Skip navigation
Skip content
Quick Reads to Smash Your Reading Challenge!

Quick Reads to Smash Your Reading Challenge!

The time is nigh. If you're trying to smash your reading challenge goals, we've got a list of short books and novellas to help you power to the finish!

Playlist Tags: reading challenge novellas

View all playlists

Assembly

By Natasha Brown
Narrated by: Pippa Bennett-Warner
Length: 1 hours 59 minutes

A woman confronts the most important question of her life in this blistering, fearless, and unforgettable literary debut from "a stunning new writer." (Bernardine Evaristo)

“A quiet, measured call to revolution…This is the kind of book that doesn’t just mark the moment things change, but also makes that change possible.”—Ali Smith, author of...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Why Fish Don't Exist

A Story of Loss, Love, and the Hidden Order of Life

By Lulu Miller
Narrated by: Lulu Miller
Length: 4 hours 55 minutes

Why Fish Don't Exist

“I was absolutely riveted to this beautiful book. This story is fascinating and seamlessly threaded into the author's own struggles. It made me pause, rewind, start over, cry, laugh.....it's just one of the best memoirs I've ever read.”

The Yankee Bookshop image Nichole, The Yankee Bookshop
Audiobook details

Intimacies

A Novel

By Katie Kitamura
Narrated by: Traci Kato-Kiriyama
Length: 5 hours 26 minutes

Intimacies

“A masterful exploration of all the ways we can know and be known. One of my favorites of 2021!”

A Great Good Place for Books image Samantha, A Great Good Place for Books
Audiobook details

All Systems Red

Murderbot Diaries: Book #1

By Martha Wells
Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
Length: 3 hours 17 minutes

All Systems Red is the first tense science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld and Ex Machina. All Systems Red by Martha Wells begins The Murderbot Diaries, a new science fiction action and adventure series that tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics. It appeals to fans of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Citizen

An American Lyric

By Claudia Rankine
Narrated by: Allyson Johnson
Length: 1 hours 37 minutes

Claudia Rankine's bold new book recounts mounting racial aggressions in ongoing encounters in twenty-first-century daily life and in the media. Some of these encounters are slights, seeming slips of the tongue, and some are intentional offensives in the classroom, at the supermarket, at home, on the tennis court with Serena Williams and the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Radicalized: An Audio Novella

By Cory Doctorow
Narrated by: Wil Wheaton
Length: 1 hours 48 minutes

*The third novella from Radicalized*

This audiobook edition features Wil Wheaton reading the title novella, a story of a darkweb-enforced violent uprising against insurance companies told from the perspective of a man desperate to secure funding for an experimental drug that could cure his wife's terminal cancer.

Listen to Radicalized's other...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Whereabouts

A Novel

By Jhumpa Lahiri
Narrated by: Susan Vinciotti Bonito
Length: 3 hours 23 minutes

Whereabouts

“The latest story from Jhumpa Lahiri is told gently, quietly. It’s about a woman, told in her own voice—filled with everyday commonalities that explain little and yet reveal much. The words are lovely, sad, sometimes hopeful, but often disappointed. The author has shared with us a vision of life lived by another and yet there’s something about her that is so familiar. 'Could she be me?' some will ask. 'Am I, too, that private—known only to myself?' Whether or not you follow the author’s work, you’ll treasure this small offering to life, to unknown love, to memory. It’s one to read over again many times. I know I will.”

Auntie's Bookstore image Linda, Auntie's Bookstore
Audiobook details

At Blackwater Pond

Mary Oliver reads Mary Oliver

By Mary Oliver
Narrated by: Mary Oliver
Length: 1 hours

Mary Oliver has published twenty-one volumes of poetry and six books of prose in the span of five decades, but she rarely performs her poetry in live readings. With At Blackwater Pond, Mary Oliver gives her audience what they've longed to hear: the poet's voice reading her own work. In this audio, she has recorded forty of her favorite poems,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Another Brooklyn

A Novel

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 2 hours 43 minutes

Another Brooklyn

“National Book Award-winning author Jacqueline Woodson has crafted a beautiful, heart-wrenching novel of a young girl's coming-of-age in Brooklyn. Effortlessly weaving poetic prose, Woodson tells the story of the relationships young women form, their yearning to belong, and the bonds that are created - and broken. Brooklyn itself is a vivid character in this tale -- a place at first harsh, but one that becomes home and plays a role in each character's future. Woodson is one of the most skilled storytellers of our day, and I continue to love and devour each masterpiece she creates!”

Nicole Yasinsky image Nicole Yasinsky, The Booksellers at Laurelwood
Audiobook details

No One Is Talking About This

A Novel

By Patricia Lockwood
Narrated by: Kristen Sieh
Length: 4 hours 43 minutes

No One Is Talking About This

“This compact novel captures the life of a social media influencer in such a stunning way—I listened to this book with my jaw on the floor. Incredible (though if you've never opened Instagram or Twitter, this might not be for you).”

