Get Your First Month for Free Get Started

Project LIT Middle Grade Book Club

Diverse books that spread a love of reading and inspire a sense of community.

Wishtree

By Katherine Applegate
Narrated by Nancy Linari /  2 hours 33 minutes

Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the... Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for Free with Membership

Amal Unbound

By Aisha Saeed
Narrated by Priya Ayyar /  4 hours 36 minutes

"Saeed's timely and stirring middle-grade debut is a celebration of resistance and justice."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

The compelling story of a girl's fight to regain her life and dreams after being forced into indentured servitude.


Life is quiet and ordinary in Amal's Pakistani village, but she had no complaints, and besides, she's busy... Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Parker Inheritance

By Varian Johnson
Narrated by Cherise Boothe /  10 hours

The Westing Game meets The Watsons Go to Birmingham-1963 in a stirring mystery of past and present, as two kids search for a place in their families, city, and country.

The letter waits in a book, in a box, in an attic, in an old house in Lambert, South Carolina. It's waiting for Candice Miller.

When Candice finds the letter, she isn't sure she... Read More »

Price:

$27.99

Get for Free with Membership

Amina's Voice

By Hena Khan
Narrated by Soneela Nankani /  4 hours 20 minutes

"Amina's anxieties are entirely relatable, but it's her sweet-hearted nature that makes her such a winning protagonist." -Entertainment Weekly A Pakistani-American Muslim girl struggles to stay true to her family's vibrant culture while simultaneously blending in at school after tragedy strikes her community in this sweet and moving middle grade... Read More »

Price:

$19.99

Get for Free with Membership

The First Rule of Punk

By Celia C. Perez
Narrated by Trini Alvarado /  5 hours 20 minutes

Roller Girl meets School of Rock in this middle grade novel about identity, friendship, and riot-grrrl power by librarian and debut author Celia C. Perez. There are no shortcuts to surviving your first day at a new school-you can't fix it with duct tape like you would your Chuck Taylors. On Day One, twelve-year-old Malu (Maria Luisa, if you want... Read More »

Price:

$24.99

Get for Free with Membership

Like Vanessa

By Tami Charles
Narrated by Channie Waites /  7 hours 38 minutes

Middle graders will laugh and cry with thirteen-year-old Vanessa Martin as she tries to be like Vanessa Williams, the first black Miss America, by reluctantly entering her own beauty pageant. In this semi-autobiographical debut novel set in 1983, Vanessa Martin's real-life reality of living with family in public housing in Newark, New Jersey is... Read More »

Price:

$19.99

Get for Free with Membership

Time Bomb

By Joelle Charbonneau
Narrated by Nina Alvamar /  7 hours 29 minutes

Seven students trapped in their school after a bomb goes off must fight to survive while also discovering who among them is the bomber in this provocative new thriller from the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing Trilogy. Perfect for fans of This Is Where It Ends. A congressman's daughter who has to be perfect. A star quarterback... Read More »

Price:

$19.99

Get for Free with Membership

Rebound

By Kwame Alexander
Narrated by Ron Butler /  3 hours 32 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes Rebound, the dynamic prequel to his Newbery Award-winning novel in verse, The Crossover. Before Josh and Jordan Bell were streaking up and down the court, their father was learning his own moves. In this prequel to Newbery Medal winner The Crossover, Chuck Bell takes center stage,... Read More »

Price:

$10.99

Get for Free with Membership

Sunny

Track: Book #3
By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by Guy Lockard /  3 hours 7 minutes

Sunny tries to shine despite his troubled past in this third novel in the critically acclaimed Track series from National Book Award finalist Jason Reynolds.

Ghost. Patina. Sunny. Lu. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds, with personalities that are explosive when they clash. But they are also four kids chosen for an elite middle school... Read More »

Price:

$17.24

Get for Free with Membership

The Stars Beneath Our Feet

By David Barclay Moore
Narrated by Nile Bullock & David Barclay Moore /  6 hours 19 minutes

"The right story at the right time. . . . It’s not just a narrative; it’s an experience. It’s the novel we’ve been waiting for." —The New York Times

A boy tries to steer a safe path through the projects in Harlem in the wake of his brother’s death in this outstanding debut novel that celebrates community and creativity.

** WINNER OF THE CORETTA... Read More »

Price:

$21.60

Get for Free with Membership

Ghost Boys

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by Miles Harvey /  2 hours 51 minutes

An instant New York Times bestseller An instant IndieBound bestseller The #1 Kids' Indie Next Pick
A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.

Only the living can make the world better. Live and make it better.
... Read More »

Price:

$25.28

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener