Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Recent Brain Lair Listens

Audiobooks I'm listening to or just finished! Ask me about them.

Playlist Tags: Brain Lair Books

View all playlists

The Comfort Book

By Matt Haig
Narrated by: Matt Haig
Length: 3 hours 9 minutes

An instant New York Times Bestseller!

The new uplifting book from Matt Haig, the New York Times bestselling author of The Midnight Library,
for anyone in search of hope, looking for a path to a more meaningful life, or in need of a little encouragement.

“It is a strange paradox, that many of the clearest, most comforting life lessons are learnt...
Read more »
Audiobook details

A Good Day for Chardonnay

A Novel
Sunshine Vicram Series: Book #2

By Darynda Jones
Narrated by: Lorelei King
Length: 12 hours 8 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling author Darynda Jones comes the second novel in her laugh-out-loud Sunshine Vicram mystery series, A Good Day for Chardonnay.

Running a small-town police force in the mountains of New Mexico should be a smooth, carefree kind of job. Sadly, full-time Sheriff—and even fuller-time coffee guzzler—Sunshine Vicram,...

Read more »
Audiobook details

A Bad Day for Sunshine

A Novel
Sunshine Vicram Series: Book #1

By Darynda Jones
Narrated by: Lorelei King
Length: 11 hours 40 minutes

“This suspenseful and witty first novel in a new series is a perfect match for narrator Lorelei King." -- Booklist

"Narrator Lorelei King works well with the subtly snarky style of author Darynda Jones...Listeners will look forward to the next installment of this new series, as some mysteries are solved, and others remain." -- AudioFile Magazine ...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Soulmate Equation

By Christina Lauren
Narrated by: Patti Murin
Length: 9 hours 39 minutes

The Soulmate Equation

“I finished this in one sitting and my neck is killing me. I loved this new story from Christina Lauren, from the third-person point-of-view to the mix of science and romance! It was perfect, from every last side character to the sexual tension between the mains.”

Beausoleil Books image Blair Boles, Beausoleil Books
Audiobook details

How to Fail at Flirting

By Denise Williams
Narrated by: January LaVoy
Length: 9 hours 5 minutes

How to Fail at Flirting

“A sweet romance about a professor who decides to take a chance when she finds herself out at a bar by herself seated next to an attractive man in town on business. Naya never would have imagined that their one-night stand would turn into a week-long fling with the potential for even more. And because of her toxic past relationships, she is hesitant to trust Jake. I loved reading about a professor as a romance leading lady!”

Bookmarks image Kate Storhoff, Bookmarks
Audiobook details

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

By Ben Philippe
Narrated by: James Fouhey
Length: 9 hours 11 minutes

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John...

Read more »
Audiobook details

If I Never Met You

A Novel

By Mhairi McFarlane
Narrated by: Sara Novak
Length: 11 hours 16 minutes

If I Never Met You

“Mhairi McFarlane does it again with her latest novel, If I Never Met You. A mix of wit and heart and complex relationships that is relatable, relevant, savvy and fun. Her writing is bright and filled with sly insights into our human vulnerabilities and quirks. I always look forward to Mhairi’s novels and this one did not disappoint. Great narrator as well!”

Otter Books image Samara, Otter Books
Audiobook details

Amari and the Night Brothers

Supernatural Investigations: Book #1

By B. B. Alston
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

Amari and the Night Brothers

“This was just fantastic. Amari is such a great main character, smart and gutsy especially as she navigates grief, bullying and a new magical environment. I loved her new found friendship with Elsie as well as this new magical school world. If you loved Harry Potter and Morrigan Crow (from Nevermoor), you will adore this.”

Belmont Books image Audrey, Belmont Books
Audiobook details

WOLFPACK

How to Come Together, Unleash Our Power, and Change the Game

By Abby Wambach
Narrated by: Abby Wambach
Length: 1 hours 10 minutes

“Abby is a relatable revolutionary — with WOLFPACK, she inspires the confidence, leadership and sisterhood we all so desperately need right now.” — Amy Schumer

This program is read by the author.

Based on her inspiring, viral 2018 commencement speech to Barnard College’s graduates in New York City, New York Times bestselling author, two-time...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The E-Myth Revisited

Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and

By Michael E. Gerber
Narrated by: Michael E. Gerber
Length: 8 hours 5 minutes

In this compact disc edition of the totally revised underground bestseller -- The E-Myth, Michael Gerber dispels the myths surrounding starting your own business and shows how commonplace assumptions can get in the way of running a business. He walks you through the steps in the life of a business -- from entrepreneurial infancy, through...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Infinite Game

By Simon Sinek
Narrated by: Simon Sinek
Length: 6 hours 56 minutes

The Infinite Game

“I loved listening to this book. Simon does an excellent job walking readers through how businesses are successful by finding and sticking to their "just cause." A fascinating peek into business history and a thoughtful reflection on how to create a thriving business that stands the test of time.”

Swamp Fox Bookstore image Terri, Swamp Fox Bookstore
Audiobook details

Black Buck

By Mateo Askaripour
Narrated by: Zeno Robinson
Length: 11 hours 12 minutes

Black Buck

“Perhaps I have a different perspective on this book because I have a younger brother who is a Black, 20-something man in sales, but this book presents an evocative, honest, complex portrait of being a BIPOC person in a white-dominant workplace (albeit one that is high-powered, sales-driven, and New York City-based). This is a book that allows a reader to be seen if this is their experience, but also for a reader to learn about a different reality if this is not their own. Black Buck is a tightly woven, contemporary debut from an author to watch.”

River Dog Book Co. image BrocheAroe Fabian, River Dog Book Co.
Audiobook details

Happily Ever Afters

By Elise Bryant
Narrated by: Jordan Cobb
Length: 10 hours 18 minutes

Jane the Virgin meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before in this charming debut romantic comedy filled with Black Girl Magic. Perfect for fans of Mary H. K. Choi and Nicola Yoon, with crossover appeal for readers of Jasmine Guillory and Talia Hibbert romances.

Sixteen-year-old Tessa Johnson has never felt like the protagonist in her own life....

Read more »
Audiobook details

Inheritance Games

By Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Length: 10 hours 44 minutes

Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets--perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when... Read more »
Audiobook details

Dear Justyce

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Dion Graham & Nic Stone
Length: 4 hours 45 minutes

An NPR Best Book of the Year * The stunning sequel to the criticically acclaimed,  #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. An incarcerated teen writes letters to his best friend about his experiences in the American juvenile justice system.

An unflinching look into the tragically flawed practices and silenced voices in the American juvenile... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Only Black Girls in Town

By Brandy Colbert
Narrated by: Jeanette Illidge
Length: 7 hours 28 minutes

From award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert comes a debut middle-grade novel about the only two Black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past.

Beach-loving surfer Alberta has been the only Black girl in town for years. Alberta's best friend, Laramie, is the closest thing she has to a... Read more »
Audiobook details

Such a Fun Age

By Kiley Reid
Narrated by: Nicole Lewis
Length: 9 hours 58 minutes

Such a Fun Age

“What a beautifully rich and nuanced book! Emira, a mid-twenties educated but slightly driftless woman is working 2 part time jobs still trying to find her passion. She find joy in her part time babysitting job, finding her three year old charge a delightfully odd little person who keeps her interested. But things turn complicated when she is asked to take her charge to the local grocery store late at night and is accosted by the store security guard and a "well meaning" patron. Accused of kidnapping and unable to leave Emira holds her dignity and stands up for herself as another patron films the incident. Emira wants nothing more than to put the incident behind her but those closest to her have other ideas of what is best for her. This novel packs an emotional punch, making us question our own motives and wondering if we really have our loved ones best interests at heart. A perfect book group pick for those who like to focus on character driven stories.”

Books & Company image Genavieve, Books & Company
Audiobook details

SLAY

By Brittney Morris
Narrated by: Kiersey Clemons
Length: 8 hours 26 minutes

SLAY

“Whoa. This is hardcore awesome. I hate to use popular books to compare, but it definitely is Ready Player One meets Hate U Give. And my favorite thing, there isn’t a specific heavy-handed message (at least in my opinion) which is the reason I don’t read too many popular books like this one. It asked some hard questions and left some of the decisions about the ‘correct’ answers for your own pondering. And the Libro.fm narration is great! A handful of narrators that made it feel rounded out and enthusiastic.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Leah, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details

Red at the Bone

A Novel

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by: Jacqueline Woodson, Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Peter Francis James, Shayna Small & Bahni Turpin
Length: 3 hours 52 minutes

Red at the Bone

“Although you can read Jacqueline Woodson’s newest novel over the course of one evening, there is nothing breezy about the richness of its story, nothing short about the depth of its characters, nothing quick about the way this book stays with you after you finish reading. Told through five distinct voices, Red at the Bone tracks an African-American family through time and place as an unexpected pregnancy upends and reshapes family and class expectations as well as individual trajectories. Ultimately, the novel is about legacy in every sense of the word. And since Woodson’s writing packs the emotional punch of an epic in a novella number of pages, the legacy of her book is to be read over and over and over again.”

Kelly Brown image Kelly Brown, Magic City Books
Audiobook details

Beverly, Right Here

By Kate DiCamillo
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
Length: 4 hours 8 minutes

Revisiting once again the world of Raymie Nightingale, two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo turns her focus to the tough-talking, inescapably tenderhearted Beverly.

Beverly put her foot down on the gas. They went faster still.
This was what Beverly wanted--what she always wanted. To get away. To get away as fast as she could. To stay... Read more »
Audiobook details