Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Bookseller
Rediscovered Books: Rebecca G

Rediscovered Books: Rebecca G

Playlist Tags: Rediscovered Books

View all playlists

The Chicken Sisters

By KJ Dell'Antonia
Narrated by: Xe Sands & Cassandra Campbell
Length: 12 hours 22 minutes

The Chicken Sisters

“I don’t know why I want to describe a dysfunctional family story about sister rivalry and restaurant feuds as charming, but I do. Lives and family are messy. You can try to make them appear perfect and organized for public consumption, but once you relinquish the spotlight and storytelling to someone else, it is impossible to keep the dirty bits hidden. One of the dominant themes is emphasizing the hidden pitfalls and costs that come with being an influencer and public figure as you strive to turn your life into a desirable brand. It also gives you a delicious peek at what it might be like to participate in a reality television show with the filming of a fictional restaurant wars television show. It is a sharp reminder that perceptions are rarely reality when others have the ability to manipulate and shape the story. It also explores the stress and unexpected pleasures of returning home to a small town alongside facing the past traumas and experiences that shape who we become as adults. Does attention, fame and money always come at great cost? Are there second chances and opportunities for reconciliation after betrayal? Is maintaining tradition or making changes better? I guess you will have to read or listen to find out. As an audiobook, I found this had great pacing with dual narration alternating between the two sisters. They were both flawed but likeable characters that I wanted to face their realities while also cheering them on in pursuing their dreams and finding their purpose.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Cori, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details

Firekeeper's Daughter

By Angeline Boulley
Narrated by: Isabella Star LaBlanc
Length: 14 hours 13 minutes

Firekeeper's Daughter

“Daunis Fontaine, a bi-racial Ojibwe-Italian-American girl has just graduated high school and has deferred enrollment at the University of Michigan to attend the local state school. She plans to spend more time with her best friend Lily, her ailing Grandmother, and her mom who was recently rocked by the sudden death of her brother, Daunis’ uncle. But then tragedy strikes, and Daunis is the eyewitness. And she is thrown headfirst into an FBI investigation of meth addiction and distribution within the reservation her family lives on and the greater Upper Peninsula area. A nuanced and compassionate look at addiction and the justice system and the risks one girl takes to help her friends, her community, and herself. The truth is a tangled web that it seems only Daunis is willing to carefully pick apart to not only expose the criminals but heal the victims as well. A little bit of romance, a little bit thriller, a whole bunch of hockey, STEM nerds, Firekeeper’s Daughter was engaging and gripping. PS I desperately need an Auntie spin-off.”

Wellesley Books image Cassie, Wellesley Books
Audiobook details

Amari and the Night Brothers

Supernatural Investigations: Book #1

By B. B. Alston
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

Amari and the Night Brothers

Amari and the Night Brothers is a contemporary children's Sci-Fi/Fantasy in the vein of Men in Black and Supernatural. Monsters, magic, and supernatural beings living amongst us, but not everyone can see them (or even knows that they are there). Amari (and her missing older brother Quinton) can and have to balance living in the modern world and the one full of supernatural beings (and unsavory events). Fast paced, relatable, and a fun listen!”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

This Is Your Time

By Ruby Bridges
Narrated by: Ruby Bridges
Length: 13 minutes

This Is Your Time

“So much packed into this little book (read by Ruby Bridges). The story, the experience, the vision behind the often seen picture of young Ruby being escorted into school. Insightful, awe inspiring, and brave.”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

Before the Ever After

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by: Guy Lockard
Length: 2 hours 14 minutes

Before the Ever After

“Jacqueline Woodson’s practiced hand gracefully pens the story of a son watching his father change with the seasons. A beloved professional football player, ZJ’s dad is sidelined when he suddenly begins to experience serious neurological issues. It’s hard for ZJ to understand why his dad’s excruciating headaches won’t let up, what he’s thinking as he stares out the window for hours, how he could possibly be unable to recognize his own son. ZJ hangs onto the memory of his dad by the strings of his guitar—when they sing or rap together, it’s just like it was before the ever after. A stunning story of the consequences of an American obsession, beautifully read by Guy Lockard.”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

A Deadly Education

A Novel
The Scholomance: Book #1

By Naomi Novik
Narrated by: Anisha Dadia
Length: 10 hours 58 minutes

A Deadly Education

A Deadly Education takes a fresh stab at the magical boarding school setting in this inventive and compelling new novel from Naomi Novik. Galadriel Higgins is a student at Scholomance, a dangerous institution full of things that don’t just go bump in the night, they tend to maim and murder the students. In such a perilous place, it’s important to have friends. Unfortunately, Galadriel is a sarcastic misanthrope with a potent affinity toward mass destruction and death, but she might have to start relying on her non-magical charms to get out of this school alive. With a wink to all your favorite series, A Deadly Education is guaranteed to enthrall!”

Heather image Heather, Mitzi's Books
Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference