Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more

Spring Into Cooking

Invite Anthony Bourdain and other top chefs into your kitchen with these culinary books.

Playlist Tags: audience: foodies mood: hungry topic: food topic: cooking

View all playlists

The Soul of a Chef

The Journey toward Perfection

By Michael Ruhlman
Narrated by: Donald Corren
Length: 12 hours 14 minutes

In his second in-depth foray into the world of professionalcooking, Michael Ruhlman journeys into the heart of the profession. Observingthe rigorous Certified Master Chef exam at the Culinary Institute of America,the most influential cooking school in the country, Ruhlman enters the livesand kitchens of rising star Michael Symon and the renowned... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sweetbitter

A Novel

By Stephanie Danler
Narrated by: Alex McKenna
Length: 12 hours 23 minutes

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter

Twenty-two, and knowing... Read more »

Audiobook details

Heat

An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany

By Bill Buford
Narrated by: Michael Kramer
Length: 12 hours 14 minutes

From one of our most interesting literary figures – former editor of Granta, former fiction editor at The New Yorker, acclaimed author of Among the Thugs – a sharp, funny, exuberant, close-up account of his headlong plunge into the life of a professional cook.

Expanding on his James Beard Award-winning New Yorker article, Bill Buford gives us a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Medium Raw

A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook

By Anthony Bourdain
Narrated by: Anthony Bourdain
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

Medium Raw marks the return of the inimitable Anthony Bourdain, author of the blockbuster bestseller Kitchen Confidential and three-time Emmy Award-nominated host of No Reservations on TV’s Travel Channel. Bourdain calls his book, “A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook,” and he is at his entertaining best as he takes... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sunny's Nights

Lost and Found at the Bar at the End of the World

By Tim Sultan
Narrated by: Robert Malloch
Length: 8 hours 28 minutes

Imagine that Alice had walked into a bar instead of falling down the rabbit hole. In the tradition of J. R. Moehringer’s The Tender Bar and the classic reportage of Joseph Mitchell, here is an indelible portrait of what is quite possibly the greatest bar in the world—and the mercurial, magnificent man behind it.

The first time he saw Sunny’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

My Kitchen Year

136 Recipes That Saved My Life

By Ruth Reichl
Narrated by: Ruth Reichl
Length: 6 hours 41 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Los Angeles Times • NPR • Men’s Journal • BookPage • Booklist • Publishers Weekly

In the fall of 2009, the food world was rocked when Gourmet magazine was abruptly shuttered by its parent company. No one was more stunned by this unexpected turn of events than its beloved... Read more »

Audiobook details

Kitchen Confidential

Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly

By Anthony Bourdain
Narrated by: Anthony Bourdain
Length: 8 hours 18 minutes

When Chef Anthony Bourdain wrote "Don't Eat Before You Read This" in The New Yorker, he spared no one's appetite, revealing what goes on behind the kitchen door. In Kitchen Confidential, he expanded the appetizer into a deliciously funny, delectably shocking banquet that lays out his twenty-five years of sex, drugs, and haute cuisine.

From his... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ferran

The Inside Story of El Bulli and the Man Who Reinvented Food

By Colman Andrews
Narrated by: Don Hagen
Length: 10 hours 34 minutes

More than just the most influential chef of the late- twentieth and early-twenty-first centuries, Ferran Adrià is arguably the greatest culinary revolutionary of our time. Hailed as a genius and a prophet by fellow chefs, worshipped (if often misunderstood) by critics and lay diners alike, Adrià is imitated and paid homage to in professional... Read more »

Audiobook details

Julie and Julia - Abridged

365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen

By Julie Powell
Narrated by: Julie Powell
Length: 5 hours 53 minutes

The bestselling memoir that's "irresistible....A kind of Bridget Jones meets The French Chef" (Philadelphia Inquirer) that inspired Julie & Julia, the major motion picture directed by Nora Ephron, starring Amy Adams as Julie and Meryl Streep as Julia.

