Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

The Perpetual Page-Turner's Best of 2019

Audiobook recommendations from Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner—a little something for everyone. These audiobooks kept me going at the gym, made the housework easier and made the road rage evaporate in 2019!

Playlist Tags: influencer-created topic: best of 2019

View all playlists

Then She Was Gone

A Novel

By Lisa Jewell
Narrated by: Helen Duff
Length: 10 hours 11 minutes

Fifteen-year-old Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic summer vacation with her whole life ahead of her. And then she was gone. Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It's... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Silent Patient

By Alex Michaelides
Narrated by: Jack Hawkins & Louise Brealey
Length: 8 hours 43 minutes

If you enjoyed The Woman in the Window, then you’ll love The Silent Patient.

“The Silent Patient is a suspenseful story that reads like a Greek tragedy, bursting with unknowns and sprinkled with exciting twists. It is a brilliant novel written by a man that certainly knows how to write something gripping and dramatic, perfect for readers that liked 'The Woman in the Window". At the center of the story is the mystery that is Alicia Berenson, an incredibly gifted painter that was convicted of murdering her husband six years before the start of the book. According to those close to the Berensons, Alicia and Gabriel had a great marriage and were happy together. Then one day Gabriel was tied to a chair and shot five times in the face. Alicia was found standing over his dead body, his blood splattered on her, and the murder weapon had only her fingerprints; it was enough to arrest her for the murder of her husband of seven years. The media circled over this story not because of the actual crime, but because Alicia stayed silent throughout the trial, not even to speak up in her own defense, and has not uttered a word for the past six years. This not only made her case known nationally, but it landed her in Grove Psychiatric Hospital instead of prison. Years have passed and people have forgotten about Alicia Berenson, everyone except Theo Faber, a troubled psychotherapist that has been obsessed with her case since the very beginning and believes he can help her. When a position opens at the declining Grove Psychiatric Hospital, Theo quits his better-paying job and jumps at the chance to finally work with Alicia and get to the bottom of why she has remained silent for the past six years. It is the chance of a lifetime for him. Alex Michaelides is a talented screenwriter that was inspired by a post graduate course in psychotherapy and working part-time at a secure psychiatric unit, meaning that the writing and structure of this debut novel is brilliantly done, and the story is layered with reality. An excellent read!”

McLean & Eakin Booksellers image Devin, McLean & Eakin Booksellers
Audiobook details

Daisy Jones & The Six

A Novel

By Taylor Jenkins Reid
Narrated by: Jennifer Beals, Benjamin Bratt, Judy Greer & Pablo Schreiber
Length: 9 hours 3 minutes

Daisy Jones & The Six

“The story of a band that experiences a meteoric rise and then comes apart. A great listen - the cast is fantastic. I wonder whether I would have enjoyed reading it as much as I did listening because the cast does such a great job.”

Belmont Books image Kathy, Belmont Books
Audiobook details

Becoming

By Michelle Obama
Narrated by: Michelle Obama
Length: 19 hours 1 minutes

Becoming

“I adore our former president and I miss him. Yet I cannot help but be ecstatic that Michelle is coming out with a book about her own life so that I can learn more about this powerful, intelligent, and singularly awesome woman. Barack would be the first to say that his wife is a superstar, and I can’t wait to get my hands on Becoming to read about her in her own words.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Jax, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Audiobook details

Monday's Not Coming

By Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 10 hours 6 minutes

Monday's Not Coming

“This heartbreaking, mind-bending thriller reads like truth: Monday Charles, a young black girl who lives in poverty, whose care has been shifted from one agency to another until no one knows who is supposed be looking out for her, disappears at the beginning of a long, hot, DC summer. But only her best friend Claudia registers her disappearance. Everyone else assumes she's moved, she's living with another relative, she's dropped out of school. As Claudia struggles to find allies to help her in her search for Monday, she also struggles to reconcile the Monday she thought she knew with the girl who was fighting for her life against the ponderous bulk of an uncaring system. This book is a tragic wake-up call in an era where the lives of some missing girls are still given more weight than the lives of others.”

