Narrated by: Santino Fontana
Length: 18 hours 57 minutes

2020 THRILLER/SUSPENSE AUDIE AWARD WINNER!

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King whose “storytelling transcends genre” (Newsday) comes “another winner: creepy and touching and horrifyingly believable” (The Boston Globe) about a group of kids confronting evil.

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Cemetery Boys

By Aiden Thomas
Narrated by: Avi Roque
Length: 13 hours 47 minutes

Cemetery Boys

“"Listening to Cemetery Boys made me smile. A lot. Aiden Thomas presents a story of persistence, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world. Yadriel, a trans, teenage, latinx boy, lives in a family of brujos and brujas. After coming out as trans his family does not know where he fits within their traditions. With the help of his opinionated cousin Maritza, Yadriel completes the ceremony to become a brujo in secret and accidentally summons the wrong ghost: Julian, a high energy boy from his school. Yadriel, Julian and Maritza set out to solve the mystery of Julian’s death, and to release his spirit. Of course, to make things more awkward, Yadriel develops a crush on the spirit boy. What more could one ask for? Thomas creates a magical but real world highlighting family dynamics surrounding trans identity within a gendered society, the need to prove oneself, and the importance of connecting to family. This book may sound spooky, but instead the story is feel-good, heartwarming, and silly at times; it’s all about celebrating life and being who you are."”

Content image Emma, Content
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Strange the Dreamer

Strange the Dreamer: Book #1

By Laini Taylor
Narrated by: Steve West
Length: 18 hours 19 minutes

Strange the Dreamer

“Get ready to be swept up in this hauntingly beautiful story of an orphan boy who dreams of places no on remembers and a powerful girl fighting to do what is right. Laini Taylor creates a fantasy world that is sure to stay in your dreams. Great for readers who enjoyed Six of Crows, An Ember in the Ashes, or Taylor's other books.”

Once Upon A Time image Jessica, Once Upon A Time
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account