Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Pride Month, in theory

Bookseller, Gina, is focusing on nonfiction this Pride month and has put together a list of BookPeople favorites that entertain and educate!

Playlist Tags: BookPeople genre: LGBTQIA+ Nonfiction pride topic: pride season: pride month

View all playlists

The New Queer Conscience

Pocket Change Collective

By Adam Eli
Narrated by: Adam Eli
Length: 53 minutes

Pocket Change Collective was born out of a need for space. Space to think. Space to connect. Space to be yourself. And this is your invitation to join us.

"The new manifesto for how we as queer people could and should navigate the world. It's the holding hand I never had--but wish I did."--Troye Sivan, Golden Globe nominated-singer, songwriter,...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Ace

What Asexuality Reveals About Desire, Society, and the Meaning of Sex

By Angela Chen
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 7 hours 43 minutes

Ace

“This book is an eye-opening collection of personal testimonies, research, and history about asexuality, and to a lesser extent, aromanticism. Whether you are new to learning about asexuality or are asexual yourself, by the end of the book you will have a richer and multifaceted understanding of ace identity and experience.”

Phoenix Books image Miriasha, Phoenix Books
Audiobook details

A Queer History of the United States

REVISIONING HISTORY

By Michael Bronski
Narrated by: Vikas Adams
Length: 10 hours 28 minutes

Winner of a 2012 Stonewall Book Award in nonfiction

The first book to cover the entirety of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history, from pre-1492 to the present.

In the 1620s, Thomas Morton broke from Plymouth Colony and founded Merrymount, which celebrated same-sex desire, atheism, and interracial marriage. Transgender evangelist Jemima... Read more »

Audiobook details

All Boys Aren't Blue

A Memoir-Manifesto

By George M. Johnson
Narrated by: George M. Johnson
Length: 5 hours 11 minutes

This program is read by the author.

In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia. From the memories of getting his teeth kicked out by bullies at age five, to flea marketing with his loving grandmother, to his first...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Deviant's War

The Homosexual vs. the United States of America

By Eric Cervini
Narrated by: Vikas Adam
Length: 15 hours 34 minutes

"Vikas Adam draws the listener in, expertly narrating Cervini's work, which charts the beginning of the gay rights movement in the United States...Vikas Adam does an excellent job lending unique voices to real historical figures." -- AudioFile Magazine

A Publishers Weekly most anticipated spring book


From a young Harvard- and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Tranny

Confessions of Punk Rock's Most Infamous Anarchist Sellout

By Laura Jane Grace
Narrated by: Laura Jane Grace
Length: 6 hours 49 minutes

ONE OF BILLBOARD'S "100 GREATEST MUSIC BOOKS OF ALL TIME": The provocative transgender advocate and lead singer of the punk rock band Against Me! provides a searing account of her search for identity and her true self.

It began in a bedroom in Naples, Florida, when a misbehaving punk teenager named Tom Gabel, armed with nothing but an acoustic... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Groom Will Keep His Name

And Other Vows I've Made About Race, Resistance, and Romance

By Matt Ortile
Narrated by: Matt Ortile
Length: 9 hours 26 minutes

A riotous collection of "witty and captivating" essays by a gay Filipino immigrant in America who is learning that everything is about sex (Bitch Magazine) -- and sex is about power.
When Matt Ortile moved from Manila to Las Vegas, the locals couldn't pronounce his name. Harassed as a kid for his brown skin, accent, and femininity, he believed he... Read more »

Audiobook details

Gay Bar

Why We Went Out

By Jeremy Atherton Lin
Narrated by: Jeremy Atherton Lin
Length: 7 hours 52 minutes

For readers of Hilton Als and Maggie Nelson, a brilliantly evocative fusion of cultural criticism, history, and memoir telling the story of the gay bar, arguably on the brink of extinction.
In the era of Grindr and same-sex marriage, gay bars are closing down at an alarming rate. What, then, was the gay bar? Set between Los Angeles, San... Read more »

Audiobook details

My Autobiography of Carson McCullers

A Memoir

By Jenn Shapland
Narrated by: Jenn Shapland
Length: 5 hours 33 minutes

Winner of the Publishing Triangle Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

Winner of a Lambda Literary Award

Finalist for the National Book Award

Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction

How do you tell the real story of someone misremembered—an icon and idol—alongside your own? Jenn Shapland’s celebrated debut is both...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Sissy

A Coming-of-Gender Story

By Jacob Tobia
Narrated by: Jacob Tobia
Length: 11 hours 20 minutes

THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Transformative ... If Tobia aspires to the ranks of comic memoirists like David Sedaris and Mindy Kaling, Sissy succeeds." --The New York Times Book Review

A heart-wrenching, eye-opening, and giggle-inducing memoir about what it's like to grow up not sure if you're (a) a boy, (b) a girl, (c) something in between, or (d)...
Read more »

Audiobook details