Inklings Bookshop image Emily, Inklings Bookshop
Audiobook details

Long Way Down

By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by: Jason Reynolds
Length: 1 hours 43 minutes

Long Way Down

“One of the best parts of listening to this audiobook was getting to hear Jason Reynolds breathe further life into the heartbreaking words he wrote. I don't doubt the emotion would have been evident in the text, but as he said in the interview at the end of the audio, only he knew the right beats in order to make sure his message wasn't lost. I highly recommend listening if you get a chance. ”

Rediscovered Books image Dany, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

You Bring the Distant Near

By Mitali Perkins
Narrated by: Sneha Mathan, Shivali Bhammer, Priya Ayyar, N'Jameh Camara & Zehra Jane Naqvi
Length: 7 hours 14 minutes

This elegant young adult novel captures the immigrant experience for one Indian-American family with humor and heart. Told in alternating teen voices across three generations, You Bring the Distant Near explores sisterhood, first loves, friendship, and the inheritance of culture--for better or worse.

From a grandmother worried that her children... Read more »

Audiobook details

Neverworld Wake

By Marisha Pessl
Narrated by: Phoebe Strole
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

"A 'clear your calendar' kind of one-day read." -MELISSA ALBERT, New York Times bestselling author of The Hazel World

Five friends. Only one can survive the Neverworld Wake. Who would you choose?

From the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Special Topics in Calamity Physics and Night Film comes an absorbing psychological suspense...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Far from the Tree

By Robin Benway
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 8 hours 54 minutes

National Book Award Winner, PEN America Award Winner, and New York Times Bestseller!

Perfect for fans of This Is Us, Robin Benway’s beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms—how to find it, how to keep it, and how to love it.

Being the middle child has its ups...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Death of Mrs. Westaway

By Ruth Ware
Narrated by: Imogen Church
Length: 14 hours 14 minutes

The Death of Mrs. Westaway

“The perfect atmospheric thriller to curl up and listen to while the rain lashes the window and your tarot spread suggests you stay inside. Cold mansion, creepy maid, a surprise will, and long buried secrets clawing their way out of the grave will keep you glued to the seat, cup of tea trembling in your hand until the last word. ”

Fountain Bookstore image Kate, Fountain Bookstore
Audiobook details

City of Girls

A Novel

By Elizabeth Gilbert
Narrated by: Blair Brown
Length: 15 hours 7 minutes

City of Girls

“City of Girls is the perfect read when you're looking for something that's not too heavy, yet engaging and entertaining. I loved the motley crew of perfectly flawed characters, unapologetic in their vices and dramas. And how refreshing it was to read about women, especially 1940s women, who were open in their sexuality and, dare I say, actually enjoyed sex! With multiple partners! How scandalous! Elizabeth Gilbert (who is a ray of sunshine in real life) has created something unique and heartwarming with her third fictional title. And if you're like me who finds audio fiction really hit or miss depending on the narrator, you'll be happy the hear that Blair Brown does a beautiful job of it.”

Powell's Books image Michelle, Powell's Books
Audiobook details

The Grace Year

A Novel

By Kim Liggett
Narrated by: Emily Shaffer
Length: 11 hours 42 minutes

The Grace Year

“The Grace Year is a brutal, feminist gut-punch of a book that grips you tight and never lets go. Ugly crying will happen and readers are likely to get some serious lockjaw from gritting their teeth in suspense. Narrator Emily Shaffer nuanced performance of main character Tierney James is unforgettable, as she captures each little passive aggressive snipe, every accidental slip of the tongue, and all the fraught emotions that come with being a teenage girl. The comparisons to tense-reading favorites, The Handmaid's Tale and Lord of the Flies, are accurate and certainly well-earned.”

Belmont Books image Amanda, Belmont Books
Audiobook details