Nearing 30 and trapped in a dead-end secretarial job, Julie Powell reclaims her life by... Read more »

Audiobook details

Hidden Kitchens - Abridged

Stories and More from NPR's The Kitchen Sisters

By Davia Nelson, Nikki Silva & Alice L. Waters
Narrated by: Frances McDormand
Length: 3 hours 12 minutes

Food is our common ground, a universal experience. –James Beard
The saga of the Chili Queens of San Antonio, NASCAR kitchens tucked away in the crew pits at race tracks, the story of an unexpected kitchen—the George Foreman Grill—these stories and more from Hidden Kitchens, the popular and highly acclaimed radio series on NPR's morning... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Making of a Chef

Mastering Heat at the Culinary Institute

By Michael Ruhlman
Narrated by: Jeff Riggenbach
Length: 12 hours 20 minutes

In the winter of 1996, writer Michael Ruhlman donned a chef's jacket and entered the Culinary Institute of America, known as the Harvard of cooking schools, to learn the art of cooking. His vivid and eye-opening record of that experience, The Making of a Chef, takes us into the heart of this food-knowledge mecca. Here we meet a coterie of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Delicious!

A Novel

By Ruth Reichl
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 12 hours 57 minutes

In her bestselling memoirs Ruth Reichl has long illuminated the theme of how food defines us, and never more so than in her dazzling fiction debut about sisters, family ties, and a young woman who must finally let go of guilt and grief to embrace her own true gifts. 

     Billie Breslin has travelled far from her California home to take a job at... Read more »

Audiobook details

Garlic and Sapphires

The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise

By Ruth Reichl
Narrated by: Bernadette Dunne
Length: 10 hours 58 minutes

GARLIC AND SAPPHIRES is Ruth Reichl's riotous account of the many disguises she employs to dine anonymously. There is her stint as Molly Hollis, a frumpy blond with manicured nails and an off-beige Armani suit that Ruth takes on when reviewing Le Cirque. The result: her famous double review of the restaurant: first she ate there as Molly; and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Delancey

A Man, a Woman, a Restaurant, a Marriage

By Molly Wizenberg
Narrated by: Caroline Shaffer
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

In this funny, frank, and tender memoir, the author of the NewYork Times bestseller A Homemade Life and the blog Orangette recounts how opening arestaurant sparked the first crisis of her young marriage.

When Molly Wizenberg married Brandon Pettit, he was atrained composer with a handful of offbeat interests: espresso machines, woodenboats,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Omnivore's Dilemma

A Natural History of Four Meals

By Michael Pollan
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Length: 15 hours 53 minutes

One of the New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of the Year

Winner of the James Beard Award

Author of #1 New York Times Bestsellers In Defense of Food and Food Rules


What should we have for dinner? Ten years ago, Michael Pollan confronted us with this seemingly simple question and, with The Omnivore’s Dilemma, his brilliant and eye-opening... Read more »

Audiobook details

Burnt Toast Makes You Sing Good

A Memoir of Food and Love from an American Midwest Family

By Kathleen Flinn
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 8 hours 26 minutes

A delicious memoirfrom the author of The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry

In this family history interwoven with recipes, KathleenFlinn returns readers to the mix of food and memoir beloved by readers of herbestselling The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry. Burnt ToastMakes You Sing Good explores the very beginnings of her love affair... Read more »

Audiobook details

Yes, Chef

A Memoir

By Marcus Samuelsson
Narrated by: Marcus Samuelsson
Length: 11 hours 46 minutes

JAMES BEARD AWARD NOMINEE • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY VOGUE • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“One of the great culinary stories of our time.”—Dwight Garner, The New York Times
 
It begins with a simple ritual: Every Saturday afternoon, a boy who loves to cook walks to his grandmother’s house and helps her prepare a roast chicken for... Read more »

Audiobook details

Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more