Oblong Books image Suzanna, Oblong Books
Audiobook details

My Sister, the Serial Killer

A Novel

By Oyinkan Braithwaite
Narrated by: Adepero Oduye
Length: 4 hours 14 minutes

My Sister, the Serial Killer

My Sister, the Serial Killer is one of the best books to come along in quite a while — fast, funny, and completely engrossing. Oyinkan Braithwaite offers up a tale of Nigerian sisters Ayoola, a beautiful and sociopathic serial killer who destroys boyfriends, aware that all they ever want her for is her appearance, and Korede, a nurse whose average looks leave her continually passed up in preference for Ayoola. Still, taciturn and devoted Korede works hard to cover up her charming sister’s crimes. What will happen when they both fall for the same guy? At once a page-turner and a perversely righteous tale about the emptiness of physical beauty and the superficiality of being charmed by it, My Sister, the Serial Killer is entertaining, provoking, and utterly fascinating!”

Bookbug image Sarah Sorensen, Bookbug
Audiobook details

A Psalm for the Wild-Built

Monk & Robot: Book #1

By Becky Chambers
Narrated by: Emmett Grosland
Length: 4 hours 8 minutes

A Psalm for the Wild-Built

“What do you do when you have everything you could ever need or want, but still aren't satisfied with what your life is? A Psalm for the Wild-Built is a short and sweet odd-couple road trip set in a beautiful world that could be our world — if we wanted it to be.”

DIESEL, A Bookstore image Joey Puente, DIESEL, A Bookstore
Audiobook details

Slade House

A Novel

By David Mitchell
Narrated by: Thomas Judd & Tania Rodrigues
Length: 6 hours 54 minutes

The New York Times bestseller by the author of The Bone Clocks and Cloud Atlas Named One of the Best Books of the Year by San Francisco Chronicle, NPR, Los Angeles Times, The Guardian, The Telegraph, National Post, BookPage, and Kirkus Reviews

Keep your eyes peeled for a small black iron door.

Down the road from a working-class British pub,... Read more »

Audiobook details

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky

Stories

By Lesley Nneka Arimah
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Length: 5 hours 19 minutes

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky

“Intense, haunting, and exquisitely rendered, the stories in Lesley Nneka Arimah's debut collection exist in a category of their own. They are individual worlds linked together by familiar themes - self-discovery, yearnings to love and be loved, generational divides, and the meanings of home and place - refashioned in a fresh, new light. Arimah shines in this debut, whose magic will surely live with you beyond the final page. Absolutely stunning.”

Square Books image Purvis Cornish, Square Books
Audiobook details

The Perfect Nanny

A Novel

By Leila Slimani
Narrated by: Finty Williams
Length: 5 hours 45 minutes

One of the 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR of The New York Times Book Review

The national bestseller by the author of Adèle, Sex and Lies, and In the Country of Others


“A great novel . . . Incredibly engaging and disturbing . . . You read the entire novel knowing something terrible is coming. In that, Slimani has us in her thrall.” —Roxane Gay, New York...
Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Pet

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by: Christopher Myers
Length: 5 hours 32 minutes

National Book Award Finalist

Stonewall Book Award Winner

"[A] beautiful, genre-expanding debut...Pet is a nesting doll of creative possibilities." (The New York Times)

The award-winning, genre-defying novel by the New York Times best-selling author of The Death of Vivek Oji that explores themes of identity and justice and asks: How do you share the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fever Dream

A Novel

By Samanta Schweblin
Narrated by: Hillary Huber
Length: 3 hours 13 minutes

Fever Dream

“Haunting, foreboding, eerie, and ominous, Schweblin's Fever Dream is the first of the Argentine author's books to appear in English. Despite its brevity, Fever Dream throbs with a quickened pulse, as heightening tension is its most effective quality. An intriguing yet purposefully vague plot adds to the story's mystique, one of peril, poison, and the unexplained terror of worms. Metaphorical in scope, Schweblin's impressively constructed tale leaves much to the imagination but is all the richer for doing so. Unsettling and compelling, this is a delirious, potent novel not to be overlooked.”

Powell's Books image Jeremy Garber, Powell's Books
Audiobook details

Gmorning, Gnight!

Little Pep Talks for Me & You

By Lin-Manuel Miranda
Narrated by: Lin-Manuel Miranda
Length: 46 minutes

Gmorning, Gnight!

“Taken from the tweets of this excellent man of many talents, each page has a thought, pep talk, or sweet encouragement for your morning or evening. Illustrated by Jonny Sun, the man behind everyone’s a aliebn, this little book is just what I need to help me start and end each day. Truly lovely and the perfect little gift book for everyone.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Jax, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Audiobook details

Little Weirds

By Jenny Slate
Narrated by: Jenny Slate
Length: 4 hours 19 minutes

Little Weirds

“Magical, delightful and amusing book of daydreams with a cupful of nonsense.”

HearthFire Books and Treats image Mollie, HearthFire Books and Treats
Audiobook details

Misfits

A Personal Manifesto

By Michaela Coel
Narrated by: Michaela Coel
Length: 1 hours 35 minutes

From the brilliant mind of Michaela Coel, creator and star of I May Destroy You and Chewing Gum, comes a passionate and inspired declaration against fitting in.

When invited to deliver the MacTaggart Lecture at the Edinburgh International Television Festival, Michaela Coel touched a lot of people with her striking revelations about race, class...

Read more »

Audiobook details
  • 1