Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Reading Latinas by Elizabeth Gonzalez James

So many amazing audiobooks - both fiction and nonfiction - have come out in the last few years by Latina authors. The titles I've chosen are among my favorites, and represent authors from many countries and many viewpoints, but all with luminous, indelible voices rising out of the Latinx experience.

Playlist Tags: author-created

View all playlists

Clap When You Land

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo & Melania-Luisa Marte
Length: 5 hours 32 minutes

Clap When You Land

“This was my first Acevedo, and I'm kicking myself for not having read her sooner. Her spare language is fantastic, especially in the audio version. ”

Bards Alley image Leah, Bards Alley
Audiobook details

Fruit of the Drunken Tree

A Novel

By Ingrid Rojas Contreras
Narrated by: Marisol Ramirez, Almarie Guerra & Ingrid Rojas Contreras
Length: 12 hours 25 minutes

Fruit of the Drunken Tree

Fruit of the Drunken Tree made me cry at the airport. I was impressed by the small kingdom of women Contreras builds, with violence always threatening to creep in, all seen through the eyes of Chula, the youngest daughter. Contreras made her perspective believably cloistered while masterfully writing all the people around Chula in ways that made them feel real. Also masterful was the way Contreras used Petrona’s narrative throughout and the restraint she showed in dipping into her thoughts; she always left me wanting more. What Contreras chooses not to write has as big an effect as what she does. This novel is a dynamic exploration of what is known and, sometimes willfully, what is left unknown.”

Literati Bookstore image Lillian Li, Literati Bookstore
Audiobook details

Tell Me How It Ends

An Essay in 40 Questions

By Valeria Luiselli
Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
Length: 2 hours 33 minutes

A damning confrontation between the American dream and the reality of undocumented children seeking a new life in the US.

Structured around the forty questions Luiselli translates and asks undocumented Latin American children facing deportation, Tell Me How It Ends (an expansion of her 2016 Freeman's essay of the same name) humanizes these young... Read more »

Audiobook details

Cantoras

A novel

By Carolina De Robertis
Narrated by: Carolina De Robertis
Length: 13 hours 37 minutes

"Cantoras is a stunning lullaby to revolution—and each woman in this novel sings it with a deep ferocity. Again and again, I was lifted, then gently set down again—either through tears, rage, or laughter. Days later, I am still inside this song of a story." —Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award–winning author

From the highly acclaimed,...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Mexican Gothic

A Novel

By Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 10 hours 39 minutes

Mexican Gothic

“Creepy and romantic, Mexican Gothic is easily one of my favorite books of 2020! Upon receiving a strange letter from her cousin, Noemi Taboada goes to investigate the happenings of High Place, a decaying manor filled with secrets, and is plagued by terrifying dreams and visions. Moreno-Garcia delivers a fresh take on a classic gothic novel that will grab your attention from the very first chapter!”

Rakestraw Books image Tyrinne Lewis, Rakestraw Books
Audiobook details

The Dangers of Smoking in Bed

Stories

By Mariana Enriquez & Megan McDowell
Narrated by: Rebecca Soler
Length: 5 hours 47 minutes

SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE • “The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery” (O: The Oprah Magazine), in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges.

Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories... Read more »

Audiobook details

Finding Latinx

In Search of the Voices Redefining Latino Identity

By Paola Ramos
Narrated by: Paola Ramos
Length: 7 hours 34 minutes

Young Latinos across the United States are redefining their identities, pushing boundaries, and awakening politically in powerful and surprising ways. Many of them—Afrolatino, indigenous, Muslim, queer and undocumented, living in large cities and small towns—are voices who have been chronically overlooked in how the diverse population of almost... Read more »

Audiobook details

Dominicana

A Novel

By Angie Cruz
Narrated by: Coral Peña
Length: 10 hours 12 minutes

Dominicana

“This is a book that will stay with you. It’s a story about a 15 Year old Dominican girl, who is married off to a man twice her age bc he can bring her to the United States. Ana, has no control over her situation, and comes to the US, speaking no English, knowing nothing about her new country. Isolated in their apartment, missing her siblings and pressured by her mother to send home money, Ana struggles to find her way. She’s torn between family loyalty and finding her own happiness. Ultimately, it’s Ana who has to determine her own agency. What makes this especially interesting is that it’s set in Washington Heights in the 1960s, with the civil rights movement in the background. Yet, that’s all the impact it has, momentous occasions are just background and Ana’s experience is front and center.”

Belmont Books image Audrey, Belmont Books
Audiobook details

Of Women and Salt

A Novel

By Gabriela Garcia
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo & Gabriela Garcia
Length: 7 hours 7 minutes

Of Women and Salt

“Gabriela Garcia has delivered a gripping novel that moves between modern-day Miami and revolutionary and post-revolution Cuba to tell the stories of four generations of women whose past traumas continue to play out in current times. It’s a story of strength, immigration, and the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters. Of Women and Salt took my breath away on multiple occasions and continues to take hold of my thoughts.”

Orinda Books image Pat Rudebusch, Orinda Books
Audiobook details

Furia

By Yamile Saied Méndez
Narrated by: Sol Madariaga
Length: 8 hours 51 minutes

A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams.

In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life. 
 
At home, she is a careful daughter, living within... Read more »

Audiobook details

Lost Children Archive

A novel

By Valeria Luiselli
Narrated by: Valeria Luiselli, Kivlighan de Montebello, William DeMeritt & Maia Enrigue Luiselli
Length: 11 hours 16 minutes

Lost Children Archive

“This is unlike any other book I've read lately. All four characters are so vivid in my mind that it feels like we were all in the Volvo together and maybe my cardboard box was in among theirs.”

The King's English Bookshop image Anne Holman, The King's English Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Undocumented Americans

A Homecoming

By Karla Cornejo Villavicencio
Narrated by: Karla Cornejo Villavicencio
Length: 4 hours 53 minutes

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST • One of the first undocumented immigrants to graduate from Harvard reveals the hidden lives of her fellow undocumented Americans in this deeply personal and groundbreaking portrait of a nation.

“Karla’s book sheds light on people’s personal experiences and allows their stories to be told and their voices to be... Read more »

Audiobook details

Mona at Sea

By Elizabeth Gonzalez James
Length: TBA

Mona Mireles is a quintessential overachiever: a former spelling-bee champion and valedictorian of her college class, she has a sterling résumé and a wall of plaques and medals in her bedroom that stretches floor to ceiling. She's also broke, unemployed, back at home with her parents, and completely adrift in life and love. Seven months out of... Read more »

Audiobook details